STATE OF MAINE Contractors Licensing Law and Rules and Regulations

January 1, 2023



Compiled and Issued by:

DEPARTMENT of PROFFESIONAL and FINACIAL REGULATION

Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation 76 Northern Avenue Gardiner, Maine 04345

207-624-8603

Welcome to the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation | Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (maine.gov)

FOREWORD

This document presents the Maine Contractors Licensing Laws and Statues, current through the 2025 Regular Legislative Session, and Rules and Regulations which were last updated in January, 2024.

A Residential license is required for residential building contractors when the cost of the undertaking exceeds seventy-five thousand dollars (\$75,000). Residential contractors are required to submit certificates evidencing workers' compensation coverage in compliance with Title 39-A of Maine Workers' Compensation Act of 1992, and general liability insurance in a minimum amount of one hundred thousand dollars (\$100,000) during the application and renewal process.

Home improvement contractors are required to register with the Board in order to perform home improvement work when the total project value (including labor and materials) exceeds seventy-five hundred dollars (\$7,500), but does not exceed seventy-five thousand dollars (\$75,000). Contractors who hold valid commercial or residential licenses with the Board are exempt from this license requirement. Home improvement contractors are required to submit certificates evidencing workers' compensation coverage in compliance with Title 39-A of the Maine Workers' Compensation Act of 1992 and general liability insurance in a minimum amount of one hundred thousand dollars (\$100,000) during the application and renewal process. Home improvement contractors performing work in excess of seventy-five thousand dollars (\$75,000), including all labor and materials, are required to be licensed as a residential building contractor.

It is the duty of the awarding authority to ascertain if a contractor is duly licensed under the provisions of *title inserted here* before permitting the contractor to obtain plans and specifications, submit a bid or offer to construct a commercial project. Licenses of active contractors can be verified in real-time by visiting the website of the board at Maine Licensing and Permitting.

The Board will take a loan out for start up costs from DPFR to be paid back within 5 years.

STATE LICENSING BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS

Contractors Licensing Law

Title ** of the Maine Revised Statutes, Chapter **, Contractors

SECTION	TITLE	PAGE
§2150.	Purpose; legislative intent	5
§2150.1.	Definitions	5
§2151.	State licensing board for contractors; membership; qualifications; tenure; vacancies	7
§2152.	Domicile; officers	8
§2153.	Powers of the board	9
§2154.	Meetings; compensation; quorum; license application and issuance procedure	10
§2155.	Books and records; reports	11
§2156.	Unexpired licenses; fees; renewals	11
§2156.1.	Requirements for issuance of a license	12
§2156.2.	Major categories; subclassifications; specialty classifications	13
§2157	Exemptions	13
§2158.	Revocation, suspension, and renewal of licenses; cease and desist orders; debarment; criminal per	nalty14
§2159.	Classification; bidding and performing work within a classification	16
§2160.	Engaging in business of contracting without authority prohibited; penalty	16
§2161.	Power to sue and be sued; injunction; restraining orders	17
§2162.	Violations; civil penalty; jurisdiction	17
§2164.	Reciprocity	18
§2165.	Powers and duties	18
§2166.	Licensure required; qualifications; examination; waivers	19
§2166.1.	Inactive license	20
§2168.	Term of license; renewal of license	21
§2169.	Fees	21
§2170.	Exceptions	21
§2171.	Prohibited activities	22
§2171.1.	Inspection of local building permits	22
§2171.2.	Requirements; building permit	22
§2171.3.	Notification of name, license number, and classification; evidence of required insurance	22

§2173. Effect	on local regulatory examination authority	.23
§2175.1. Home	improvement contracting; written contract required; right to cancel	.23
§2175.2. Home	improvement contracting; license required	.24
§2175.3. Home	improvement contracting; prohibited acts; violations	.25
§2175.4. Home	improvement contracting; administrative penalties	.26
§2175.5. Home	improvement contracting; exceptions	.27
§2175.6. Home	improvement contracting; claims of unregistered persons	.27
RULES AND REG	ULATIONS, Contractors (MAC 46:XXIX. Chapters 1-7)	
SECTION 101 A	uthority	28
SECTION 103 D	efinitions	.28
SECTION 105 R	equirements	.28
SECTION 107 R	eport of Changes	.28
SECTION 109 Q	ualifying Party	.29
SECTION 111 A	uthorized to Take Examination	.29
SECTION 113 D	isassociation of a Qualifying Party	.30
SECTION 115 Ex	xamination Scheduling	.30
SECTION 117 Ex	xamination Administration Procedures	.30
SECTION 118 To	est Item Challenges	.31
SECTION 119 Ex	xamination Reviews	.31
SECTION 123 A	pplication of Subsidiary	.31
SECTION 125 A	pproval Withheld	.32
SECTION 129 Li	icensure and Exemption of Exam for Individuals with Military Training and Experience, Military	
Spouses and De	pendents	.32
SECTION 131 Ov	vnership of License	.34
SECTION 133 Na	me	.34
SECTION 135 Co	ntractor's Recordkeeping	.35
SECTION 137 Fe	e for Licenses	.35
SECTION 301 Ma	ajor Classification	.35
SECTION 303 Joi	nt Venture	.35
SECTION 305 Co	nstruction Management	.35
SECTION 501 De	finitions	.36
SECTION 503 Re	sidential Labor Only	.36
SECTION 505 Ho	ome Improvement License	.36

SECTION 507 New Home Warranty Act	36
SECTION 509 Maintenance of Skills	37
SECTION 701 Enforcement of Act and Rules	37
SECTION 703 Correction Without Complaint	37
SECTION 707 Bankruptcy	37
SECTION 709 License Revocation and Suspension	38
SECTION 711 Subcontractor License; Default	38
SECTION 713 Residential Committee Review	39
SECTION 715 Penalties	39
SECTION 717 Hearings	39

LD of 2023 created the State Licensing Board for Contractors as it exists today.

The following is a complete text of the present law in its statutory form.

Title ** of the Maine Revised Statutes, Chapter 2**, reads as follows:

Chapter 24. CONTRACTORS Part I. GENERAL

§2150. Purpose; legislative intent

The purpose of the legislature in enacting this Chapter is the protection of the health, safety, and general welfare of all those persons dealing with persons engaged in the contracting vocation, and the affording of such persons of an effective and practical protection against the incompetent, inexperienced, unlawful, and fraudulent acts of contractors with whom they contract. Further, the legislative intent is that the State Licensing Board for Contractors shall monitor construction projects to ensure compliance with the licensure requirements of this Chapter.

Added by Acts ******

§2150.1. Definitions

As used in this Chapter, the following words and phrases shall be defined as follows:

- (1) "Board" means the State Licensing Board for Contractors.
- (2) "Contract" means the entire cost of the construction undertaking, including labor, materials, rentals, and all direct and indirect project expenses.
- (4)(a) "Contractor" means any person who undertakes to, attempts to, or submits a price or bid or offers to construct, supervise, superintend, oversee, direct, or in any manner assume charge of the construction, alteration, repair, improvement, movement, demolition, putting up, tearing down, or furnishing labor, or furnishing labor together with material or equipment, or installing the same for any residential one and two family dwelling building.
- (b) The term "contractor" includes general contractors, subcontractors, architects, and engineers who receive an additional fee for the employment or direction of labor, or any other work beyond the normal architectural or engineering services.
- (c) A contractor holding a license in the major classification of hazardous materials, or any subclassifications thereunder, shall be defined in terms of work performed for which the cost is one dollar or more.
- (d) "Contractor" shall not mean any person, supplier, manufacturer, or employee of such person who assembles, repairs, maintains, moves, puts up, tears down, or disassembles any patented, proprietary, or patented and proprietary environmental equipment supplied by such person to a contractor to be used solely by the contractor for a construction undertaking.
- (5) "Executive director" means the person appointed by the board to serve as the chief operating officer in connection with the day-to-day operation of the board's business.

- (6)(a) "General contractor" means a person who contracts directly with the owner. The term "general contractor" shall include the term "primary contractor" and wherever used in this Chapter or in regulations promulgated thereunder "primary contractor" shall mean "general contractor".
- (b) "General contractor" shall not mean any person, supplier, manufacturer, or employee of such person who assembles, repairs, maintains, moves, puts up, tears down, or disassembles any patented, proprietary, or patented and proprietary environmental equipment supplied by such person to a contractor to be used solely by the contractor for a construction undertaking.
- (7) "Home improvement contracting" means the reconstruction, alteration, renovation, repair, modernization, conversion, improvement, removal, or demolition, or the construction of an addition to any pre-existing owner occupied building which building is used or designed to be used as a residence or dwelling unit, or to structures which are adjacent to such residence or building. "Home improvement contracting" shall not include services rendered gratuitously.
- (8) "Home improvement contractor" means any person, including a contractor or subcontractor, who undertakes or attempts to undertake or submits a price or bid on any home improvement contracting project.
- (9) "Person" means any individual, firm, partnership, association, cooperative, corporation, limited liability company, limited liability partnership, or any other entity recognized by Maine law; and whether or not acting as a principal, trustee, fiduciary, receiver, or as any other kind of legal or personal representative, or as a successor in interest, assignee, agent, factor, servant, employee, director, officer, or any other representative of such person; or any state or local governing authority or political subdivision performing a new construction project which exceeds the contract limits provided in R.S. 38:2212 and which does not constitute regular maintenance of the public facility or facilities which it has been authorized to maintain.
- (10) "Qualifying party" means a natural person designated by the contractor to represent the contractor for the purpose of complying with the provisions of this Chapter including without limitation meeting the requirements for the initial license and any continuation thereof.
- (11) "Residential building contractor" means any corporation, partnership, or individual who constructs a fixed building or structure for sale for use by another as a residence or who, for a price, commission, fee, wage, or other compensation, undertakes or offers to undertake the construction or superintending of the construction of any building or structure, with no more than four incorporated or attached dwelling units, which is not more than three floors in height, to be used by another as a residence, when the cost of the undertaking exceeds seventy-five thousand dollars. The term "residential building contractor" includes all contractors, subcontractors, architects, and engineers who receive an additional fee for the employment or direction of labor, or any other work beyond the normal architectural or engineering services. "Residential building contractor" also means any person performing home improvement contracting as provided for in Paragraph (9) of this Section when the cost of the undertaking exceeds seventy-five thousand dollars. It shall not include the manufactured housing industry or those persons engaged in building residential structures that are mounted on metal chassis and wheels.
 - (12) "Subcontract" means the entire cost of that part of the contract which is performed by the subcontractor.
- (13)(a) "Subcontractor" means a person who contracts directly with the primary contractor for the performance of a part of the principal contract or with another contractor for the performance of a part of the principal contract.
- (b) "Subcontractor" shall not mean any person, supplier, manufacturer, or employee of such person who assembles, repairs, maintains, moves, puts up, tears down, or disassembles any patented, proprietary, or patented and proprietary environmental equipment supplied by such person to a contractor to be used solely by the contractor for a construction undertaking.

§2151. State licensing board for contractors; membership; qualifications; tenure; vacancies

- A. There is hereby created the State Licensing Board for Contractors within the Department of Professional Financial Regulation. The members shall serve without compensation.
- (1) Each member shall be of full age of majority and shall have been a resident of the state of Maine for the last five successive years.
- (2) Each member shall have been actively engaged as a responsible contractor in the construction classification that he represents for the five-year period prior to his appointment as a board member, except for any member appointed pursuant to Paragraph (B)(6) of this Section if he represents the public at large.
 - (3) There shall be at least one board member from each congressional district in the state of Maine.
 - B. The members shall be selected and appointed as follows:
 - Two home improvement builders
 - Two residential home builders (as designated in MUBEC board)
 - 1 member of the public at large
 - Fire Marshall or their designee
 - Two Municipal code enforcement officers (Same as defined on MUBEC board)
 - An attorney with experience in construction litigation
 - Designee from DOE that oversees construction programs at technical schools, or their designee
 - Representative from University system that oversees the CET programs, or their designee
 - Director of Efficiency Maine (ex-officio)
 - Commissioner of DPFR or their designee (ex-officio and chair)

- C. All vacancies shall be filled within ninety days of the vacancy, by appointment of the governor within the classification of area and qualification where the vacancy shall occur.
- D. Members shall serve terms of six years; however, initially four members shall serve terms of two years, four members shall serve terms of four years, and four members shall serve terms of six years.

