

2024 - 2025

OFFICERS

David Cowing

Chairperson

Eric Uhl

Vice Chairperson

Richard Estabrook

Secretary

Charles Frizzle

Treasurer

DIRECTORS

Deborah Dionne

Vicki Durrell

Kenneth Faulkner

Evan Gleason

Connie Jones

Toni Kemmerle

Melissa Knutson

Christopher Ladner

Eveline McGregor

Courtney Oland

Luke Ouellet

Hank Pfeifle

Kathy Rickards

Nancy Scott

Executive Director

Brett Bulmer

Mission: To support adults and children with disabilities to achieve full and inclusive lives in their chosen communities.

DATE: April 23, 2025

RE: LD 1451 An Act to Strengthen Coordination of Community Transportation

Dear Members of the Joint Transportation Committee:

I am submitting testimony in support of LD 1451.

For many disadvantaged and vulnerable populations in Maine, access to reliable transportation continues to be a challenge. In my line of work, reports of undependable transportation services are far too common.

Transportation is an essential part of:

- Medical care
- **Employment**
- Independent living
- Social activities
- Community involvement

Disruptions to transportation interfere not only with access to critical activities and services but also puts strain on other support providers. If we can improve existing systems by better coordination of resources, the result would be a better quality of life for those who depend on community transportation.

Thank you for considering my perspective.

Sincerely,

Brett Bulmer

Executive Director

bbulmer@iaofmaine.org



