Office of Policy and Legal Analysis

Date: March 7, 2021

To: Joint Standing Committee on Inland Fisheries and Wildlife

From: Rachel Olson, Legislative Analyst

Re: LD 223, "An Act To Clarify Maine's Fish and Wildlife and Registrations Laws" (Alley)

Summary

This bill requires payment of a \$50 reinstatement fee to reinstate a suspended or revoked license, permit or registration under the inland fisheries and wildlife laws.

It includes language that is consistent with all-terrain vehicle registration requirements in regard to the form and display of snowmobile registration numbers and stickers and provides that a snowmobile registered after May 1st and prior to July 1st has a registration that is valid for the upcoming winter and expires June 30th of the following year.

It also allows a nonresident junior trapper to purchase a trapping license at the resident junior rate.

Testimony

Proponents: Rep. Robert Alley, sponsor; Bill Swan, DIFW; Steve Wood; James Cote; Maine Trappers Assoc.;

- Nonresident junior trapping fee is a significant barrier to entry for nonresident junior trappers who may wish to accompany a family member or friend on a trip to Maine; important for lowering/eliminating barriers to youth hunting
- Proposed snowmobile registration changes are consistent with ATV registrations
- Junior trapping license fee supports departments R3 efforts (recruitment, retention, reactivation)
- Proposed changes for reinstatement fees would apply to all suspensions or revocations and increases the fee to \$50 – in line with administrative costs incurred

Opponents: None

Neither for nor against: Dave Trahan, SAM-ILA;

• Would like to see funds go to support specific program

Possible Amendments

- Would like to see an ethics course requirement on every license reinstatement
- Would like to see funds from fees go into specific program, such as landowner relations program, and not back into the general fund

Additional Information

• Question: Why do people get their licenses revoked/suspended?

1

- There are many reasons for suspension or revocation. They reasons are outlined in Title 12, section 10902. I have included that section here, both as a hyperlink and as an additional document.
- Steve Wood raised the issue of ATV revocations and requiring an ethics course before the license is reinstated.
 - From the department: There currently is a provision for reinstatement of ATV, snowmobile
 and watercraft privileges after a person is convicted or adjudicated of a violation of Title 12
 §10902 part 10 once the suspension is completed and they have completed an ethics class and
 safety class.
- **10.** Mandatory suspension for certain ATV, snowmobile and watercraft violations. The commissioner shall suspend for at least one year all licenses, permits and registrations issued by the department pursuant to this Part to any person convicted or adjudicated of:
- A. Abuse of another person's property as prohibited under <u>section 13157-A, subsection 22</u>; [PL 2005, c. 626, §2 (NEW).]
- B. Operating an ATV, snowmobile or watercraft under the influence as prohibited under <u>section 10701</u>, <u>subsection 1-A, paragraph D</u>; [PL 2019, c. 452, §8 (AMD).]
- C. Operating an ATV to endanger, as prohibited under <u>section 13157-A</u>, <u>subsection 11</u>, operating a snowmobile to endanger, as prohibited under <u>section 13106-A</u>, <u>subsection 10</u>, or operating a watercraft to endanger, as prohibited under <u>section 13068-A</u>, <u>subsection 5</u>; [PL 2019, c. 452, §8 (AMD).]
- D. Reckless operation of an ATV, as prohibited under <u>section 13157-A</u>, <u>subsection 10</u>, reckless operation of a snowmobile, as prohibited under <u>section 13106-A</u>, <u>subsection 9</u>, or reckless operation of a watercraft, as prohibited under <u>section 13068-A</u>, <u>subsection 6</u>; or [PL 2019, c. 452, §8 (AMD).]
- E. Failure or refusal to stop an ATV or attempting to elude an officer, as prohibited under <u>section 10651</u>, <u>subsection 1</u>, paragraphs D and E, failure or refusal to stop a snowmobile or attempting to elude an officer, as prohibited under <u>section 10651</u>, <u>subsection 1</u>-E, or failure or refusal to stop a watercraft or attempting to elude an officer, as prohibited under <u>section 10651</u>, <u>subsection 1</u>-E. [PL 2019, c. 452, §8 (AMD).] The commissioner shall reinstate licenses, permits and registrations that have been suspended pursuant to this subsection after the period of suspension has lapsed and <u>after that person has successfully completed an ethics course as required by the department and has successfully completed a safety course as required by the department that relates to the specific violation for which the person was convicted or adjudicated.</u>

[PL 2019, c. 452, §8 (AMD).]