§2152. Domicile; officers board

- A. (1) The board shall meet in the city of Augusta which place is fixed as the domicile of the board.
- (2) Meetings of the board shall be subject to the Open Meetings Law. The board may hold regular or special meetings outside of Augusta at a location within the state after proper notice has been provided to the public. Meetings outside of Augusta shall be held at a meeting space located in a public building and open to the public for the purposes of the meeting. At least a majority of the regular monthly meetings of the board each year shall be held in Augusta.
 - B. (1) The governor shall designate one member of the board to serve as chairman.
- (2) The members shall, by a majority vote, designate a member to serve as vice chairman, a member to serve as secretary, and a member to serve as treasurer.

Acts 1988, ******

§2153. Powers of the board

- A. The board shall have the power to make by-laws, rules and regulations for the proper administration of this Chapter; to employ such administrative assistants as are necessary; and to fix their compensation. The board is hereby vested with the authority requisite and necessary to carry out the intent of the provisions of this Chapter.
- B. Any bylaws or rules or regulations enacted by the Board shall be adopted and promulgated pursuant to the provisions of *R.S.* 49:951 et seq.
- C.(1) All legal services for the board shall be under the supervision, control, and authority of the attorney general, and no special attorney or counsel shall be employed to represent it except in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 42:262.
- (2)(a) However, notwithstanding the provisions of Paragraph (*) of this Subsection and the provisions of R.S. 42:262, the board may contract with outside counsel or collection agencies on a contingency- fee basis to enforce judgments that may arise under this Chapter.
- (b) Any such attorney shall be selected pursuant to a request for proposals in accordance with Chapter ** of Subtitle *** of Title ** of the Maine Revised Statutes of 1950, and any such collection agency shall be selected pursuant to a request for proposals in accordance with Chapter ** of Title ** of the Maine Revised Statutes of 1950.
- (c) Any contingency fee contract entered into pursuant to this Subsection shall mandate that all collected funds be deposited directly with the board, and, thereafter, the contingency fee shall be paid by the board to the collection agency or attorney.
- C. (1) The board is hereby authorized to select, lease, purchase, maintain, own, expand, and sell an office building and the land on which said building is situated. Any building so owned or so acquired shall be used by the board to house the offices of the board and to conduct the affairs of the board. The board is hereby authorized to expend the funds of the board for the purchase of the land and improvements thereon. The board is further authorized to sell the land and improvements thereon. Revenue derived from the sale shall be retained by the board.
- (2) The board may lease or sell portions of the land and improvements under such terms and conditions which are consistent with law. All revenue derived from such leases or sales shall be retained by the board.
- (3) Prior to a sale authorized by this Subsection, the commissioner of administration shall review the terms of the sale to ascertain that the sale amount constitutes fair market value or greater for the property.
 - D. In addition to any other duties and powers granted by this Chapter, the board shall:
 - (1) Grant licenses to qualified contractors pursuant to this Chapter.
- (2) Make, amend, or repeal such rules and regulations as it may deem proper fully to effectuate this Chapter and carry out the purposes thereof, in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. The enumeration of specific matters which may be made and the subject of rules and regulations shall not be construed to limit general powers of the board to make all rules and regulations necessary fully to effectuate the purpose of this Chapter.
 - (3) Enforce this Chapter and rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto.
- (4) Suspend or revoke any license for any cause described in this Chapter, or for any cause prescribed by the rules and regulations, and refuse to grant any license for any cause which would be grounds for revocation or suspension of a license.
- (5) Publish and distribute materials containing such information as it deems proper to further the accomplishment of the purpose of this Chapter.

- (6) Beginning on July 1, 2025, and each quarter thereafter, submit to the presiding officer of each house of the legislature, by electronic or other means, a report that contains all of the following information for the previous quarter:
 - (a) A list of licensees whose license has been suspended or revoked.
 - (b) A list of any licensees whose license was reinstated.
- E. Notwithstanding any other provisions to the contrary and to the extent deemed necessary or appropriate by the board for the efficient implementation of its responsibilities under this Chapter, the board may delegate its powers and duties to its staff by specific resolution of the board.

Added by Acts 1956	************************
--------------------	--------------------------

§2154. Meetings; compensation; quorum; license application and issuance procedure

- A. The board shall have at least one regular meeting per month on dates and times designated by the chairman. Notice of board meetings shall be posted on the board's official website and at the board office at least ten days prior to the date when the board is to meet. Further, any person desiring actual notice of the board meeting may request in writing that the board send notification through the United States mail at least ten days prior to the board meeting date.
- B. (1) The board may receive applications for licenses pursuant to the provisions of this Chapter at any time. Upon initial application, the license of a contractor domiciled in the state of Maine shall be issued after all requirements have been met and approved by the board. Upon the initial application of a contractor domiciled outside of the state of Maine, except as provided herein, a period of at least sixty days must elapse between the date the application is filed and the license is issued unless waived by the board. The executive director shall compile a list of all applicants for licensure that are to be considered at a board meeting and transmit the list to each board member.
- (2) For purposes of this Subsection a contractor shall be considered to be "domiciled in the state" if he is either of the following:
- (a) An individual who has been a resident of the state of Maine for at least one year prior to filing an application with the board of licensing.
- (b) Any partnership, association, corporation, or other legal entity whose majority interest is owned by and controlled by one or more residents of the state of Maine.
 - (3) For purposes of this Subsection "majority interest" shall be determined in either of the following ways:
- (a) In the case of corporations, on the basis of all stock, common and preferred, whether voting or nonvoting, and on the basis of all debentures, warrants, or other instruments convertible into common stock, preferred stock, or both.
- (b) In the case of partnerships, on the basis of all capital accounts together with any and all capital advances, loans, and debentures, whether or not convertible into capital accounts.
- (4) No application may be considered from any state or local governmental body including, without limitation, any agency of any state or local governmental body including any corporation or other entity owned or controlled by any state or local governing body.
- C. Before a special meeting may be held, notice stating the time, place, and purpose of the meeting shall be sent by the chairman or vice chairman of the board by electronic means to the members of the board, at least three days before the date of the meeting.

- D. Each member of the board shall be reimbursed when actually in attendance of a board meeting or when he is required to travel for the official authorized business of the board, not more than seventy-five dollars per day plus actual expenses and mileage to and from his domicile to the place of meeting at the same rate of reimbursement set by the division of administration for state employees under the provisions of R.S. 39:231.
- E. Ten members of the board shall constitute a quorum, which shall be sufficient for the board to conduct business, regardless of the total number of members appointed.
 - F. There shall be no voting by proxy.

Added by Acts 1956, No. 233, §4; Amended by Acts 1960, No. 455, §1; Acts 1962, No. 184, §1; Acts 1964, No. 113, §4; Acts 1974, No. 684, §1; Acts 1981, No. 668, §1; Acts 1984, No. 51, §1; Acts 1984, No. 915, §1; Acts 1984, No. 916, §1, eff. July 20, 1984; Acts 1985, No. 599, §1; Acts 1989, No. 559, §1; Acts 1992, No. 344, §1; Acts 1992, No. 681, §1, eff. July 6, 1992; Acts 2018, No. 529, §1; Acts 2019, No. 371, §1. {{NOTE: SEE ACTS 1984, NO. 916, §2.}};

§2155. Books and records; reports

- A. The treasurer shall be responsible for receiving and accounting for all money derived from the operation of this Chapter. He shall register all applicants for licenses, showing for each the date of application, the name, qualifications, place of business, place of residence, and whether license was granted or refused and the date on which such license was granted or refused.
- B. The board administrator shall keep a roster, showing the names and places of business of all licensed contractors. The roster shall be maintained and available on the board's official website.
- C. The secretary of the board shall keep full and complete minutes of each board meeting whether regular or special, including full information as to each application for license considered and the board's action thereon as well as all expenditures of the board that are approved. These board minutes shall be typed and attested to by the secretary and copies shall be made available to each board member and to the public upon adoption of the minutes at the next scheduled meeting of the board.
- D. Within one hundred fifty days of the last day of each calendar year, a certified public accounting firm approved by the state official charged with the auditing of public records and accounts shall audit the financial records of the board and submit the report of his audit to the legislative auditor and shall file a copy of his audit with the secretary of state to be attached to the report of the board on file.

Added by Acts 1956, No. 233, §5. Amended by Acts 1964, No. 113, §5; Acts 1992, No. 681, §1, eff. July 6, 1992; Acts 2019, No. 371, §1.

§2156. Unexpired licenses; fees; renewals

A. Licenses and renewals issued pursuant to the provisions of this Chapter shall expire on the anniversary of the date on which the license was originally issued. Licensees shall elect upon renewal one-, two-, or three-year license renewal terms, and licenses may be issued by the board on a multiple-year basis, not to exceed a three-year renewal term for any license. The license becomes invalid on the last day of the term for which it was issued unless renewed; however, after a license has expired, the person to whom the license was issued shall have fifteen days following the expiration date to file an application for the renewal of the license without the payment of a penalty and without further examination. Any person who makes an application for the renewal of a license after fifteen days following the expiration date of the license may, at the discretion of the board, have his license renewed after paying the required license fees and a penalty, not exceeding the sum of fifty dollars, that the board may impose. New applicants for licensing may elect upon application the renewal term of their license.

B. If a license is not renewed within a period of one year from the date of its expiration, any application for renewal shall be considered and treated as a new application.

- C.(1) To defray the cost of issuing licenses and of administering the provisions of this Chapter, the board shall fix reasonable fees to be assessed pursuant to the provisions of this Chapter, and reasonable penalties to be assessed for late applications for renewal of licenses and other administrative infractions; however, the basic license fee shall be the sum of not more than one hundred dollars and the fee for additional classifications shall be a lesser amount as set by the board.
 - (3) The board may assess an additional surcharge of no more than four hundred dollars in connection with the application for and issuance of a contractor's license to a contractor not domiciled in the state of Maine, to be utilized to defray the additional cost of the investigation of the application of the non-Maine contractor, including references supplied by the contractor, work history supplied by the work contractor, and other pertinent information required by the board in connection with an application for a contractor's license.

§2156.1. Requirements for issuance of a license

- A. To become licensed as a contractor, an applicant shall make application to the board on a form adopted by the board and shall state the classification of work the applicant desires to perform from a list of major classifications as follows:
 - (1) Building construction.
 - (2) Residential construction.
 - (3) Home improvement contractor (i.e. roofing, siding, window installation and similar
 - B. The board shall classify contractors according to the type or types of work or contracts which they may perform.
- (2) No financial statement is required for a license renewal.
- C. (1) The applicant for licensure shall designate a qualifying party who shall be the legal representative for the contractor relative to the provisions of this Chapter. The designated qualifying party shall complete an application supplied by the board and pass any examination required by the board. The board may deny approval of the qualifying party for good cause, which may include the ability of the proposed principal owner or owners, principal shareholder or shareholders, or qualifying party to engage in the business of contracting as demonstrated by his prior contracting business experience. Evidence which may be considered by the board shall be limited to any legal proceedings against the qualifying party or businesses where the qualifying party was in a position of control at the time a problem arose and the ultimate disposition of the proceedings, any financial history of bankruptcies, unpaid judgments, insolvencies, or any similar evidence. When the qualifying party terminates employment with the licensee, the board shall be notified in writing within thirty days of the disassociation and another qualifying party must qualify within sixty days. The qualifying party or parties are:
- D. Sole proprietor or spouse of a sole proprietor.
- E. Any employee of an applicant who has been in full-time employment for one hundred twenty consecutive days immediately preceding the application. The employee may be allowed to be the qualifying party for the licensed company and related entities.
- F. Any stockholder, officer, or incorporator of a corporation.
 - (a) Any partner of a partnership.
 - (b) Any member or manager of a limited liability company.
 - (2) Upon good showing, the board may exempt any qualifying party from the required examinations.

