

Phone: 207.430.8300 Fax: 207.430.8301 Toll-Free: 877.207.5073 www.maineccsm.org

April 12, 2021

Good Afternoon, Senator Claxton, Representative Meyer and esteemed members of the Health and Human Services Committee,

My name is Simonne Maline, I am the Executive Director of the Consumer Council System of Maine (CCSM). I am here today on behalf of the CCSM to testify neither for nor against LD 1147: **Resolve, To Enhance Access to Medication Management for Individuals with Serious and Persistent Mental Illness** 

The Consumer Council System of Maine is a public instrumentality written into State Statute by the Maine Legislature to serve in an advisory capacity and to provide legislators with guidance and advice regarding the delivery of effective and appropriate adult mental health services from those served by them.

The CCSM does not typically weigh in on rate bills. While many of us do have expertise in rates, it is not the primary purpose of the CCSM.

We do want to raise a concern that there is a real shortage of medication management providers in the community. Some people are getting their medications from Primary Care Physicians, but most PCP's do not want to prescribe psychotropic medications. To add to the existing problem, more psychiatrists are scheduled to retire in the next decade at a much faster pace than new doctors are coming into the field.

DHHS is obligated to either provide services themselves or to contract out for these services. Either way, we must create new and innovative ways to attract more doctors to the work. Medication management services are a primary outpatient service that thousands of Mainers choose to access to support their recovery. If these services are not available, people tend to need higher levels of care if their outpatient services cannot meet their needs.

We think the per member per month rate might be at odds with the 3-level tier and the tiered billing system may be the best way to go.

We stand ready to serve if a stakeholder group is formed.

STATEWIDE CONSUMER COUNCIL

> April Kerr, Chair

Kandie Cleaves, Vice Chair

Vickie Morgan, Treasurer

Ken Bragg

Monica Elwell

Karen Evans

Brian Harnish

Laurie Hollister

Gordon Maxham

Nancy Michaud



Thank you for your time and consideration.



**Executive Director** 

