State	Applicable Occupations/ Professions	"Shall" Clause	Minimum Experience	Scope of Practice/Practice Level	Equal/ Substantially Equal Requirement	Additional Required Examination	Reciprocity/ Compact Exemption	State Residency Required
Arizona <u>A.R.S. §32-4302</u>	All licensed occupations, except for private investigator and security guard	Yes	1 year	Practice Level Equivalency	No	Yes	Yes	Yes
Colorado <u>HB 20-1326</u>	All licensed occupations regulated by the Division of Professions and Occupations, except for combative sports, electricians, fantasy contests, mortuaries and crematories, nontransplant tissue banks, outfitters and guides, passenger tramways, plumbers, private investigators, direct-entry midwives, surgical assistants and surgical technologists	Yes	Other *	Not specified	Yes	Yes	Yes	No
Florida HB 1193	Building administrator, inspector and plans examiner certifications; home inspector license; barber license; cosmetologist license; architect license; landscape architect license; contractor certification; geologist license; also directs the Department of Business and Professional Regulation to identify additional opportunities for license reciprocity	Yes	Other *	Not specified	Yes or 10 years of experience for most professions	Yes, for some professions; additional courses for some professions	Yes	No
Idaho Idaho Statutes §67-9409	All licensed occupations	Yes	Other *	Scope of Practice Equivalency	No	Yes	Yes	No
<u>Iowa</u> <u>HF 2627</u>	All licensed occupations	Yes	1 year	Scope of Practice Equivalency	No	Yes	Yes	Yes

State	Applicable Occupations/ Professions	"Shall" Clause	Minimum Experience	Scope of Practice/Practice Level	Equal/ Substantially Equal Requirement	Additional Required Examination	Reciprocity/ Compact Exemption	State Residency Required
Missouri <u>HB 2046</u>	All licensed occupations, except for electrical contractor, asbestos worker, boilermaker, bricklayer, carpenter, cement mason, communications technician, electrician, elevator constructor, glazier, ironworker, general laborer, mason, operating engineer, lineman, painter, plumber, roofer, sheet metal worker, sprinkler fitter and truck driver	Yes	1 year	Practice Level Equivalency	No	Yes	Yes	No
Montana Mont. Code Ann. §37-1-304	All licensed occupations	Yes	Not specified	Not specified	Yes	Yes	No	No
Nevada SB 69	All licensed occupations	Yes, with exceptions	Other *	Not specified	Yes	Yes	Yes	No
New Hampshire	All licensed occupations	Yes, with exceptions	Not specified	Scope of Practice Equivalency	Yes	No	Yes	No
New Jersey NJ Rev. Stat. §45:1-7.5	All licensed occupations except for electrician, plumber, real estate and heating, ventilating, air conditioning and refrigeration contractor	Yes	Other *	Scope of Practice Equivalency	Yes or 5 years of work experience	Yes	Yes	No
New Mexico SB 105	All licensed occupations	Yes	Not specified	Not specified	Yes	No	No	No
Pennsylvania P.L. 292, No. 41	All licensed occupations	Yes	Other *	Not specified	Yes	No	Yes	No
Big <td>All licensed occupations</td> <td>Yes</td> <td>Other *</td> <td>Not specified</td> <td>Yes</td> <td>No</td> <td>Yes</td> <td>No</td>	All licensed occupations	Yes	Other *	Not specified	Yes	No	Yes	No

State	Applicable Occupations/ Professions	"Shall" Clause	Minimum Experience	Scope of Practice/Practice Level	Equal/ Substantially Equal Requirement	Additional Required Examination	Reciprocity/ Compact Exemption	State Residency Required
Utah	All licensed occupations	Yes	1 year	Scope of Practice	No	No	Yes	No
Utah Code §58-1-				Equivalency				
<u>302</u>								
Wyoming	All licensed occupations, except	Yes	Other *	Not specified	Yes	Yes	No	No
	for attorney and professions							
<u>SF 0018</u>	with prescriptive drug authority							

Sources: National Conference of State Legislatures, Council of State Governments and state statutes

* Statute requires some other criteria for experience or is determined by the individual licensing authority/board.

Universal Licensure Recognition Policy Features

As shown in the table above, 15 states have enacted universal licensure recognition legislation.

<u>Applicable Occupations/Professions</u> – Fourteen states (AZ, CO, ID, IA, MO, MT, NV, NH, NJ, NM, PA, SD, UT and WY) apply universal licensure recognition policies to all licensed occupations/professions, with five of those states (AZ, CO, MO, NJ, and WY) providing exemptions for certain professions. Florida makes the policy specific to certain professions.

<u>"Shall Clause"</u> – Universal licensure recognition policies require that the proper licensing board/authority "shall" implement the policy or issue a license under the policy, with some exceptions. All 15 states that have enacted universal licensure recognition have "shall" clauses in their universal licensure recognition laws, with two of these states (NV and NH) providing some exceptions.

<u>Minimum Experience</u> – Four states (AZ, IA, MO and UT) require at least one year of experience. Three states (MT, NH and NM) do not specify that any minimum amount of experience is required. Four states (CO, ID, NV and WY) allow the licensing board/authority to determine the minimum experience necessary (if any). Florida allows an applicant to substitute 10 years of experience for the requirement that the licensure requirements in another state be substantially equal to those of Florida. Three states require that an applicant have practiced in the profession within a certain amount of time preceding the date of the application:

- New Jersey mandates that an applicant have "practiced in the profession for which licensure in this state is sought, within the five years prior to the date of the application."
- Pennsylvania and South Dakota require that an applicant must demonstrate competency in the profession or occupation through methods determined by the licensing board, "including having completed continuing education or having experience in the profession or occupation for at least two of the five years preceding the date of the application under this section."

<u>Scope of Practice/Practice Level</u> – Some states include language mandating the license held by an out-of-state applicant be equivalent in the level of practice and/or scope of practice. Seven states (AZ, ID, IA, MO, NH, NJ and UT) include scope of practice and/or practice level equivalency requirements. Idaho also allows an applicant the ability to receive a limited license if the scope of practice comparison contains additional training requirements. Eight states (CO, FL, MT, NV, NM, PA, SD and WY) do not specifically address scope of practice or practice level comparisons.

<u>Equal/Substantially Equal Requirement</u> – Seven states (CO, FL, MT, NV, NH, NJ and WY) stipulate the requirements for licensure in the applicant's "originating" state license must be equal or substantially equal to the "destination" state's licensure requirements (i.e. the state with the universal licensure recognition policy). Discretion for what constitutes "equal or substantially equal" may be left to the licensing board/authority. Florida and New Jersey allow applicants to substitute years of work experience (10 years for FL and 5 years for NJ) for this requirement.

<u>Additional Required Examination</u> – Ten states (AZ, CO, FL, ID, IA, MO, MT, NV, NJ and UT) specifically allow licensing authorities to require additional examination (such as an examination specific to the laws of that state) before a license is granted.

<u>Reciprocity/Compact Exemption</u> – Twelve states (AZ, CO, FL, ID, IA, MO, NV, NH, NJ, PA, SD and UT) exempt reciprocity agreements and/or interstate compacts. Three states (MT, NM and WY) do not specify in their laws if they exempt reciprocity agreements or interstate compacts.

<u>State Residency Required</u> – Two states (AZ and IA) specifically require that an out-of-state licensee establish residence in the new state to receive licensure.