Scot St Hilaire Litchfield LD 1226

Has the committee looked at other states that have added licensing? Did it curved homeowners from getting ripped off? Do they have Uniform code one code for all towns? One state without mention did this that I am aware of and they wound up having to license each contractor by county because they could not confine the codes to just one area of the state. The counties kept changing the rules. What a nightmare for contractors. Do you have contractor police in place to police the license you propose? Who is going to be the one to police it? You cant just add a law and hope that it will work. You must have all areas covered. You do not!

In addition until this state makes it mandatory for all towns to follow Maine code regardless of population and not add their own codes. Licensing will never work. Contractor need a guide to follow no matter what town they operate in. It has to be the same everywhere. Fire departments cant have a code and the town have a code. It has to be one uniform code. Until you pass that legislation a license is merely a piece of paper saying we registered with the state and post bond.

I understand what you are trying to do however, it will not protect consumers as written. As a contractor i am asked daily by client homeowners to avoid permits. I don't do those jobs. I am asked daily to cut corners I don't. How are you going to police homeowners from doing this and protect contractors?

This law for licensing is not well thought out. You believe its ready for law. You cost tax payer a lot of money implementing this and you have to do it over to correct what you missed. That continues to cost tax payers money and does not achieve what you set out to do. It merely brings additional revenue into the state and pushes contractors out of the state as increased pricing, family leave, cost of fuel over other states etc. is already doing. I agree we need to get rid of the riff raft but we need to do it a different way. That way is just mandatory education like the EPA lead certification. I was asked to testify a year or so ago in person. I have no problem with that being a contractor in Maine of 20 years. However, notifying people 24 hours in advance is not going to help anyone but you to pass a law that is incomplete and will cost tax payers money.