Frank Cyr Houlton LD 19

Hi. Upon watching the meeting today for the ATV weight increase to 2500 pounds, I was unimpressed by the opposition from the IF&W officer. He is using and citing information that is up to an over 6 years old already. The market for manufacturing of ATV's has changed so much in only the past couple of years. The weight up to 2500 lbs would really include a vast majority of machines which are less than 65 " wide, which no one is looking to change. It is discriminatory for some folks to pack up their 1996lb 4 person UTV with a bunch of camping gear and a deer on the back during hunting season totaling up to 3000# or more and a simple couple with no kids and who don't hunt cannot purchase a \$40,000 machine in Maine and pay the sales tax and register it as it weighs 2300 lbs. The second example is putting far less stress on the trails and would bring a lot of income to the state and oh yeah, be happy to do so. However, it was presented that it was against the law because of what the manufacturer says it weighs when THEY built it, not what people can do to alter the vehicle after the fact. Some of these ideas are just crazy. NO OTHER recreational vehicle is regulated or discriminated against in this way. That itself should be unlawful. It's like the State is going to tell people what they can and cannot have or can or cannot buy because of how much it weighted when it was built. Commercial trucks have weigh stations. If the weight was so important, then the Warden's should have them too if the TOTAL weight is the concern of the state. Otherwise, the 2500lb limit increase is very reasonable and the most modest of the proposals in this session. It has to be an issue, because it has come up before. Almost every year. It doesn't work for the areas up here in the County where we have mostly railbeds and you can ride on the roads. It needs to be increased. Even the dealers are hurting because they can't sell the more popular and desireable models. If someone wants it and it is now under 2500 lbs and complies with the rest of the regs, then they should be ok and allowed. 30% of the market share is a big hit to the dealers and the state for everyone to be missing out on. The dealers would make the sale, the State would get the tax and the buyer would get the item they wanted. It was also brought up that there are restrictions in other new england states. You should want to have the higher limits to attract more people HERE so, you can get the tourism money\$\$\$. It only makes sense, but leave it to Maine to have the answer and the opportunity right in front of them and have some antiquated ideas and information blow it for the people. Try it. See what happens. You can always change it again if there was a real problem with it, but I would be sure that there would only be positives once the ball started rolling. Listen to the dealers. Thye know. They know the landscape has changed. It's time to be a leader in the region and support the dealers, the businesses, restaruants, hotel and the sport. Registration would also increase if you allowed people to actually do it. The machines are "out there" Might as well capitalize. Vote YES!!