Testimony of Sara Rademaker, Owner, American Unagi

Neither For Nor Against

L.D. 1286, Resolve, to Establish the Blue Economy Task Force to Support Maine's Emergence as a Center for Blue Economy Innovation and Opportunity in the 21st Century

Dear Senator Curry, Representative Roberts, and Honorable Members of the IDEAB Committee:

My name is Sara Rademaker, owner of American Unagi in Waldoboro, Maine, a company that grows and sells locally sourced, responsibly raised eels. I appear to testify Neither For Nor Against LD 1286.

While I am here to testify on my own behalf, my views are shaped and informed by my role as Co-Chair of SEA Maine, an industry-led initiative bringing together leaders in Maine's commercial fishing, aquaculture, and seafood economy to build a long-term strategy for economic growth, market and workforce development, and greater resiliency in Maine's seafood economy. The effort is funded by the federal EDA with match funding from the Maine Technology Institute and FocusMaine. Our project manager is the Maine Development Foundation; some of you heard about our work from my co-chair Curt Brown on MDF's legislative bus tour. Our final product, a strategic economic development roadmap, should be complete by late fall. The coalition has gathered extensive data and is entering an exciting phase of weaving many elements into a comprehensive shared vision for our sector.

As an individual in Maine's seafood sector and as SEA Maine Co-Chair, I support the idea of greater coordination within Maine's seafood sector and with other marine sectors in order to advance the blue economy in our state. I appreciate the sponsors of LD 1286 for elevating discussion about the sector and its long-term future.

My primary concern – one I've heard echoed in recent days by many SEA Maine colleagues -- is with the overlapping timing and scope of this proposed task force with the SEA Maine roadmap work. I urge you to roll the bill into the second session to be refined. Waiting until the SEA Maine roadmap is complete allows the stakeholders, whose time as industry volunteers is already highly constrained, to complete their work without trying to show up in two parallel, duplicative processes over the next nine months. It also ensures that the SEA Maine roadmap itself can inform the structure and scope of the proposed task force to avoid duplication. I've attached a list of SEA Maine's leadership group and committee structure so you can see its ambitious scope and diverse participation.

We only just became aware of this bill last week. Rolling this bill over into the second regular session, with collaborative refinement by stakeholders this fall, creates some breathing room for SEA Maine to finish its work and for more robust conversations among stakeholders.

I and my colleagues on the SEA Maine project would be delighted to brief the IDEAB Committee and anyone else who would like to learn more about the coalition's work and its anticipated outcomes.

Thank you for your consideration.

SEA Maine Steering Committee

Curt Brown – Co-Chair

Ready Seafood

Sara Rademaker – Co-Chair

American Unagi

Dana O'Brien – Co-applicant

<u>FocusMaine</u>

Brian Whitney – Co-applicant

Maine Technology Institute

Merritt Carey

Consultant

Hugh Reynolds

Greenhead Lobster

George Seaver

Ocean Organics

Andrew Lively

Cooke Seafood

Jennifer Cyr

Bristol Seafood

Liz Johndrow

Atlantic Sea Farms

Dianne Tilton

Downeast Institute

Bill Keleher

Kennebec River Biosciences

Jim Markos

Maine Shellfish

Keith Bisson

Coastal Enterprises, Inc.

Holly Parker

Bowdoin College

Sebastian Belle

Maine Aquaculture Association

Ben Martens

Maine Coast Fishermen's Association

Patrice McCarron

Maine Lobstermen's Association

Annie Tselikis

Maine Lobster Dealer's Association

Peter DelGreco

Maine & Co.