- (3) Upon the determination that a person has engaged in deceptive practices when taking or attempting to take any board examination, the person shall be ineligible to serve as a qualifying party for a licensee for a period of one year.
- E. Notwithstanding any other law of this state to the contrary, a contractor may obtain a license to bid and perform work statewide provided the contractor has successfully passed a standardized, nationally recognized, written examination administered or approved by the State Licensing Board for Contractors.
- F.(1) Upon completion of the requirements for licensure and issuance of a state license for the classification of work for which the contractor has applied, or e; contractors licensed pursuant to the provisions of this Section are excluded from local, municipal, or county regulatory authority examination procedures and may bid and perform work within any local jurisdiction upon paying all appropriate fees.
- (2) The purpose of this Subsection is to preempt local, municipal, or county regulatory examination authority for statewide-licensed contractors bidding and performing work in multiple jurisdictions. This preemption shall further exclude the employees of statewide-licensed contractors from local, municipal, or county regulatory examination or certification authority as a condition to performing work for the statewide-licensed contractor.
- G. Any contractor who has, prior to July 1, 2025, successfully passed both a state licensing examination administered or approved by the board and a local licensing examination in the same license classification, and who has continuously held such state and local licenses since July 1, 2025, shall be exempted from any requirement for passage of an additional test in that license classification. A contractor shall make application to the board for an exemption on a form prepared by the board. The board shall provide a date by which application for exemption forms must be filed.
- H. Any contractor who currently holds a state license shall be exempt from any requirement for passage of an additional examination in that license classification and may bid and perform plumbing work statewide after applying to the board for an exemption on a form prepared by the board.
 - I. Each applicant shall pay all fees required for issuance of the license as provided for in this Chapter.
 - J. Upon completion of the requirements for licensure, the application shall be submitted to the board for review.

§2156.2. Major categories; subclassifications; specialty classifications; requirements for contractors holding major classification to perform work

- A. Under each major category is a list of subclassifications that a specialty contractor may obtain, as follows:
- I. Building construction
- 1. Residential construction
- 2. Rigging, house moving, wrecking, and dismantling
- 3. Roof decks
- 4. Roofing and sheet metal, siding
- 5. Drywall

§2157. Exemptions

A. The provisions of this Part shall not apply to any of the following:

- (1) Any public utility providing gas, electric, or telephone service which is subject to regulation by the Maine Public Utility Commission or to any work performed by the public utility in furnishing its authorized service.
- (2) Owners of property who supervise, superintend, oversee, direct, or in any manner assume charge of the construction, alteration, repair, improvement, movement, demolition, putting up, tearing down, or maintenance of any building, railroad excavation, project, development, improvement, plan facility, or any other construction undertaking, on that property, for use by the owner, and which will not be for sale or rent, and the control of access to which shall be controlled by the owner so that only employees and nonpublic invitees are allowed access.
- (3) Any person donating labor and services for the supervision and construction of or for the maintenance and repair of churches.
 - (4) Any farmer doing construction for agricultural purposes on leased or owned land.
 - (5) Any person bidding or performing work on any project totally owned by the federal government.
 - (6) Any person engaged in rail or pipeline construction activities performed on property he owns or leases.
- (7) Any citizen volunteering labor for the construction of a project which is funded by the Maine Community Development Block Grant, Maine Small Towns Environment Program.
- (8) Any person, supplier, or manufacturer, or the employee of the person, supplier, or manufacturer who assembles, repairs, maintains, moves, puts up, tears down, or disassembles any patented or proprietary environmental equipment he supplies to a contractor to be used solely by the contractor for a construction undertaking.
- (9) The manufactured housing industry or any person engaged in any type of service, warranty, repair, or home improvement work on factory-built, residential dwellings that are mounted on chassis and wheels.
- (10) Any person bidding or performing work on any project paid for by monies from the Oilfield Site Restoration Fund or Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act.
- B. However, the provisions of this Chapter shall apply to any contractor employed by any party exempted by this Section. The provisions of this Section shall not be construed to waive local and state health and life safety code requirements.

Added by Acts 1956, No. 233, §7. Amended by Acts 1962, No. 184, §1; Acts 1964, No. 113, §7; Acts 1966, No. 292, §1; Acts 1968, No. 212, §1; Acts 1976, No. 377, §1; Acts 1979, No. 544, §1; Acts 1979, No. 782, §1; Acts 1980, No. 606, §1, eff. July 23, 1980; Acts 1981, No. 668, §1; Acts 1982, No. 832, §1; Acts 1985, No. 982, §1; Acts 1988, No. 635, §1, eff. Jan. 1, 1989; Acts 1989, No. 559, §1; Acts 1992, No. 681, §1, eff. July 6, 1992; Acts 2000, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 21, §1; Acts 2003, No. 643, §1; Acts 2003, No. 902, §1; Acts 2003, No. 1146, §2; Acts 2011, No. 107, §2; Acts 2019, No. 371, §1; Acts 2020, No. 242, §2.

§2158. Revocation, suspension, and renewal of licenses; issuance of cease and desist orders; debarment; criminal penalty

- A. The board may revoke, suspend, or refuse to renew a license; issue cease and desist orders to stop work; or debar any person or licensee licensed pursuant to the provisions of this Chapter for any of the following causes:
- (1) Any dishonest or fraudulent act as a contractor which has caused damage to another, as adjudged by a court of competent jurisdiction.

- (2) Willful misrepresentation of fact by an applicant in obtaining a license.
- (3) Willful failure to comply with the provisions of this Chapter or the rules and regulations promulgated pursuant thereto.
- (4) Entering into a contract with an unlicensed contractor involving work or activity for the performance of which a license is required by this Chapter.
- (5) Permitting the contractor's license to be used by another contractor when the other contractor does not hold a license for the classification of work for which the contract is entered.
 - (6) Failure to maintain a qualifying party to represent the licensee.
 - (7) Insolvency or involuntary cessation of business operation.
 - (8) Failure to continue to fulfill any of the requirements for original licensure.
- (9) Problems relating to the ability of the contractor, its qualifying party, or any of its principal owners or principal shareholders to engage in the business of contracting, as demonstrated by their contracting business experience.
 - (10) Disqualification or debarment by any public entity.
 - (11) Failure to possess any insurance required by federal law.
- (12) Failure to timely notify the board of any change in corporate name, company name, address of the licensee, or any other contact information as required.
- B. (1) In order to enforce the provisions of this Chapter, the board may conduct hearings in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 49:951 through 965.1. The board shall maintain and make available a record of all persons or licensees who have been disqualified by any public entity pursuant to R.S. 39:1672. If any person or licensee has been disqualified more than once in a twelve-month period, the board shall hold a debarment hearing.
- (2) After the hearing, if the board rules that a person has violated any provision of this Chapter, or that a person or licensee has been appropriately disqualified more than once in a twelve-month period, in lieu of revoking or suspending the license, the board may order the person to immediately discontinue all work on the construction project which is the subject of the hearing, debar a person or licensee from bidding on projects for any public entity for up to three years, or both. Additionally, the board may require the licensee to pay the actual costs incurred by the board in connection with the investigation and to conduct the hearing. In accordance with R.S. 49:964, the board may grant a stay of the enforcement of its order for good cause.
- (3) Any party to the proceeding who is aggrieved by the action of the board may appeal the decision in accordance with R.S. 49:951 through 965.1.
- C. The board may sue and be sued and, to that end, shall have the authority to apply to a court of competent jurisdiction for a temporary restraining order and a writ of injunction to restrain and prohibit any violation of this Chapter and the performance of any work then being done or about to commence.
- D. In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 49:951 through 965.1, any person who applies for and is denied a license by the board, or whose license has been revoked, rescinded, or suspended, may apply to the Nineteenth Judicial District Court in and for the parish of East Baton Rouge to determine whether the board has abused its discretion.

E. In addition to actions taken by the board, it shall be unlawful for any person to engage in the business of contracting without authority as provided in R.S. 37:2160.

Added by Acts 1956, No. 113, §8. Amended by Acts 1964, No. 113, §8; Acts 1992, No. 681, §1, eff. July 6, 1992; Acts 1997, No. 773, §1; Acts 2009, No. 156, §1; Acts 2012, No. 163, §1; Acts 2019, No. 371, §1.

§2159. Classification; bidding and performing work within a classification

- A. Before issuing a license to any contractor, the board shall state the contractor's classification on the license, according to the classification requested by the contractor and for which he has completed all of the requirements.
- B. The licensee shall not be permitted to bid or perform any type of work not included in the classification under which his license was issued.
- C. The licensee may apply for and receive additions to or changes in his classification by applying, successfully completing the written examination, and paying the required fees. Additions or changes to an existing license shall become effective after completion of the requirements and upon board approval.
- D. Nothing in this Chapter is to be construed to mean that the board has any authority to determine or fix or suggest the amount of a contractor's bid limit.

Added by Acts 1956, No. 233, §9; Amended by Acts 1964, No. 113, §9; Acts 1976, No. 82, §1, eff. July 8, 1976; Acts 1984, No. 915, §1; Acts 1985, No. 599, §2; Acts 1988, No. 635, §1, eff. Jan. 1, 1989; Acts 1992, No. 681, §1, eff. July 6, 1992; Acts 2019, No. 371, §1.

§2160. Engaging in business of contracting without authority prohibited; penalty

- A.(1) It shall be unlawful for any person to engage or to continue in this state in the business of contracting, or to act as a contractor as defined in this Chapter, unless he holds an active license as a contractor under the provisions of this Chapter.
- (2) It shall be unlawful for any contractor, licensed or unlicensed, who advertises in any form or in any news medium, to advertise that he is a licensed contractor without specifying the type of license to which he is referring.
- B. It shall be sufficient for the indictment, affidavit, or complaint to allege that the accused unlawfully engaged in business as a contractor without authority from the State Licensing Board for Contractors.
- C. (1) Anyone violating this Section of this Chapter shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, shall be fined a sum not to exceed five hundred dollars per day of violation, or three months in prison, or both.
- (2) Notwithstanding any action taken by the board, any person, who does not possess a license from the board, and who violates any of the provisions of this Section, and causes harm or damage to another in excess of three hundred dollars, upon conviction, shall be fined not less than five hundred dollars nor more than five thousand dollars, or imprisoned, with or without hard labor, for not less than six months nor more than five years, or both.
- (3) Any fine so assessed and collected shall be remitted to the contractor's educational trust fund provided for in R.S. 37:2162(J).
- D. The district attorney, in whose jurisdiction the violation occurs, shall have sole authority to prosecute criminal actions pursuant to this Section.

Added by Acts 1956, No. 233, §10. Amended by Acts 1962, No. 184, §1; Acts 1964, No. 113, §10; Acts 1981, No. 668, §1; Acts 1992, No. 681, §1, eff. July 6, 1992; Acts 2001, No. 802, §1; Acts 2009, No. 156, §1.

§2161. Power to sue and be sued; injunction; restraining orders

The board may sue and be sued and, to that end, shall have the right to go into court in the jurisdiction in which the provisions of this Chapter are being violated, and upon affidavit, secure a temporary restraining order and a writ of injunction restraining and prohibiting the violation of this Chapter and the performance of any work then being done or about to be commenced.

