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Senator Sanborn, Representative Tepler and esteemed colleagues of the Joint Standing Committee on Health 
Coverage, Insurance and Financial Services:   My name is Rick Bennett, I live in Oxford, and I have the honor of 
representing the beautiful foothills and lakes region of western Maine in the Maine Senate. I am pleased to present 
LD 522, An Act To Cap Interest Rates for Consumer Debt.

Introduction

There are three purposes to this bill.  First, to better align Maine’s consumer interest rate caps with our neighboring 
states. Second, to recalibrate the maximum APRs that can be changed under our statutes to recognize this extended 
and enduring period of historically low interest rates.  Third, to raise awareness of the predatory practices of 
certain players in the dark corners of financial services who sell money at outrageously usurious rate to Mainers in 
distress.

In order to better achieve these ends, I present with my testimony today an amendment to the bill that I ask the 
committee to consider as a substitution for LD 522.  I will review this amendment later in my testimony.

The Problem

If you read through Consumer Financial Protection Bureau complaints1, you will see a lot of anguish and financial 
stress.  You will read about your neighbor who was misinformed, bilked, conned, and abused by unscrupulous 
predator lenders, often when they are in dire personal circumstances as well and most vulnerable to snake oil and 
fine print.  

One Maine resident wrote: “My husband had been working minimal hours, and I was in a very tight place. I 
applied and received my contract - I thought I would be paying around $150.00 a month for 6 months on
a $650.00 loan. Very steep, but I was in a desperate situation. They called it an installment loan, so I assumed that 
they are licensed in Maine, where I live. My plan was to pay the loan back within a two-week time frame. When I 
logged into my account to see what my payoff was, I found that not only did I owe the $650.00, but I also owed 
approximately $190.00 in interest - for two weeks???? So, I looked at my agreement and the payment plan was for

1 https://www.consumerfinance.gov/data-research/consumer-complaints/
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$150.00 biweekly for a 6-month term, which came out to be around $1900.00, for a $650.00 loan!”

Another Maine complained: “I took out a $400.00 loan under the guise of a high interest rate and $120.00 payment 
per pay period but now I am being told the $400.00 payday loan will end up being $1400.00 with interest! Even if 
paid it off early. Right now my total amount due is supposedly $800.00 and that’s $400.00 principal and $400.00 
interest! I have revoked ACH authorization from the group (after reading stories of similar situations) and will be 
happy to settle this matter but not for $1400.00. That has to be illegal.”

The sad truth is that these unscrupulous players are often beyond the reach of this Legislature and our Maine 
regulatory agencies.  They are often tribal lenders, on-line facilities, and dodgy financial business from out of state.  
Thanks to the 1978 Supreme Court case Marquette National Bank of Minneapolis vs. First of Omaha Service 
Corp.,2 states’ usury laws are largely ineffective.  While everyone has a credit card, we have a race to the bottom 
on ethical application of interest rates.

Updating Our Statute

However, this does not mean that Maine policymakers are helpless, and it does not mean that, within the practical 
restraints of our efficacy, we should not review our statutes for currency and comparability.  

Current Maine law allows annual percentage rates (APRs) on consumer loans up to 30% on unpaid balances of the 
amount financed of $2,000 or less; 24% on such amounts between $2,000 and $4,000; and 18% on such amounts 
above $4,000.  While there may be disagreements about the rates, on its face this construction seems sensible.  The 
law also allows for fees on a sliding scale to charge on the amount loaned.  Specifically, $5 may be charged when 
the amount financed does not exceed $75; $15 when the amount financed is between $75 and $250; and $25 when 
the amount is $250 or more.  

Let me take you through an example of how this might work in practice for a borrower and how the so-called 
“minimum” finance charge results in an APR that greatly exceeds 30%:

Loan Amount = $250
Minimum Charge =$25.00
Final Payment due in 10-days = $275.00

Calculation of APR:
$25.00 (equivalent to “finance charge”) accrues in only 10-days. 
Therefore, the “per diem” interest accrual is $25.00 / 10 = $2.50
$2.50 x 365 days a year = $912.50.

