## Draft amendment - LD 895, An Act to Make Necessary Changes to State Law

Amend this bill by striking out the title and substituting the following:

## An Act Regarding the Reapportionment of Franklin County Commissioner Districts

Amend the bill by striking out everything after the title and inserting the following:

**Emergency preamble. Whereas,** acts and resolves of the Legislature do not become effective until 90 days after adjournment unless enacted as emergencies; and

**Whereas**, the Reapportionment Commission's recently submitted plan reapportioned Franklin County's 3 commissioner districts;

**Whereas**, the voters of Franklin County voted in favor of dividing Franklin County into 5 county commissioner districts effective on election day in November 2024; and

**Whereas,** in the judgment of the Legislature, these facts create an emergency within the meaning of the Constitution of Maine and require the following legislation as immediately necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health, and safety; now therefore,

## Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

Sec. 1. 30-A MRSA §66-C is enacted as follows:

<u>66-C. Franklin County Commissioner Districts.</u> Franklin County is divided into districts as follows:

**<u>1. Effective until November 2024. Until November 5, 2024, Franklin County is divided</u> <u>into the following 3 districts.</u>** 

<u>A. Commissioner District Number 1 consists of the minor civil divisions and unorganized</u> territories of Carthage, Dallas Plantation, Jay, Rangeley Plantation, Sandy River Plantation, South Franklin, Weld, West Central Franklin and Wilton. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 2024.

B. Commissioner District Number 2 consists of the minor civil divisions of Chesterville, Farmington and Temple. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 2024.

<u>C.</u> Commissioner District Number 3 consists of the minor civil divisions and unorganized territories of Avon, Carrabassett Valley, Coplin Plantation, East Central Franklin, Eustis, Industry, Kingfield, New Sharon, New Vineyard, North Franklin, Phillips, Rangeley, Strong and Wyman Township. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 2022, and again in 2024.

**2. Effective beginning November 2024.** Beginning on November 5, 2024, Franklin County is divided into the following 5 districts.

<u>A. Commissioner District Number 1, in the county of Franklin, consists of the minor civil divisions and unorganized territories of Temple and Wilton; and the following census units in the minor civil divisions of Farmington: Block 4029, Block 4030, Block 4031, Block 4032, Block 4033, Block 4034, Block 4035, Block 4037, Block 4038, Block 4039, Block 4040, Block 4041,</u>

Block 4042, Block 4043, Block 4044, Block 4045, Block 4046, Block 4047, Block 4048, Block 4049 of Census Tract 9712.01; and Block 2000, Block 2001, Block 2002, Block 2003, Block 2004, Block 2005, Block 2006, Block 2007, Block 2008, Block 2009, Block 2010, Block 2011, Block 2012, Block 2013, Block 2014, Block 2015, Block 2016, Block 2017, Block 2018, Block 2019, Block 2020, Block 2021 of Tract 9712.02. The term of office of the county commissioner from this district expires in 2028 and every 4 years thereafter.

B. Commissioner District Number 2, in the county of Franklin, consists of the following census units in the minor civil division of Farmington: Block 1000, Block 1001, Block 1002, Block 1003, Block 1004, Block 1005, Block 1006, Block 1007, Block 1008, Block 1009, Block 1010, Block 2000, Block 2001, Block 2002, Block 2003, Block 2004, Block 2005, Block 2006, Block 2007, Block 3000, Block 3001, Block 3002, Block 3003, Block 3004, Block 3005, Block 3006, Block 3007, Block 3008, Block 3009, Block 3010, Block 3011, Block 3012, Block 3013, Block 4000, Block 4001, Block 4002, Block 4003, Block 4004, Block 4005, Block 4006, Block 4007, Block 4008, Block 4009, Block 4010, Block 4011, Block 4012, Block 4013, Block 4014, Block 4015, Block 4016, Block 4017, Block 4018, Block 4019, Block 4020, Block 4021, Block 4022, Block 4023, Block 4024, Block 4025, Block 4026, Block 4027, Block 4028, Block 4036 of Census Tract 9712.01; and Block 1000, Block 1001, Block 1002, Block 1003, Block 1004, Block 1005, Block 1006, Block 1007, Block 1008, Block 1009, Block 1010, Block 1011, Block 1012, Block 1013, Block 1014, Block 1015, Block 1016, Block 1017, Block 3000, Block 3001, Block 3002, Block 3003, Block 3004, Block 3005, Block 3006, Block 3007, Block 3008, Block 3009, Block 3010, Block 4000, Block 4001, Block 4002, Block 4003, Block 4004, Block 4005, Block 4006, Block 4007, Block 4008, Block 4009, Block 4010, Block 4011, Block 4012, Block 4013, Block 4014, Block 4015, Block 4016, Block 4017, Block 4018, Block 4019, Block 4020, Block 4021, Block 4022, Block 4023, Block 4024, Block 4025, Block 4026, Block 4027, Block 4028, Block 4029, Block 4030 of Tract 9712.02. The term of office of the county commissioner from this district expires in 2028 and every 4 years thereafter.

<u>C. Commissioner District Number 3, in the County of Franklin, consists of the minor civil</u> <u>divisions and unorganized territories of Avon, Carthage, Coplin, Eustis, North Franklin, Phillips,</u> <u>Rangeley, Rangeley Plantation, Sandy River, South Franklin, Strong, Weld and West Central</u> <u>Franklin. The term of office of the county commissioner from this district expires in 2028 and</u> <u>every 4 years thereafter.</u>

D. Commissioner District Number 4, in the County of Franklin, consists of the minor civil divisions and unorganized territories of Carrabassett Valley, Dallas, East Central Franklin, Industry, Kingfield, New Sharon, New Vineyard and Wyman Township. The term of office of the county commissioner from this district expires in 2026 and every 4 years thereafter.

<u>E. Commissioner District</u> Number 5 in the county of Franklin, consists of the minor civil divisions of Chesterville and Jay. The term of office of the county commissioner from this district expires in 2026 and every 4 years thereafter.

**Emergency clause**. In view of the emergency cited in the preamble, this legislation takes effect when approved.

## SUMMARY

This amendment replaces the bill which is a concept draft. It codifies the apportionment of Franklin County into 3 county commissioner districts as done by the apportionment commission and enacted by the Legislature in Public Law 2021, chapter 488 until November 2024, at which time those districts will be repealed and the terms of the county commissioners from those districts will expire. Beginning in November 2024, this amendment, as approved at referendum in November 2021, apportions Franklin County into 5 county commissioner districts. This amendment adds an emergency preamble and emergency clause because the term of office for County Commissioner District 3, which expires in 2022, is amended to expire in November 2024.