6. Added by Acts 1956, No. 233, §11. Amended by Acts 1964, No. 113, §11; Acts 1983, No. 296, §1 §2162. Violations; civil penalty; jurisdiction

- A. Any person who violates any provision of this Chapter shall, after notice and a hearing, be liable to the board for a fine of up to ten percent of the total contract or the value of the work being performed for which there is a violation. In addition to the fine, the board may impose costs and attorney fees for each offense. If the board brings an action against a person pursuant to this Section and fails to prove its case, it shall be liable to the person for the payment of his reasonable litigation expenses as defined in R.S. 49:965.1(D).
- B. In addition to or in lieu of the criminal penalties and administrative sanctions provided in this Chapter, the board may issue an order to cease and desist to any person or firm engaged in any activity, conduct, or practice constituting a violation of any provision of this Chapter. The order shall be issued in the name of the state of Maine under the official seal of the board.
- C. If the person or firm to whom the board directs a cease and desist order does not cease or desist the proscribed activity, conduct, or practice immediately, the board may cause to issue in any court of competent jurisdiction and proper venue, a writ of injunction enjoining the person or firm from engaging in any activity, conduct, or practice prohibited by this Chapter.
- D. In the suit for an injunction, the board may demand of the defendant a penalty as provided in Subsection A of this Section. A judgment for penalty, attorney fees, and costs may be rendered in the same judgment in which the injunction is made absolute. If the board brings an action against a person pursuant to the provisions of this Section and fails to prove its case, then it shall be liable to the person for the payment of his attorney fees and costs.
 - E. The trial of the proceeding by injunction shall be summary and by the judge without a jury.*
- F. Anyone violating this Chapter who fails to cease work, after proper hearing and notification from the board, shall not be eligible to apply for a contractor's license for a period not to exceed one year from the date of official notification to cease work.
- G. It shall be within the power of the board to withhold approval, for up to six months, of any application from anyone who, prior to said application, has been found in violation of this Chapter.
- H. All fines or penalties collected by the board pursuant to the provisions of this Section for violations of any provision of this Chapter shall, annually, at each audit of the board, be transferred to a separate contractor's educational trust fund to be used for educational purposes as determined by the board.
- I. Upon the expiration of the delays set forth in the Administrative Procedure Act for an aggrieved party to appeal any fine or penalty assessed by the board, if an appeal has not been so filed, the board may initiate civil proceedings against the party seeking to obtain a judgment against that party in an amount equivalent to the amount of the fine assessed, together with legal interest and all reasonable attorney fees incurred by the board in bringing the action. The proceedings shall be conducted on a summary basis, with the defendant being limited to the defense of lack of notice as to the meeting of the board during which the fine was assessed. All proceedings brought pursuant to the provisions of this Subsection shall lie in any court of competent jurisdiction in this state.
- J. In addition to all other authority granted to the board by the provisions of this Chapter, the board shall have the authority to cause to be issued to any person who is alleged to have violated any of the provisions of this Chapter a citation setting forth the nature of the alleged violation, which provides to that person the option of either pleading no contest to the charge and paying a fine to the board prescribed by any provision of this Chapter or appearing at an administrative hearing

conducted by the board regarding the alleged violation. The citations may be issued by any authorized employee of the board, and may be issued either in person or via the United States Postal Service, postage prepaid and properly addressed. This Subsection shall not be applicable to any criminal enforcement action brought pursuant to the provisions of this Chapter.

K. Any person registered or licensed pursuant to the provisions of this Chapter who is the subject of two or more complaints received by the board within a six month period shall have his name and the nature of each complaint received posted on the board's website.

L. Repealed by Acts 2019, No. 371, §2.

Acts 1992, No. 681, §1, eff. July 6, 1992; Acts 1995, No. 808, §1; Acts 1997, No. 380, §1; Acts 1997, No. 772, §1; Acts 2001, No. 968, §1; Acts 2007, No. 398, §1; Acts 2009, No. 156, §1; Acts 2019, No. 371, §§1, 2; Acts 2020, No. 102.

*As appears in enrolled bill.

§2164. Reciprocity

Any applicant holding a license in good standing in a comparable classification in another state recognized by the respective agency as a reciprocity state may have the trade portion of the examination waived upon written certification from that state in which the applicant is licensed. The business law portion of the examination and the provisions of R.S. 37:2156.1 shall not be waived. Applicants shall comply with all other licensing requirements of this state; however, for good cause, the board may waive any other licensing requirement.

Acts 1989, No. 559, §1; Acts 1992, No. 681, §1, eff. July 6, 1992.

RESIDENTIAL BUILDING CONTRACTORS

§2165. Residential Building Contractors; membership; terms

- A. There is hereby established within the State Licensing Board for Contractors the Residential Building Contractors Committee, consisting of thirteen members who shall be residents of the state of Maine and who have been actively engaged in residential contracting for at least five years prior to appointment by the governor. Three members of the committee shall be appointed by the governor from a list of not less than ten names submitted by the Maine Homebuilders & Remodelers Association as certified by its president and secretary. Once member of the committee shall be appointed to represent congressional district one, and one member to represent congressional district six.
- B. The terms of office of the initial members appointed to the committee shall be one for a three-year term, one for a two-year term, and one for a one-year term, to be determined by the governor. Thereafter, all members shall be appointed for three-year terms. All terms shall commence thirty days after the appointment and all members shall serve until their successors have been appointed and qualified. Vacancies occurring in the membership of the committee for any reason shall be filled by appointment by the governor for the unexpired term. No person shall be appointed for more than two consecutive terms. The governor may remove a member for cause.
- C. The executive director of the State Licensing Board for Contractors shall serve as executive director of the committee and shall not have voting privileges.
- D. (1) An ex officio member of the State Licensing Board for Contractors shall serve on the committee and shall serve as the liaison between the committee and the board. He shall be appointed by the chairman of the State Licensing Board for Contractors and shall serve as the chairman of the committee. His presence at a meeting of the committee may be counted toward establishing a quorum of the committee, and he shall only have voting privileges if either of the following circumstances exists:
- (a) His presence is necessary to establish a quorum of the committee and there is a tie vote between the appointed members of the committee.

- (b) His presence is necessary to establish a quorum of the committee, only one appointed member of the committee is present, and an additional ex officio member has been appointed pursuant to Paragraph (2) of this Subsection.
- (2) An additional ex officio member of the State Licensing Board for Contractors shall serve on the committee only if his presence, along with the ex officio member serving pursuant to Paragraph (1) of this Subsection, is required to establish a quorum of the committee. This additional ex officio member shall be appointed by the chairman of the State Licensing Board for Contractors and shall serve as the vice chairman of the committee. He shall only have voting privileges if there is a tie vote between an appointed member of the committee and the ex officio member serving as chairman of the committee.
 - (3) The State Licensing Board for Contractors shall pay per diem and travel expenses for ex officio members.
- E. A quorum of the committee shall consist of a majority of its members and the committee shall meet at least once every other month to conduct its business. The executive director shall give written notice to each member of the time and place of each meeting at least ten days prior to the scheduled date of the meeting.
- F. Each member of the committee shall be entitled to a per diem allowance of seventy-five dollars for each meeting they attend and be reimbursed for all travel expenses necessarily incurred in attending meetings.

Acts 1995, No. 638, §1, eff. Feb. 1, 1996; Acts 1999, No. 1175, §1; Acts 2001, No. 659, §1; Acts 2012, No. 803, §9.

§2165. Powers and duties

Subject to the approval of the State Licensing Board for Contractors, the committee shall have the following powers and duties:

- (1) To adopt rules and regulations to govern residential building contractors in the state of Maine.
- (2) To issue, suspend, modify, or revoke licenses to do business in the state of Maine pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 37:2158.
- (3) To prescribe and adopt regulations and policies for continuing education. However, notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, the committee shall not approve for use by licensees any continuing education courses or written training programs provided by a member of the committee or legal entity in which he has a controlling interest.
- (4) To cause the prosecution and enjoinder of all persons violating provisions of this Chapter, and incur necessary expenses therefor.

Acts 1995, No. 638, §1, eff. Feb. 1, 1996; Acts 1999, No. 1175, §1.

§2166. Licensure required; qualifications; examination; waivers

- A. No person shall work as a residential building contractor in this state unless he holds an active license in accordance with the provisions of this Chapter.
- B. In order to obtain a license as a residential building contractor an applicant shall demonstrate to the committee that he:
- (1) Has submitted certificates evidencing workers' compensation coverage in compliance with Title 23 of the Maine Revised Statutes of 1950, and liability insurance in a minimum amount of one hundred thousand dollars or liability protection provided by a liability trust fund as authorized by R.S. 22:46(9)(d) in a minimum amount of one hundred thousand dollars.

- (2) Has passed the examination administered by the State Licensing Board for Contractors.
- (3) Has submitted a financial statement prepared by an accountant, bookkeeper, or certified public accountant and signed by the applicant before a notary public, indicating a net worth of at least ten thousand dollars, and stating that the statement of the applicant's assets and financial condition is true and correct.
- C. The State Licensing Board for Contractors shall set the time and location and administer an examination for licensure of residential building contractors in accordance with the testing procedures of the board. The examination shall test the applicant's knowledge of subjects that the committee considers useful to determine the applicant's fitness to be a licensed residential building contractor. The committee shall determine the criteria for satisfactory performance.
- D. The committee shall waive the examination and grant a residential building contractor's license to any person working in the residential building industry who holds a builder construction license that was issued by the State Licensing Board for Contractors prior to February 1, 2025.
 - E. Repealed by Acts 2019, No. 371, §2.

Acts 1995, No. 638, §1, eff. Feb. 1, 1996; Acts 1997, No. 925, §1, eff. Jan. 1, 1998; Acts 2001, No. 802, §1; Acts 2003, No. 1146, §1; Acts 2008, No. 415, §2, eff. Jan. 1, 2009; Acts 2019, No. 371, §§1, 2.

§2166.1. Inactive license

- A. Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, any residential building contractor licensee in good standing with the board who has held a license to engage in residential building construction issued pursuant to this Chapter for not less than one consecutive year may elect to place his license in an inactive license status with the board, provided he applies for a transfer to inactive status.
- B. During the period a license is in inactive status, the licensee shall be prohibited from engaging in any activity requiring a residential building contractor license.
- C. An inactive licensee shall be required to renew his inactive license on a yearly basis in the same manner as provided in R.S. 37:2168 and by paying an annual renewal fee, which shall not exceed the annual renewal fee paid by active licensees. However, an inactive licensee shall not be required to submit insurance certificates pursuant to R.S. 37:2167(B)(1) or fulfill any other additional requirements that an active licensee would not be required to fulfill when renewing his license.
- D. An inactive licensee shall be required to fulfill all prescribed continuing education requirements established for active licensees.
- E. A licensee may request transfer from inactive status to active status at any time, provided all of the following conditions exist:
 - (1) The inactive license has been renewed as provided for in this Section.
 - (2) The inactive license is current at the time the request is received by the board.

(3) The licensee submits the required insurance certificates as provided in R.S. 37:2167(B)(1).

Acts 2001, No. 802, §1; Acts 2011, No. 107, §1.

§2168. Term of license; renewal of license

- A. The term of a license issued pursuant to the provisions of this Chapter shall be for a term not to exceed three years, as determined by the board.
- B. Licenses and renewals issued under the provisions of this Chapter shall expire on the anniversary of the date on which the license was originally issued. Licensees shall elect upon renewal one-, two-, or three-year license renewal terms, and licenses may be issued by the board on a multiple-year basis, not to exceed a three-year term for any license. The license becomes invalid on the last day of the term for which it was issued unless renewed; however, after a license has expired, the person to whom such license was issued shall have fifteen days following the expiration date to file an application for the renewal of such license without the payment of a penalty and without further examination, and any person who makes an application for renewal of a license after fifteen days following the expiration date of the license may, at the discretion of the committee, have his license renewed after paying the required license fees and such penalty, not exceeding the sum of fifty dollars, that the board may impose. New applicants for licensing may elect upon application the renewal term of their license.

Acts 1995, No. 638, §1, eff. Feb. 1, 1996; Acts 2008, No. 576, §1.