$912.50 / $250.00 = 3.65 or 365% APR.

A borrower could receive a similar hypothetical loan that uses the interest-accrual method of calculating the 
finance charge (rather than the flat fee) that results in a similarly high effective APR if instead of a flat finance 
charge using the “minimum charge” the lender sets the interest at the statutory maximum but also adds on a $15 or 
$20 “origination fee” or premium for a “credit insurance policy.”   

2 https://caselaw.findlaw.com/us-supreme-court/439/299.html



Neither illustration contemplates a “rollover” fee, which are common in payday loans and which create an even 
higher effective APR.  Rollover fees might occur when a borrower has a small amount outstanding on a loan from 
their previous pay period, and borrows an additional amount to cover expenses until their next paycheck.

I understand at least two lenders in Maine use the “minimum charge” (i.e. flat fee) on short-term loans in Maine 
that result in triple-figure effective APRs: Republicash and CashNetUSA.  The latter provides helpful disclosure of 
their rates using an online tool on their webpage, that at least gives consumers transparency into what their 
borrowing actually costs.3

To give provide some comparison of how our laws align with other states, consider the following chart from the 
Center for Responsible Lending, predicated on a 14-day payday loan of $300.  Under this scenario, which is not 
atypical, our law puts Maine people in a much more precarious position than most of their neighbors in New 
England.

Substitution for LD 522

The amended language I present to you today as a substitution for the printed version of LD 522 is designed to 
address these problems. Most importantly, it would require that the fees charged would be considered in the 
calculation of the maximum APRs in current existing law. This change would make the caps of 18%, 24% and 

3 https://www.cashnetusa.com/rates-and-terms.html



30% real limits on interest rates.  The amendment would also exclude Maine chartered or supervised financial 
organizations, such as community banks and credit unions.  

As the committee works this bill, I would also ask you to consider adjusting downward the APR caps to 15%, 20% 
and 25%, respectively.  This would further put Maine law in alignment with our other northeastern U.S. neighbors 
while acknowledging that interest rates throughout the country are and have been for many years at historic lows.

I ask for your favorable consideration and thank you for your attention.



SUBSTITUTION AMENDMENT

L.D. 522
An Act To Cap Interest Rates for Consumer Debt

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

Sec. 1.  9-A MRSA §2-701, is hereby enacted to read:
A finance charge on any consumer credit transaction subject to Article 2, Title 
9-A of the Maine Revised Statutes is inclusive of any ancillary product or 
service and any other charge or fee incident to the consumer credit transaction. 

Sec. 2. 9-A MRSA §2-702, is hereby enacted to read:
No entity covered by this Section shall engage in any device, subterfuge, or 
pretense to evade the requirements of this subsection including, but not 
limited to, making loans disguised as a personal property sale and leaseback 
transaction; disguising loan proceeds as a cash rebate for the pretextual 
installment sale of goods or services; or making, offering, assisting, or 
arranging a debtor to obtain a loan with a greater rate or interest, 
consideration, or charge than is permitted by this Article through any 
method.

Any loan made in violation of this subsection is void and uncollectible as to 
any principal, fee, interest, or charge.

Sec. 3. 9-A MRSA §2-703 is hereby enacted to read:
The provisions set forth in this section shall not apply to a supervised 
financial organization as defined in Title 9-A, section 1-301, subsection 
38-A; a financial institution holding company as defined in Title 9-B, 
section 1011, subsection 1; a mutual holding company as defined in Title 
9-B, section 1052, subsection 2; a credit union service organization as 
defined in 12 Code of Federal Regulations, Section 712.1; or a subsidiary of 
a supervised financial organization, financial institution holding company, 
mutual holding company or credit union service organization; or the Maine 
State Housing Authority.