Notes/Potential Issues

- (Sec. 1) The bill strikes the statutory reference to the definition of "fine," but still refers to a fine. This may need to be added back in.
- (Sec. 3) By removing the word "resident" from paragraphs B and C in §12201, sub-§2 (trapping license) and replacing it with the word "person," it opens these two categories up to

both citizens and non-citizens under the age of 16. This may be in conflict with paragraph E, which places a restriction on non-citizen trappers pursuant to §12259, subsection 3:

E. If a nonresident is not a citizen of the United States, the nonresident may purchase a nonresident trapping license but may not trap any species other than beaver pursuant to section 12259, subsection 3.

And

- **3. Nonresident trapping beaver.** A nonresident may not trap beaver in this State unless that nonresident's state or province of residency allows Maine residents to trap beaver in that state or province.
- (Sec. 6) The new subsection refers only to annual fees, but the original section included both annual resident fees and the 3-day, 10-day, and seasonal non-resident fees. I believe the intent is to include both resident and non-residents in the requirements to register, pay a fee, and the \$1 processing fee. If so, the word "annual" should be struck from the new section.
- (Sec. 6) Additionally, only a resident annual registration is valid for one year. Non-resident 3-day, 10-day, and seasonal registrations are valid for the dates specified on the registration. The word "annual" should be added back into this section in this location.
- (Sec. 6) The new subsection states that "the registration number in the form of stickers issued by the commissioner must be clearly displayed on both sides of the snowmobile." Subsection 12-A, paragraph A, subparagraph 2 states that one must "display a registration number assigned to a snowmobile in such form and manner as the commissioner may determine." Consider changing the language here to reflect the manner of display outlined in the new subsection.

Please see below for the sections of current statute related to snowmobiles.

Fiscal Impact

- Fiscal Status: Not Yet Determined
 - o As this bill deals with license fees/reinstatement fees, a fiscal note will be required.

Links

- LD 223 (Original bill)
- Testimony
- 12 MRSA §10604. Sentencing alternative; habitual violator
- 12 MRSA §10902. Suspension or revocation of or refusal to issue license of permit
- 12 MRSA §12201. Trapping license
- 12 MRSA §12256. Disturbing traps of another
- 12 MRSA §13104. Registration (snowmobiles)
- <u>14 MRSA §3142</u>. Contempt hearing and punishment (Court procedure Civil, Enforcement of Fines Owed to the State)
- Title 17-A: Maine Criminal Code

Statute for reference

12 MRSA §13104. Registration (snowmobiles)

2. Application and issuance. The commissioner or the commissioner's designee may register and assign a registration number to all snowmobiles upon application and payment of a registration fee by the owner. The commissioner shall charge a fee of \$1 for each registration issued by department employees.

[PL 2003, c. 414, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 614, §9 (AFF).]

3. Form of registration. The snowmobile registration must be in such form as the commissioner may determine except that the commissioner shall develop a single form of registration that can be used for the 3-day, 10-day or seasonal nonresident registrations.

[PL 2015, c. 237, §1 (AMD).]

- **4. Fee.** Except as provided in subsection 5, the annual snowmobile registration fee is as follows:
- A. For residents, \$45. The registration for a snowmobile owned by a resident is valid for one year, commencing on July 1st of each year; and [PL 2015, c. 237, §2 (AMD).]
- B. For nonresidents:
 - (1) Forty-nine dollars for a 3-consecutive-day registration. A person may purchase more than one 3-day registration in any season;
 - (2) Ninety-nine dollars for a seasonal registration; and
 - (3) Seventy-five dollars for a 10-consecutive-day registration. A person may purchase more than one 10-day registration in any season.

The registration for a snowmobile owned by a nonresident must specify the dates for which the registration is valid.

- **12-A.** Registration certificate; inspection and display. The following provisions apply to registration certificates and numbers.
 - A. A person shall:
 - (1) Provide a registration certificate or an online registration receipt for inspection by any law enforcement officer on demand; and
 - (2) Display a registration number assigned to a snowmobile in such form and manner as the commissioner may determine, except that an antique snowmobile is not required to display registration numbers. A person may operate a snowmobile registered online without displaying a registration number until that person receives the registration certificate from the department or for 30 days after registering the snowmobile online, whichever occurs first.