§2169. Fees

- A. The committee shall fix fees in a manner established by its rules. Initial fees for residential building contractors shall not exceed the following amounts:
 - (1) Examination fee \$50.00
 - (2) License fee \$100.00
 - (3) Renewal fee \$100.00
 - (4) Delinquent fee \$50.00
 - B. All fees shall be paid into the account of the State Licensing Board for Contractors.

Acts 1995, No. 638, §1, eff. Feb. 1, 1995.

§2170. Exceptions

- A. There are excepted from the provisions of this Chapter:
- (1) Owners of property who supervise, superintend, oversee, direct, or in any manner assume charge of the construction, alteration, repair, improvement, movement, demolition, putting up, tearing down, or maintenance of their personal residences, provided the homeowner does not build more than one residence per year. The one-year period shall commence on the date of occupancy of the residence. However, an owner of property may build more than one personal residence in a one-year period if the construction of an additional residence occurs as a result of a change in the legal marital status of the owner or change in the employment status of the owner whereby the owner must relocate to another employment location, which is located in excess of fifty miles from his personal residence.
- (2) Persons performing the work of a residential building contractor in areas or municipalities that do not have a permitting procedure.

- (3) Farmers doing construction for agricultural or related purposes on leased or owned land.
- B. However, the provisions of this Chapter shall apply to any contractor employed by persons exempted in Subsection A except those contractors employed for remodeling purposes. Further, nothing in this Section shall be construed to waive local and state health and life safety code requirements.

Acts 1995, No. 638, §1, eff. Feb. 1, 1996; Acts 1999, No. 1175, §1; Acts 2001, No. 711, §1.

§2171. Prohibited activities

No person shall hold himself out as a Maine licensed residential building contractor unless he holds an active license as such pursuant to the provisions of this Chapter, and possesses any insurance required by federal law.

Acts 1995, No. 638, §1, eff. Feb. 1, 1996; Acts 2001, No. 802, §1; Acts 2012, No. 163, §1.

§2171.1. Inspection of local building permits

Each month the board or its staff shall inspect the list of residential building permits issued by each local building permit official in this state to ensure that no person is working as a residential building contractor without an active license.

Acts 2001, No. 802, §1.

§2171.2. Requirements; building permit

- A. Prior to the issuance of any building permit, the local building permit official shall require that the applicant for such permit produce proof that the applicant possesses an active, applicable contractors license issued by the board, or that the applicant's proposed building activity is exempt from such licensure under this Chapter. The local building permit official shall require any applicant claiming an exemption for residential construction activities to execute an affidavit attesting to the claimed exemption. Such affidavit shall be submitted to the local building permit official prior to the issuance of a permit. Such affidavit shall be executed on a form provided by the board.
- B. In addition to and notwithstanding requirements set forth in Subsection A of this Section, a nonresident commercial, residential, or home improvement contractor applicant shall provide its federal taxpayer identification number to the local building permit official, as well as proof of license to do business in the state of Maine.
- C. Liability shall not be imposed on a political subdivision or its officers or employees based upon the exercise or performance of, or the failure to exercise or perform any act or duty provided for in this Section.

Acts 2004, No. 724, §1; Acts 2010, No. 67, §1.

§2171.3. Notification of name, license number, and classification; evidence of required insurance

- A. Any person required to be licensed pursuant to R.S. 37:2167 or registered pursuant to R.S. 37:2175.2 shall provide, in writing to the party with whom he has contracted to perform contracting services, his name, contracting license number, classification, and current insurance certificates evidencing the amount of liability insurance maintained and proof of workers' compensation coverage, regardless of whether such information is requested by the contracting party for whom the work is to be performed.
- B. Failure by any person required to be licensed pursuant to R.S. 37:2167 or registered pursuant to R.S. 37:2175.2 to comply with the provisions of this Section shall be deemed a willful failure to comply with the provisions of this Chapter pursuant to R.S. 37:2158(A)(3).

C. Any person required to be licensed pursuant to R.S. 37:2167 or registered pursuant to R.S. 37:2175.2 shall produce to the appropriate permitting authority evidence of a license or license in good standing prior to the issuance of any permit required by law.

Acts 2017, No. 231 §1.

§2173. Effect on local regulatory examination authority

This Chapter shall preempt municipal or other local regulatory examination authority over residential builders. In the event that the governing authority or any municipality or county finds that the state minimum standards do not meet its needs, the local government may provide requirements not less stringent than those specified by the state.

Acts 1995, No. 638, §1, eff. Feb. 1, 1996.

PART II. HOME IMPROVEMENT CONTRACTING

§2175.1. Home improvement contracting; written contract required; right to cancel

A. Every agreement to perform home improvement contracting services, as defined by this Part, in an amount in excess of three thousand dollars, shall be in writing and shall include the following documents and information:

The complete agreement between the owner and the contractor and a clear description of any other documents which are or shall be incorporated into the agreement, including current insurance certificates evidencing the amount of liability insurance maintained and proof of workers' compensation coverage by any person required to be licensed pursuant to Title 10: COMMERCE AND TRADE Part 3: REGULATION OF TRADE Chapter 219-A: HOME CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTS §1486

- (1) The full names, addresses, and the license number of the home improvement contractor.
- (2) A detailed description of the work to be done and the materials to be used in the performance of the contract.
- (4)(a) The total amount agreed to be paid for the work to be performed under the contract including all change orders and work orders.
- (b) An approximation of the cost expected to be borne by the owner under a cost-plus contract or a time-and-materials contract.
 - (5) The signature of all parties.
- (6) If the contract is for goods or services in connection with the repair or replacement of a roof system to be paid from the proceeds of a property or casualty insurance policy, a statement in boldface type of a minimum size of ten points, in substantially the following form:

"You may cancel this contract in connection with the repair or replacement of a roof system at any time within seventy-two hours after you have been notified that your insurer has denied all or any part of your claim to pay for the goods and services to be provided under this contract. See attached notice of cancellation form for an explanation of this right."

(7) If the contract is for goods or services in connection with the repair or replacement of a roof system to be paid from the proceeds of a property or casualty insurance policy, a fully completed form in duplicate, captioned "NOTICE OF CANCELLATION", which shall be attached to the contract but easily detachable, and which shall contain, in boldface type of a minimum size of ten points, the following statement:

"NOTICE OF CANCELLATION

If your insurer denies all or any part of your claim to pay for goods and services in connection with the repair or replacement of a roof system to be provided under this contract, you may cancel the contract by mailing or delivering a signed and dated copy of this cancellation notice or any other written notice to (name of home improvement contractor) at (address of contractor's place of business) at any time within seventy-two hours after you have been notified that your claim has been denied. If you cancel, any payments made by you under the contract, except for certain emergency work already performed by the contractor, shall be returned to you within ten business days following receipt by the contractor of your cancellation notice.

I HEREBY CANCEL THIS TRANSACTION
(Date)
(Insured's Signature)"

- B. At the time of signing, the owner shall be furnished with a copy of the contract signed by both the home improvement contractor and the owner. No work shall begin prior to the signing of the contract and transmittal to the owner of a copy of the contract.
- C. Contracts which fail to comply with the requirements of this Section shall not be invalid solely because of noncompliance.
- D.(1) A person who has entered into a written contract with a home improvement contractor to provide goods or services in connection with the repair or replacement of a roof system to be paid from the proceeds of a property or casualty insurance policy may cancel the contract within seventy-two hours after the insured party has been notified by the insurer that all or any part of the claim has been denied. Cancellation shall be evidenced by the insured party giving written notice of cancellation to the home improvement contractor at the address stated in the contract. Notice of cancellation, if given by mail, shall be by certified mail, return receipt requested, and shall be effective upon deposit into the United States mail, postage prepaid, and properly addressed to the home improvement contractor. Notice of cancellation need not take a particular form and shall be sufficient if it indicates, by any form of written expression, the intention of the insured party not to be bound by the contract.
- (2) Within ten days after a contract referred to in this Subsection has been cancelled, the home improvement contractor shall tender to the owner or possessor of the residential real estate any payments, partial payments, or deposits made by the insured party and any note or other evidence of indebtedness. If, however, the home improvement contractor has performed any emergency services, acknowledged by the insured in writing to be necessary to prevent damage to the premises, the home improvement contractor shall be entitled to the reasonable value of such services.
- E. For the purposes of this Part, "roof system" means the components of a roof, including but not limited to covering, insulation, and ventilation.

Acts 2003, No. 1146, §2; Acts 2007, No. 398, §1; Acts 2012, No. 193, §1; Acts 2017, No. 231, §1.

§2175.2. Home improvement contracting; license required

A. (1) No person shall undertake, offer to undertake, or agree to perform home improvement contracting services unless registered with and approved by the Residential Building Contractors Committee of the State Licensing Board for Contractors as a home improvement contractor.

- (2) Any home improvement contractor who possesses a certificate of license from the committee as of February 1, 2025, shall be entitled to complete any preexisting contracts he has entered into in excess of seventy-five thousand dollars without having to obtain a residential contractor's license as provided for in this Chapter. However, such home improvement contractor shall be required to obtain a residential contractor's license prior to bidding or entering into any contracts in excess of seventy-five thousand dollars after October 1, 2007.
- B. In order to be registered as a home improvement contractor, an applicant must make a written application under oath to the committee. The application shall set forth information that includes the following:
 - (1) The applicant's name, home address, business address, and social security number.
- (2) The names and addresses of any and all owners, partners, or trustees of the applicant including, in case of corporate entities, the names and addresses of any and all officers, directors, and principal shareholders. This Section shall not apply to publicly traded companies.
- (3) A statement whether the applicant has ever been previously registered in the state as a home improvement contractor, under what other names he was previously registered, whether there have been previous judgments or arbitration awards against him, and whether his license has ever been suspended or revoked.
- C. The applicant shall furnish the board proof of general liability insurance in a minimum amount of one hundred thousand dollars, proof of workers' compensation insurance, and proof of license with the Department of Revenue by providing a certificate of resident/nonresident status.
- D. The committee shall fix fees, in an amount not to exceed fifty dollars, in a manner established by its rules for the license and renewal for home improvement contractors.
- E. No application for license or renewal conforming to the requirements of this Section may be denied or revoked except for a finding by the committee that the applicant has done one or more of the following acts which are grounds for denial:
 - (1) Made material omissions or misrepresentations of fact on their application for license or renewal.
 - (2) Failed to pay either the license fee or renewal fee.
- (3) Failed consistently to perform contracts or has performed contracts in an unworkmanlike manner or has failed to complete contracts with no good cause or has engaged in fraud or bad faith with respect to such contracts.
- F. The committee shall issue and deliver a certificate of license to all applicants who have been approved for license. Each certificate of license issued by the committee shall bear a number which shall be valid for one year from the date of its issuance and may be renewed upon approval of the committee. The certificate shall not be transferable.

Acts 2003, No. 1146, §2; Acts 2004, No. 724, §1; Acts 2007, No. 398, §1; Acts 2012, No. 193, §1.

§2175.3. Home improvement contracting; prohibited acts; violations

- A. The following acts are prohibited by persons performing home improvement contracting services:
- (1) Operating without a certificate of license issued by the committee.
- (2) Abandoning or failing to perform, without justification, any contract or project engaged in or undertaken by a registered home improvement contractor, or deviating from or disregarding plans or specifications in any material respect without the consent of the owner.

