



Phone: 207.430.8300

Fax: 207.430.8301 Toll-Free: 877.207.5073

www.maineccsm.org

## STATEWIDE CONSUMER COUNCIL

April Kerr, Chair

Kandie Cleaves, Vice Chair

Vickie Morgan, Treasurer

Ken Bragg

Monica Elwell

Karen Evans

Brian Harnish

Laurie Hollister

Gordon Maxham

Nancy Michaud

April 15, 2021

Good Afternoon, Senator Claxton, Representative Meyer and esteemed members of the Health and Human Services Committee.

My name is Simonne Maline, I am the Executive Director of the Consumer Council System of Maine (CCSM). I am here today on behalf of the CCSM to testify neither for nor against of LD 582: An Act To Support the Fidelity and Sustainability of Assertive Community Treatment.

The Consumer Council System of Maine is a public instrumentality written into State Statute by the Maine Legislature to serve in an advisory capacity and to provide legislators with guidance and advice regarding the delivery of effective and appropriate adult mental health services from those served by them.

Normally, the CCSM does not weigh in on rate bills. However, we did want to ask that if this rate increase bill goes through that we respectfully ask that Maine ACT teams be required to follow the evidence-based standards for the model. As an example of why this is so important there are a number of ACT teams that do not have a peer support specialist on their teams. We have also seen a job description for this position where requirements are to be a case manager with the title of peer support specialist. This has never been the intent for the role of peer support.

We are including a few links to help with clarifying the scope of this work.

## From Delaware:

https://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dsamh/files/ACTStandards.pdf

From SAMSHA: <a href="https://store.samhsa.gov/product/Assertive-Community-Treatment-ACT-Evidence-Based-Practices-EBP-KIT/SMA08-4344?referer=from\_search\_result">https://store.samhsa.gov/product/Assertive-Community-Treatment-ACT-Evidence-Based-Practices-EBP-KIT/SMA08-4344?referer=from\_search\_result</a>

Thank you for your time and consideration.

## Simonne Maline

**Executive Director**