Jonathan Labaree

Gulf of Maine Research Institute

Meredith Mendelson

Maine Dept. of Marine Resources

Charlotte Mace

Maine Dept. Economic & Community Development

Chris Davis

Maine Aquaculture Innovation Center

Jake Ward

University of Maine

James Beaupré

University of Maine

Keri Kaczor

Maine Sea Grant

Annie Langston Noll

Maine Aquaculture Innovation Center

Paul Anderson

Consultant

Christian Brayden

Maine Aquaculture Association

Maine State Delegation

Adam Lachman - Senator King

Scott Wilkinson – Senator King

Christina Breen – Senator King

Chris Rector – Senator King (retired)

Halsey Frank – Senator Collins

Carol Woodcock - Senator Collins

Jeanne Christie – Rep. Pingree

Zach Schmesser – Rep. Golden

SEA Maine Subcommittees

Workforce & Talent Development

Anne Langston Noll (Co-Chair)
Maine Aquaculture Innovation Center

Keri Kaczor (Co-Chair)

Maine Sea Grant

Leo Waterston

Focus Maine

Holly Parker

Bowdoin College

Meggan Dwyer

Aquaculture Research Institute

Carol White

Southern Maine Community College

Jason Judd

Educate Maine

Jake Ward

University of Maine

Yvonne Thomas

<u>Island Institute</u>

Carissa Maurin

Gulf of Maine Research Institute

Annie Tselikis

Maine Lobster Dealers' Association

Lia Morris

Island Institute

Chris Davis

Maine Aquaculture Innovation Center

Nichole Sawyer

Washington County Community College

Dan Belyea

Maine Community College System

Christian Brayden

Maine Aquaculture Association

Armadeep Kahlon

Unity College

Scarlett Tudor

University of Maine

Carol White

SMCC

Marine Resources and Data & Benchmarking

Paul Anderson (Co-Chair)

Maine Center for Coastal Fisheries

Christian Brayden (Co-Chair)

Maine Aquaculture Association

Ben Martens

Maine Coast Fishermen's Association

Curt Brown

Ready Seafood

Meredith Mendleson

Department of Marine Resources

Sam Belknap

Island Institute

Patrice McCarron

Maine Lobstermen's Association

Gayle Zydlewski

Maine Sea Grant

Paul Anderson

Consultant

Carl Wilson

Department of Marine Resources

Market Development

Andrew Lively (Chair)

Cooke Aquaculture

Sebastian Belle

Maine Aquaculture Association

Jesse Baines

Atlantic Sea Farms

Bill Needleman

City of Portland Waterfront

Boe Marsh

Community Shellfish

Jen Levin

Gulf of Maine Sashimi

Brain Langley

Union River Lobster Pot

Maine Lobster Marketing Collaborative

Jeff Nichols

Department of Marine Resources

Ben Coniff

<u>Lukes Lobster</u>

Peter DelGreco

Maine & Co.

Nick Branchina

CEI, Inc.

Sara Radamaker

American Unagi

Heather Sadusky

Maine Sea Grant

Monique Coombs

Maine Coast Fishermen's Association

Janine Bisaillon-Cary

Montserrat Group

Kyle Foley

GMRI

Courtney Cossgrove

Focus Maine

New Opportunities and Emerging Technologies

Jake Ward – Co-Chair James Beaupré – Co-Chair <u>University of Maine</u>

Ashley Pringle

Maine & Co.

Bill Keleher

Kennebec River Bioscience

Chris Davis

Maine Aquaculture Innovation Center

Debbie Bouchard

Aquaculture Research Center

Dianne Tilton

Downeast Institute

David Reidmiller

Gulf of Maine Research Institute

Jared Wildwistle

Gulf of Maine Research Institute

George Seaver

Ocean Organics

Hugh Cowperthwaite

Coastal Enterprises, Inc.

Hugh Reynolds

Greenhead Lobster

Jim Markos

Maine Shellfish

Curt Brown

Ready Seafood

Sebastian Belle

Maine Aquaculture Association

Patrick Arnold

New England Ocean Cluster

Susie Arnold

<u>Island Institute</u>

Communications

Leo Waterston (Chair)

FocusMaine

Ben Martens

Maine Coast Fishermen's Association

Curt Brown

Ready Seafood

Brian Whitney

Maine Technology Institute

Patrice McCarron

Maine Lobstermen's Association

Sebastian Belle

Maine Aquaculture Association

Annie Tselikis

Maine Lobster Dealers Association