- (3) Failing to credit the owner any payment they have made to the home improvement contractor in connection with a home improvement contracting transaction.
- (4) Making any material misrepresentation in the procurement of a contract or making any false promise likely to influence, persuade, or induce the procurement of a contract.
 - (5) Violation of the building code of the state or municipality.
- (6) Failing to notify the committee of any change of trade name or address, or conducting a home improvement contracting business in any name other than the one in which the home improvement contractor is registered.
- (7) Failing to pay for materials or services rendered in connection with his operating as a home improvement contractor where he has received sufficient funds as payment for the particular construction work, project, or operation for which the services or material were rendered or purchased.
 - (8) Making a false representation that the person is a state licensed general contractor.
- (9) Failing to provide, in writing to the party with whom he has contracted to perform contracting services, his name, license number, and current insurance certificates evidencing the amount of liability insurance maintained and proof of workers' compensation coverage, regardless of whether such information is requested by the contracting party for whom the work is to be performed.
- (10) Advertising or promising to pay or rebate all or any portion of an applicable insurance deductible as an inducement to the sale of goods or services in connection with the repair or replacement of a roof system. For the purposes of this Section, a promise to pay or rebate the insurance deductible shall include granting any allowance or offering any discount against the fees to be charged or paying the insured party any form of compensation for any reason, including but not limited to permitting the home improvement contractor to display a sign or any other type of advertisement at the insured party's premises, or paying an insured party for providing a letter of referral or recommendation. If a home improvement contractor violates this Paragraph:
- (a) The insurer to whom the insured party tendered the claim shall not be obligated to consider the estimate prepared by the home improvement contractor.
- (b) The insured party or the applicable insurer may bring an action against the home improvement contractor in a court of competent jurisdiction for damages sustained as a result of the home improvement contractor's violation.
 - (11) Failing to obtain any insurance required by federal law.
 - B. (1) Violations of this Section shall subject the violator to the administrative sanctions as prescribed in this Part.
- (2) A violation of Paragraph (A)(10) of this Section shall constitute a prohibited practice under the Unfair Trade Practices and Consumer Protection Law, R.S. 51:1401 et seq., and shall be subject to the enforcement provisions of that Chapter.

Acts 2003, No. 1146, §2; Acts 2012, No. 163, §1; Acts 2012, No. 193, §1; Acts 2017, No. 231, §1.

§2175.4. Home improvement contracting; administrative penalties

- A. If the committee determines that any registrant is liable for violation of any of the provisions contained in this Part, the committee may suspend the registrant's certificate of license for such period of time as shall be determined by the committee, revoke the registrant's certificate of license, or reprimand the registrant.
- B. The committee may assess an administrative penalty not to exceed one hundred dollars or twenty-five percent of the total contract price, whichever is greater, payable within thirty days of their order, for each violation of any of the provisions of this Part, committed by the home improvement contractor who is registered or who is required to be registered, plus any

administrative costs incurred by the committee.

C. In determining whether to impose an administrative penalty, the administrator shall consider the seriousness of the violation, the effect of the violation on the complainant, any good faith on the part of the home improvement contractor, and the home improvement contractor's history of previous violations.

Acts 2003, No. 1146, §2.

§2175.5. Home improvement contracting; exceptions

- A. The following persons are excepted from the provisions of this Part:
- (1) The state or any of its political subdivisions.
- (2) (a) A homeowner who physically performs the home improvement work on his personal residence.
- (b) An individual who physically performs home improvement work on other property owned by him when the home improvement work has a value of less than seven thousand five hundred dollars.
- (3) Persons licensed as a contractor, subcontractor, or residential building contractor pursuant to Chapter 24 of this Title.
- (4) Electricians, plumbers, architects, or other persons who are required by law to attain standards of competency or experience as a prerequisite to licensure for and engaging in such profession who are acting exclusively within the scope of the profession for which they are currently licensed pursuant to such other law.
- (5) Any person who performs labor or services for a home improvement contractor for wages or salary and who does not act in the capacity as a home improvement contractor.
 - (6) Any person who works exclusively in any of the following home improvement areas:
 - (a) Landscaping.
 - (b) Interior painting or wall covering.
 - B. Nothing in this Section shall be construed to waive local and state health and life safety code requirements.

Acts 2003, No. 1146, §2; Acts 2013, No. 60, §1.

§2175.6. Home improvement contracting; claims of unregistered persons.

No home improvement contractor who fails to obtain a certificate of license as provided for in this Part shall be entitled to file a statement of claim or a statement of lien or privilege with respect to monetary sums allegedly owed under any contract, whether express, implied, or otherwise, when any provision of this Part requires that the home improvement contractor possess a certificate of license issued by the committee in order to have properly entered into such a contract.

Acts 2007, No. 398, §1.

CHAPTER 1. APPLICATIONS AND LICENSING

§101. Authority

A. These rules and regulations are enacted under the authority of and in accordance with R.S. 37:2153 and 37:2184.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the Governor, State Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 44:2143 (December 2018).

§103. Definitions

A. As used in these rules and regulations, words and phrases shall be defined as provided in R.S. 37.2150.1, in R.S. 37:2150-2192, and as otherwise defined in these Rules and Regulations.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the Governor, State Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 44:2143 (December 2018).

§105. Requirements

- A. Before a license or license may be issued in accordance with the Contractors Licensing Law, all applications for a license or license shall contain the information required on the forms which are available on the board's website or at the offices of the Licensing Board for Contractors. Licensure or license cannot be considered until the following minimum conditions are met:
 - 1. the application is complete and all required information provided to the board;
 - 2. all applicable fees, fines, or other sums due to the board are paid in full; and
 - 3. all examination or other eligibility requirements have been successfully completed.
- B. Any person holding a license or license as a residential contractor, residential specialty contractor, home improvement contractor, and mold remediation contractor, including labor only, shall obtain and maintain workers' compensation and general liability insurance, obtained from an insurer authorized to sell those forms of insurance coverage in the state. Insurance certificates evidencing current workers' compensation and general liability insurance shall be submitted to the Licensing Board for Contractors with each new application and every renewal application. In the event of a lapse of insurance coverage, a cease and desist order may be issued and such lapse shall be grounds for suspension or revocation of the license at a disciplinary hearing by the board.
 - C. The issuance of any licenses or license s will be approved by the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150 - 2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Commerce, Licensing Board for Contractors, November 1974, amended and promulgated LR 1:401 (September 1975), amended LR 3:11 (January 1977), LR 8:137 (March 1982), amended by the Department of Economic Development, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 16:602 (July 1990), amended Department of Economic Development, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 22:94 (February 1996), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:150, 156 (January 2012), LR 44:2143 (December 2018).

§107. Report of Changes

- A. It shall be the responsibility of a person licensed or registered by the board to provide to the board all of the following information upon application for a license or license and to notify the board in writing within 15 days of any change to the following information:
 - 1. the licensee's type of business structure (sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability company, corporation, etc.);
 - 2. the licensee's business address (physical and U.S. postal service mailing address);
 - 3. a telephone, cell phone and facsimile number;
 - the licensee's email address;
 - the licensee's name;

- 6. the identity and address of the licensee's registered agent;
- 7. the identity of each officer and the office held;
- 8. the identity or address of each partner; and
- 9. the identity or address of each member.
- B. The failure of a person licensed or registered by the board to notify the board of changes to any of the enumerated items in Paragraph A within 15 days of the change may result in disciplinary action by the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2153.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Commerce, Licensing Board for Contractors, November 1974, amended and promulgated LR 8:137 (March 1982), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:149 (January 2012), LR 44:2144 (December 2018).

§109. Qualifying Party

- A. Any licensee may have more than one qualifying party. Nothing in the law is to be construed so as to prohibit a licensee from having more than one qualifying party per trade.
- B. If a qualifying party for a particular trade terminates employment or ownership/membership with a licensee, the licensee's license remains valid and the licensee may bid on new work in the licensed trade classification, but the licensee must submit and qualify a new qualifying party before commencing any new work.
- C. A qualifying party shall be required to successfully complete any trade examinations, and complete the business and law course and any other eligibility requirements.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Commerce, Licensing Board for Contractors, November 1974, amended and promulgated LR 8:136 (March 1982), amended by the Department of Economic Development, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 19:1127 (September 1993), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:151 (January 2012), LR 44:2144 (December 2018).

§111. Authorized to Take Examination

- A.1. The qualifying party or parties authorized to take the examination are:
 - a. a sole proprietor or spouse of a sole proprietor (individual);
 - b. any partner (partnership);
 - c. any original stockholder or incorporator (corporation);
 - d. any member (limited liability company); or
- e. any employee of said applicant who has been in full-time employment for 120 consecutive days immediately preceding the examination.
- 2. The employee shall be required to complete a qualifying party application furnished by the board before examination attesting to his/her eligibility that he/she has been a full-time employee of the person for whom he/she is seeking to qualify working at least 32 hours per week for the preceding 120 consecutive days and that he/she meet the criteria to be classified as an *employee* as defined by the Internal Revenue Service. The qualifying party application will be signed and certified by both the employee/qualifying party and employer.
- B. An employee who has not been in full-time employment for 120 consecutive days immediately preceding the application due to an absence resulting from deployment in active military service may be considered as a full-time employee if the employee has been re-employed in accordance with R.S. 29:410 and, considering the employee's period of employment immediately preceding the absence resulting from deployment in active military service, the employee otherwise satisfies the requirement of full-time employment.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2153(A).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Commerce, Licensing Board for Contractors, November 1974, amended and promulgated LR 8:136 (March 1982), amended by the Department of Economic Development, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR

19:1127 (September 1993), LR 23:1495 (November 1997), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:151 (January 2012), LR 44:2144 (December 2018).

§113. Disassociation of a Qualifying Party

- A. When a qualifying party's employment or association with the licensee is terminated for any reason, the licensee shall notify the board in writing within 30 days of the termination. The licensee shall submit and qualify a new person as its qualifying party within 60 days of the termination of the prior qualifying party. If the licensee fails to qualify a new qualifying party within 60 days as required herein, the licensee's license may be suspended or revoked by the board.
- B. It is a violation of R.S. 37:2158 to fail to notify the board of the disassociation or termination of a qualifying party and may subject the licensee to disciplinary proceedings by the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Commerce, Licensing Board for Contractors, November 1974, amended and promulgated LR 8:137 (March 1982), amended by the Department of Economic Development, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 19:1126 (September 1993), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:149 (January 2012), LR 44:2145 (December 2018).

§115. Examination Scheduling

- A. A qualifying party candidate who has been approved to take an examination shall be given a means to register for the examination.
- B. A candidate who fails to appear on the scheduled examination date and time shall forfeit the examination fee and be required to submit a new fee before candidate will be allowed to schedule a new examination date.
- C. A candidate who fails an examination cannot retake the examination for 30 days and only if all other eligibility requirements have been completed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Economic Development, State Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 21:1214 (November 1995), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:153 (January 2012), LR 40:2576 (December 2014), LR 44:2145 (December 2018).

§117. Examination Administration Procedures

Administrative check-in procedures begin one-half hour before the examinations begin. Candidates must report to the testing center for processing at least 15 minutes prior to the examination's starting time. Any candidate reporting after the 15-minute starting time may not be allowed admittance to the examination room. Every candidate must present acceptable government-issued photographic identification to be admitted to the examination room.

- A. Personal items (e.g., telephones, pagers, calculators, purses, briefcases, etc.) shall not be allowed in the testing room. A candidate shall not have access to these items during examination administration. Anyone found using unauthorized code books, text books, pagers, beepers, cellular telephones, tape recorders, radio transmitters, portable scanning devices, cameras, portable photocopy machines, reference materials, notes, blank writing or note paper, or any other aid or electronic device not specifically provided by the Examination Section for the purpose of examination administration shall have his or her examination confiscated, the exam results invalidated, and shall have his or her name placed on the agenda for the board's next regularly scheduled meeting for consideration and appropriate action. Failure to appear before the board shall result in the imposition of a one year waiting period before the applicant may retake the examination(s).
- B. It is the policy of the board that the specific contents of its examinations are considered to be proprietary and confidential. Anyone found in possession of examination questions, answers, or drawings in whole or in part shall have his or her examination confiscated, the exam results invalidated, shall be barred from taking any other examination, and shall not be eligible to become a qualifying party for the licensee for a period of one year. A candidate wearing bulky clothing or attire which would facilitate concealment of prohibited materials shall be requested to leave said clothing or attire outside the examination room or to remove it and place it in the front of the examination room. Failure to remove the article shall constitute permission to search for contraband materials, or a forfeiture of the scheduled examination will occur.

