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Good afternoon Senator Sanborn, Representative Tepler, and Members of the Committee.  My name 

is Penny Vaillancourt and I am the Executive Director of the Maine Board of Dental Practice.  Thank 

you for the opportunity to provide testimony on LD 1349.   

 

The Board of Dental Practice (“the Board”) is a professional licensing board affiliated with the 

Department of Professional and Financial Regulation (“the DPFR”), and its sole purpose is to protect 

the public health and welfare of Maine citizens.  The Board accomplishes this mission by ensuring 

that the public is served by competent and honest practitioners through its licensure process and 

conducting investigations into allegations of unprofessional conduct. 

 

LD 1349 seeks to amend the Dental Practice Act by adding a practice requirement for individuals 

licensed as a dentist, independent practice dental hygienist and a denturist to provide notice to patients 

of a charge for a procedure, equipment, materials or other measures necessary to protect the health 

and safety of patients and staff during a public health emergency before services are rendered. 

 

If the intent of the bill is to mandate the disclosure of costs associated with a treatment plan to a 

patient, then the Board’s existing regulations achieve that goal.  Board Rules Chapter 12, Section 

(I)(H)(3)(e) applies to any individual licensed by the Board as follows: 

 
Treatment Plan. The patient record shall include a written treatment plan describing in detail 

the proposed treatment. The proposed treatment plan, including alternatives to treatment, and 

information regarding estimated fees must be reviewed with the patient prior to the 

commencement of treatment. The treatment plan shall also include referrals to other 

providers as necessary. If there is no treatment plan this must be explained and documented 

in the patient record. (emphasis added.) 
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However, if the intent of the bill is to mandate the disclosure of business and/or operation costs to 

patients prior to receiving dental services during a public health emergency or other outbreak of 

infectious disease, then the Board offers the following information: 

 

1. The Board does not regulate entities, organizations, corporations or businesses, only 

individuals licensed as dental professionals.  There are a variety of practice settings where 

dental services are provided such as schools, dental and dental hygiene clinics, nursing homes, 

non-profit organizations, corporate and private practices, federal qualifying health centers, 

hospitals, mobile units, etc. to which the Board does not have jurisdiction.  The ability of the 

Board to investigate and enforce disclosure of charges for equipment, materials or other 

measures as contemplated in LD 1349 simply does not exist. 

 

2. During the summer of 2020, the Board received inquiries questioning dental practices that 

were charging an additional fee of $15 to $25 per patient visit to cover the costs associated 

with purchasing personal protective equipment (“PPE”).  The Board inquired with the Bureau 

of Insurance as well as the Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection to determine if there were 

any state laws governing or forbidding such practice.  While there may have been some 

individual insurance companies prohibiting such charges, there appeared not to be any other 

consumer protection laws governing the notice or actual assessment of those costs amid the 

COVID-19 pandemic. 

 

In consideration of the information noted in this testimony, the Board respectfully offers that existing 

regulations are in place to protect dental patients with regarding to costs of treatment plans.  However, 

issues specific to business and operational costs shifted onto consumers amid a pandemic or public 

health emergency might be more appropriate for review as an unfair trade practice subject to 

enforcement by the Office of the Maine Attorney General.  

 

Again, thank you for the opportunity to comment.  I would be happy to answer any questions now or 

attend work session. 

 

 


