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Senator Nangle, Representative Crafts and distinguished members of the Joint Standing 
Committee on Transportation, my name is Evan Goodkowsky and I am writing in opposition to 
LD 622. 
 
While I understand the bill’s desire to increase revenue with the optics of all drivers paying their 
fair share, this bill has numerous flaws. 
 
First, let’s take the state gas tax which is completely outdated and was decoupled from the 
Consumer Price Index in 2012. If adjusted for inflation, using the Consumer Price Index inflation 
calculator, the state gas tax today should be 42 cents per gallon. The Legislature has had years 
to modernize the highway funding formula, but has done little more than pass more bond 
referendums. 
 
Further, let's look at the math of the bill. The bill looks to add a surcharge of $250 per year to 
electric vehicle registrations. According to the Maine Climate Council, “The average Maine 
vehicle travels approximately 12,000 miles per year.” If we divide the proposed $250 surcharge 
by the state gas tax of 30 cents, that would equate to an EV driver using 833 gallons of gas. If 
we take the average miles driven of 12,000 and divide that by 833 gallons we arrive at a figure 
of 14.4 miles per gallon. That is sickening. Even in the depths of winter, an electric vehicle can 
get an equivalent of 50 miles per gallon when comparing fuel costs. If we did the formula in that 
way we would take 12,000 miles/50 e-mpg average = 240 gallons X 30 cents per gallon = $72 
of a surcharge that would be anywhere near equivalent to what ‘ICE’ drivers are consuming.  
 
Furthermore, the state has spent years creating the most robust EV charging network in Maine 
along the Route 201 corridor from Jackman to Old Orchard Beach in order to accommodate 
travelers from Quebec. According to Canada’s national statistical agency, Statistics Canada, 
there are over 147,000 Battery Electric and Plug in Hybrid Electric Vehicles registered in 
Quebec as of 2024. According to the U.S. Dept of Energy, there are 73,000 EVs registered in 
Massachusetts, 9,800 in New Hampshire, 7,800 in Vermont, 6,300 in Rhode Island, 31,000 in 
Connecticut, 131,000 in New York, and 134,000 in New Jersey. According to that same federal 
data Maine has 7,377 EV registrations as of Sept. 2024. When we compare that figure with the 
Maine DOTs own figure of 19,400 EV registrations, we are left with a conclusion that there could 
be well over 300,000 EVs in different states and provinces within 500 miles of Maine, of which 
tens of thousands of those drivers are likely to visit Maine each year without facing any sort of 
extra tax or surcharge at all. 
 



Then, there is the case of what is being paid already. When EV drivers pay to charge at a public 
charger, they are often paying sales tax. When they charge at home or in public, included in the 
electric bill are payments to the Renewable Resource Portfolio, Efficiency Maine Trust, Regional 
Greenhouse Gas Initiative, utility energy supply contract obligations, and Low Income Program 
which accounts for 19% of the price per kilowatt in Central Maine Power’s territory. 
 
My conclusions have led me to believe that this is an extremely inflated, regressive, and 
draconian tax, which does nothing but tax our own residents while delivering the best charging 
infrastructure in the state to tourists.  
 
This bill may be focused on equality, but unless EV drivers get free use of the turnpike and a 
dedicated charging network with no gaps over 10 miles in the state as a result of the revenue of 
this proposed surcharge, this bill should be considered highway robbery. 
 
I urge you to oppose this bill. 
 
 
Sincerely, 
Evan C. Goodkowsky, MPPM, CMA 