- C. All examination activities are subject to being filmed, recorded, or monitored.
- D. A candidate taking an examination shall not be allowed access to telephones or other communication devices during the course of the examination.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Economic Development, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 21:1214 (November 1995), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:153 (January 2012), LR 40:2576 (December 2014), LR 44:2145 (December 2018).

§118. Test Item Challenges

- A. A candidate who believes that an individual test item may not have a correct answer or may have more than one correct answer shall be afforded an opportunity to challenge the test item. The candidate shall record his or her comments in writing on a form supplied by the test monitor at the candidate's request during the examination. Comments will not be accepted at any other time. Comments should provide a detailed explanation as to why the candidate feels the item is incorrect. General comments (e.g., "This item is wrong.") will not be investigated.
 - B. Examination comments will be reviewed by board staff.
 - C. If a test item comment is deemed to be valid, the grade may be changed based upon test item comment(s).

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Economic Development, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 21:1214 (November 1995), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:153 (January 2012), LR 40:2576 (December 2014), LR 44:2145 (December 2018).

§119. Examination Reviews

A. A Candidate may request a review of their examination after two unsuccessful attempts to pass the same examination, provided the last test score is within ten points of a passing grade. The request must be made in writing within 60 days of the failed examination date. Only questions missed by the qualifying party may be reviewed. Standard security procedures will be observed at review sessions. Candidates who have reviewed an examination are not eligible to retake the same examination for 14 days after the review session. Candidates who fail to appear for a scheduled review session are disqualified from reviewing that examination at a future date.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Economic Development, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 21:1215 (November 1995), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:154 (January 2012), LR 44:2146 (December 2018).

§121. Application of Subsidiary

A. Any application for a license for a subsidiary shall be considered as a new application and subject to all laws and rules and regulations governing a new application.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2154.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Commerce, Licensing Board for Contractors, November 1974, amended and promulgated LR 8:137 (March 1982), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:151 (January 2012), LR 44:2146 (December 2018).

§119. Approval Withheld

A. If the board withholds approval of an application for a license or license, the applicant shall have the right to apply to the board for a hearing to consider the application. After due consideration of the applicant's presentation to the board, the board shall be entitled to withhold approval or grant approval of the application after consideration of the licensing requirements of the Contractors Licensing Law and these rules and regulations.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2153 and R.S. 37:2157(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 8:138 (March 1982), amended LR 11:341 (April 1985), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:151 (January 2012), LR 44:2146 (December 2018).

§120. Licensure and Exemption of Exam for Individuals with Military Training and Experience, Military Spouses and Dependents

- A. The board shall issue a license or license to an applicant who is a member of the military, including United States Department of Defense civilian employees who have been assigned to duty in Maine, or an applicant who is married to or is a dependent of a member of the military or a United States Department of Defense civilian employee, if the member or United States Department of Defense civilian receives military orders for a change of station to a military installation or assignment located in this state or if the member or United States Department of Defense civilian has established this state as his state of legal residence as reflected in the member's or United States Department of Defense civilian's military record if, upon application to the board, all of the following conditions are satisfied by the applicant:
- 1. holds a current and valid occupational license in another state in an occupation with a similar scope of practice, as determined by the board.
 - 2. has held the occupational license in the other state for at least one year.
- 3. has passed any examinations, or met any education, training, or experience standards as required by the board in the other state.
 - 4. is held in good standing by the board in the other state.
 - 5. does not have a disqualifying criminal record as determined by the board under the laws of this state.
- 6. has not had an occupational license revoked by a board in another state because of negligence or intentional misconduct related to the applicant's work in the occupation.
- 7. did not surrender an occupational license because of negligence or intentional misconduct related to the person's work in the occupation in another state.
- 8. does not have a complaint, allegation, or investigation pending before a board in another state which relates to unprofessional conduct or an alleged crime. If there is an existing complaint, allegation or investigation pending, the board shall not issue or deny a license until the complaint, allegation, or investigation is resolved, or the applicant otherwise satisfies the criteria for licensure in this state to the satisfaction of the board.
 - 9. pays all applicable fees and meets all other requirements for licensure.
- B. The board shall issue a license or license to an applicant who is a member of the military, or an applicant who is married to or is a dependent of a member of the military or United States Department of Defense civilian employee who has been assigned duty in Maine, upon application based on work experience in another state if, upon application to the board, all of the following conditions are satisfied by the applicant:
- 1. worked in a state that does not use an occupational license or governmental certification to regulate a lawful occupation, but the board regulates this lawful occupation with a similar scope of practice.
 - 2. worked for at least three years in the lawful occupation.
- 3. has not had an occupational license revoked by a board in another state because of negligence or intentional misconduct related to the applicant's work in the occupation.
- 4. did not surrender an occupational license because of negligence or intentional misconduct related to the person's work in the occupation in another state.
- 5. does not have a complaint, allegation, or investigation pending before a board in another state which relates to unprofessional conduct or an alleged crime. If there is an existing complaint, allegation, or investigation pending, the board shall not issue or deny a license or license until the complaint, allegation, or investigation is resolved, or the applicant otherwise satisfies the criteria for licensure in this state to the satisfaction of the board.
 - 6. pays all applicable fees and meets all other requirements for licensure.

- C. The board shall issue a license or license to an applicant who is a member of the military or United States Department of Defense civilian employee who has been assigned duty in Maine, or an applicant who is married to or is a dependent of a member of the military or a United States Department of Defense civilian employee based on holding a private certification and work experience in another state if, upon application to the board, all of the following conditions are satisfied by the applicant:
- 1. worked in a state that does not use an occupational license or government certification to regulate a lawful occupation, but that occupation is lawfully regulated by this board through a license or license.
 - 2. has worked for at least two years in the lawful occupation.
 - 3. holds a current and valid private certification in the lawful occupation.
 - 4. the private certification organization holds the applicant in good standing.
- 5. has not had an occupational license revoked by a board in another state because of negligence or intentional misconduct related to the applicant's work in the occupation.
- 6. did not surrender an occupational license because of negligence or intentional misconduct related to the person's work in the occupation in another state.
- 7. does not have a complaint, allegation, or investigation pending before a board in another state which relates to unprofessional conduct or an alleged crime. If there is an existing complaint, allegation or investigation pending, the board shall not issue or deny a license until the complaint, allegation, or investigation is resolved or the applicant otherwise satisfies the criteria for licensure in this state to the satisfaction of the board.
 - 8. pays all applicable fees and meets all other requirements for licensure.
- D. The education, training, or experience requirements for an occupational license issued by the board will be determined by the presentation from the applicant of satisfactory evidence that the applicant received comparable education, training or experience as a member of the United States armed forces or any national guard or other reserve component.
 - E. The applicant will be required to complete the business and law course.
- F. Upon receipt of all required and complete documents, the board will provide the applicant with a written decision regarding the application for an occupational license within 30 calendar days after receiving an application.
 - G. 1. The applicant may appeal any of the following decisions made by the board, in a court of general jurisdiction:
 - a. denial of a license.
 - b. determination of the classification.
 - c. determination of the similarity of the scope or practice of the occupational license issued.
- H. A person who obtains a license or license pursuant to this rule is subject to all laws regulating the occupation in this state and the jurisdiction of this board.
- I. The term "military" means the armed forces of the United States, including the Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Coast Guard, Air Force, and the reserve components thereof, the National Guard of any state, the Military Reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state.
 - J. The term *dependent* means:
 - 1. a resident spouse or resident unmarried child under the age of 21 years;
 - 2. a child who is a student under the age of 24 years and who is financially dependent upon the parent; or
 - 3. a child of any age who is disabled and dependent upon the parent.
- K. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to any applicant receiving a dishonorable discharge or a military spouse whose spouse received a dishonorable discharge.
- L. This Section preempts laws by township, municipal, county and other governments in the state which regulate occupational licenses and government certification.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:3651

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 40:2575 (December 2014), LR 44:2146 (December 2018), LR 47:364 (March 2021).

§131. Ownership of License

- A. The license for which a person becomes the qualifying party belongs to the licensee, a corporate license belongs to the corporation; a partnership license belongs to the partnership; a limited liability company license belongs to the limited liability company, and an individual license belongs to the individual, regardless of the status of the qualifying party of the entity.
- B. A domestic business entity licensed or registered by the board as a limited liability company, business corporation, partnership in commend am, or partnership, that converts under the provisions of R.S. 12:1601 et seq., or is a surviving entity following a merger pursuant to 26 U.S.C. 368(a)(1)(f) where ownership of the entity does not change, shall be recognized by the board without having to file a new application for a license or license. However, prior to updating a license or license of the converted entity or surviving entity, the converted entity or surviving entity must furnish the following information to the board:
 - 1. a copy of the conversion application or act of merger filed with the Secretary of State;
 - 2. a copy of the certificate of conversion or certificate of merger issued by the Secretary of State;
 - 3. the current license or license issued by the board;
- 4. a copy of the revised certificate(s) of insurance in the new name of the converted entity or surviving entity for any coverage required for the issuance of the updated license or license; and
- 5. any revised contract or other agreement required for the issuance of the license or license in the name of the converted entity or surviving entity.
- C. An updated license or license issued pursuant to Subsection B of this Section shall have an effective date retroactive to the effective date of the conversion as stated on the certificate of conversion, or the merger as stated on the certificate of merger.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2153 and R.S. 12:1308.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Commerce, Licensing Board for Contractors, November 1974, amended and promulgated LR 8:136 (March 1982), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:150 (January 2012), LR 40:2575 (December 2014), LR 44:2147 (December 2018).

§133. Name

- A. A person licensed or registered by the board shall bid, contract, and perform work in the name as it appears on the current license or license and the official records of the Licensing Board for Contractors.
- B. If a person licensed or registered by the board enters into a contract with or assigns a contract, or any portion of a contract, for which a license is required to another person, the person to which it is assigned and who performs the work must possess the appropriate current license or license issued by the board. No unlicensed person shall be permitted to assign a contract, or any portion of a contract, in an amount for which a license is required to a person licensed or registered with the board in circumvention of the Contractors Licensing Law.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Commerce, Licensing Board for Contractors, November 1974, amended and promulgated LR 8:137 (March 1982), amended by the Department of Economic Development, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 19:1126 (September 1993), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:149 (January 2012), LR 44:2147 (December 2018).

§135 Contractor's Recordkeeping

A. It shall be the responsibility of each person licensed or registered by the board to maintain current records showing compliance with the licensure requirements for all contracts, subcontracts and subcontractors performing work or providing services on a construction project. Upon request by the board or any employee of the board, such records shall be made available for review and/or copies provided to the board employee in person or by electronic means. The failure to maintain current records or the failure to furnish copies of requested records within 72 hours after receipt of notice requesting production of the records shall constitute a violation of this rule and may result in disciplinary action by the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Commerce, Licensing Board for Contractors, November 1974, amended and

promulgated LR 8:135 (March 1982), amended LR 12:761 (November 1986), amended by the Department of Economic Development, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 16:601 (July 1990), LR 19:1125 (September 1993), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:149 (January 2012), LR 44:2147 (December 2018).

§137. Fee for Licenses

A. The annual fee for licenses for the following year may be set by the board at its July meeting each year. If a new fee is not set, the fee(s) for the prior year shall continue to be in full force and effect until changed by the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Commerce, Licensing Board for Contractors, November 1974, amended and promulgated LR 2:271 (September 1976), amended LR 8:136 (March 1982), LR 10:199 (March 1984), LR 11:341 (April 1985), LR 12:761 (November 1986), amended by the Department of Economic Development, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 19:1128 (September 1993), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:155 (January 2012), LR 44:2147 (December 2018).

CHAPTER 3. CLASSIFICATIONS

§301. Major Classification

A. Any contractor possessing a major classification is permitted to bid or perform any of the specialty type work listed under its respective major classification in R.S. 37:2156.2 or any other work that might not be listed which is directly related to the major classification it may hold as long as it is not prohibited by any rule, except as provided in R.S. 37:2156.2(A)(IX)(B), (C), and (D).

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2164.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 11:340 (April 1985), amended by the Department of Economic Development, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 19:1126 (September 1993), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:149 (January 2012), LR 44:2147 (December 2018).

303. Joint Venture

A. When two or more persons bid as a joint venture on any project in the amount for which a license is required from the board, all parties to the joint venture are required to be licensed by the board at the time the bid is submitted. The joint venture may only perform work within the applicable classifications of the work for which the parties to the joint venture are properly licensed to perform.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2153.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 8:137 (March 1982), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:155 (January 2012), LR 40:2577 (December 2014), LR 44:2148 (December 2018).

§305. Construction Management

- A.1. Any person who performs, attempts to perform, or submits a price, bid or offer to perform work in construction management or program management whose scope of authority and responsibility includes supervision, oversight, direction, or in any manner assuming charge of the construction services provided to an owner by a contractor or contractors, in which the value of the construction project is:
- a. in excess of \$75,000 for a residential construction project must possess a license from this board in the classification of residential building contractor. Any licensed contractor with any of these major classifications shall be able to bid and perform any such project specified for construction and/or program management within the scope of the classification(s) they hold.
- 2. If a construction or program manager whose scope of authority and responsibilities does not include any of the above stated tasks, and who does not subcontract actual construction work, that construction or program manager does not need a contractor's license.
 - B. Any person who violates the provisions of this section may be subject to disciplinary action by the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 41:536 (March 2015),

CHAPTER 5. RESIDENTIAL AND HOME IMPROVEMENT

§501. Definitions

- A. Any person bidding or performing the work of a general contractor on a residential project in the amount for which a license is required must be licensed under the classification *residential building contractor*. This requirement shall not include individuals who build no more than one residence per year for their own personal use as their principal residence.
- B. Any residential building contractor is permitted to bid or perform any of the specialty type work listed under its respective major classification in §503.
- C. "Cost of a project" or "value" of a project or work includes the value of all labor, materials, subcontractors, general overhead and supervision. With respect to modular housing, "cost of the project" shall not include the cost of the component parts of the modular home in the condition each part leaves the factory, in accordance with R.S. 40:1730.71.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Economic Development, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 22:94 (February 1996), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:155 (January 2012), LR 44:2149 (December 2018).

§503. Residential Labor Only

- A. In lieu of obtaining a residential specialty classification required under §503, a person who provides labor only and does not supply materials may obtain a subcontract-labor-only specialty classification for work performed under the direct supervision of a licensed residential building contractor. To obtain such a specialty classification, the subcontractor must:
 - complete and submit the application prescribed by the board for the subcontract-labor-only specialty classification;
- 2. submit an affidavit (on the form prescribed by the board for the subcontract-labor-only specialty classification) that is executed by a licensed residential building contractor who holds at least one contract with the subcontractor and attests to the subcontractor's quality of work and character; and
 - 3. complete the business and law course.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 42:52 (January 2016), amended LR 44:2150 (December 2018).

§505. Home Improvement License

A. Home improvement contractors are required to register with the board in order to perform services when the value of work exceeds \$1,500 but does not exceed \$75,000. Contractors who hold valid residential licenses with the board are exempt from this license requirement. Home improvement contractors are required to submit certificates evidencing workers' compensation coverage in compliance with Title 23 of the *Maine Revised Statutes* of 1950 and proof of general liability insurance in a minimum amount of \$100,000 at the time of application and renewal.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:813 (March 2012), amended LR 40:2577 (December 2014), LR 44:2150 (December 2018).

§507. New Home Warranty Act

- A. Pursuant to M.R.S. 10, a residential contractor shall give the owner written notice of the requirements of the New Home Warranty Act.
- B. Failure to provide such written notice shall be grounds for the residential committee to suspend or revoke the license of the contractor who failed to provide the required notice, subject to the final approval of the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:813 (March 2012),

amended LR 44:2150 (December 2018).

§509. Maintenance of Skills

- A. As provided by R.S. 37:2150 after granting said license, the licensee shall at all times show its ability to serve the public economically, expediently and properly; shall possess the necessary qualifications of responsibility, skill, experience and integrity so that the licensee will not tear down standards of construction established within the industry and shall continue to maintain the qualifications established in R.S. 37:2156.1.
- B. A residential building contractor shall be required to complete a minimum of six hours of continuing education annually by a board approved provider. The residential building contractor shall maintain a copy of a certificate of completion for five years and make the certificate available to the board upon request. A contractor who holds a residential building contractor license shall be exempt from this continuing education requirement.
- A. A residential building contractor who fails to complete the minimum required continuing education classes each year may subject the residential building contractor's license to disciplinary action including suspension or revocation by the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Commerce, Licensing Board for Contractors, November 1974, amended and promulgated LR 8:137 (March 1982), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:150 (January 2012), LR 40:2574 (December 2014), LR 44:2150 (December 2018).

CHAPTER 7. ENFORCEMENT AND HEARINGS

§701. Enforcement of Act and Rules [Formerly §107]

A. The board, pursuant to R.S. 37:2158 and R.S. 37:2161, may bring suit to enjoin violations of the Contractors Licensing Law and these rules and regulations. The executive director and/or his designated agent and/or the legal counsel for the board is hereby authorized to institute such suit on behalf of the board, to sign the verification of any petition, and to take any actions necessary in connection with the institution of such legal proceedings as directed by the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Commerce, Licensing Board for Contractors, November 1974, amended and promulgated LR 8:137 (March 1982), amended by the Department of Economic Development, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 19:1126 (September 1993), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:149 (January 2012), LR 44:2151 (December 2018).

§703. Correction Without Complaint [Formerly §111]

A. If a possible violation is known to the board, the board may correct it or take appropriate action without formal complaint.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2153.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Commerce, Licensing Board for Contractors, November 1974, amended and promulgated LR 8:137 (March 1982), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:149 (January 2012), LR 44:2151 (December 2018).

§707. Bankruptcy [Formerly §115]

- A. It shall be the responsibility of any person licensed or registered by the board who, voluntarily or involuntarily, is subjected to any provision of the laws of bankruptcy, to notify this board immediately and to make available to this board any and all information pertinent thereto.
- B. Any person licensed or registered by the board who is ordered by a competent court to cease operations or whose operations are closed due to operation of any law, shall notify this board immediately and make available to this board any and all information pertinent thereto.
 - C. If a person licensed or registered by the board is ordered by a competent court to pay a final and executory judgment

awarded against the licensed or registered person in the operation of the licensed or registered business, resulting from a claim arising out of the operation of the licensed or registered business, and fails to pay said judgment upon its becoming final and executory, a hearing may be scheduled by the board for the purpose of disciplining the licensee or registrant in accordance with the provisions of the Contractors Licensing Law.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Commerce, Licensing Board for Contractors, November 1974, amended and promulgated LR 8:138 (March 1982), amended by the Department of Economic Development, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 19:1126 (September 1993), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:150 (January 2012), LR 44:2151 (December 2018).

§709. License Revocation and Suspension [Formerly §315]

A. Any person duly licensed or registered under the provisions of the Contractors Licensing Law who violates any provisions of the Contractors Licensing Law or any rule or regulation of the board may, after due hearing, be required to pay fines and costs and have its license or license suspended or revoked by the board. Prior to the board's action on suspension or revocation of licenses as aforesaid, the person licensed or registered by the board shall be given a hearing in accordance with §717 of this Part.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 8:138 (March 1982), amended by the Department of Economic Development, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 19:1126 (September 1993), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:151 (January 2012), LR 44:2152 (December 2018).

§711. Subcontractor License; Default [Formerly §903]

- A. It shall be a violation for any person licensed or registered by the board, owner, awarding authority, or any other person to contract or subcontract all or any portion of work to any other person unless said person was duly licensed by the board as of the final date fixed for the submission of bids on said work from the primary contractor to the owner or awarding authority. This rule shall be subject to the provisions and limitations established by R.S. 37:2156(B) and (D).
- B. If work is subcontracted as per this rule, and the subcontractor should default for any reason, the awarding authority shall have the right to take bids from any person that is properly licensed by the board at the time of the default.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 8:138 (March 1982), amended by the Department of Economic Development, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 19:1128 (September 1993), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:154 (January 2012), LR 44:2152 (December 2018).

§713. Residential Committee Review [Formerly §1507]

- A. The Licensing Board for Contractors Residential Committee has the authority to conduct hearings on alleged violations by residential building contractors, residential specialty contractors, mold remediation contractors and home improvement contractors in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 37:2158.
- B. The Licensing Board for Contractors Residential Committee shall make recommendations to the Contractors Board regarding their findings and determinations as a result of the hearings on said alleged violations.
- C. Any person licensed as a residential building contractor, residential specialty contractor, home improvement contractor, or mold remediation contractor whose alleged violations were heard by the committee and a recommendation rendered, may request to appear at the next regularly scheduled board meeting or at any other board meeting where their alleged violations are brought before the board for final action, and may be given an opportunity to address the board regarding the committee's recommendation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Economic Development, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 22:95 (February 1996), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:156 (January 2012), LR 44:2152 (December 2018).

715. Penalties [Formerly §1509]

- A. The residential committee has the authority to issue, suspend, or revoke residential licenses or license s issued to a residential building contractor and residential specialty contractor subject to the final approval of the Licensing Board for Contractors.
- B. In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 37:2162, the committee shall have the authority to issue a fine not to exceed ten percent of the total contract being performed for each violation, for the causes listed in R.S. 37:2158, subject to final approval by the Licensing Board for Contractors.
- C. In addition to or in lieu of any of the penalties provided in this Chapter, the committee is empowered to issue a cease and desist order. Further, the committee may seek the other civil remedies provided in R.S. 37:2162 for violations of this Chapter, subject to the final approval of the Licensing Board for Contractors.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Economic Development, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR22:95 (February 1996), amended by the Office of the Governor, Licensing Board for Contractors, LR 38:156 (January 2012), LR 40:2577 (December 2014), LR 44:2152 (December 2018).

§717 Hearings [Formerly §701]

- A. Hearings regarding any disciplinary proceedings or any other matters to be considered by the board may be conducted by the board's legal counsel at regular or special meetings whenever deemed necessary and special hearing officers may be hired at the board's discretion. Hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act.
- B. Written notice of the hearing date shall be given to a party who is the subject of a disciplinary proceeding or other matter before the board at least five days prior to such hearings or special meetings. The board members shall be notified at least three days prior to such hearings or special meetings. The notice shall include the time, place and purpose of the hearing or special meeting and may be held at any place within the state.
- C. Confirmation of the written notice to a party who is subject to a disciplinary proceeding or other matter before the board required by this Section may be proved by any one of the following:
 - 1. a signed return receipt of certified or registered mail, confirming delivery and receipt of the notice;
- 2. a signed confirmation by a board employee that actual physical delivery was made to the party, contractor, or agent of the contractor delivered to the address provided to the board by the party or contractor;
 - 3. a confirmation of facsimile transmission to the number provided to the board by the party or contractor;
 - 4. a copy of notice by electronic transmission to the electronic address provided to the board by the party or contractor;
- 5. a printed electronic confirmation of delivery to the party or contractor and/or confirmation of signature from the U.S. Postal Service;
- 6. a written, electronic, or facsimile response to the notice or subpoena provided therewith, from the party, contractor or its representative; or
 - 7. appearance by the party, contractor or its authorized representative at the hearing.
- D. As authorized by R.S. 49:962, the board may hear and decide petitions for declaratory orders and rulings as to the applicability of any statutory authority or of any rule or order of the board. Such orders and rulings shall have the same status as board decisions or orders in adjudicated cases.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:2150-2192.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Commerce, Licensing Board for Contractors, November 1974, amended and promulgated LR 4:69 (March 1978), LR 8:137 (March 1982), amended by the Department of Economic Development.