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TESTIMONY IN SUPPORT OF
L.D. 1188

AN ACT TO INCLUDE LIBRARIANS AND CAREER AND TECHNICAL EDUCATION
TEACHERS IN THE MINIMUM $40,000 SALARY INITIATIVE

Senator Rafferty, Representative Brennan and members of the Education and Cultural Affairs Committee. |
am Eileen King, deputy executive director of Maine School Management Association, testifying on behalf of
the legidative committees of the Maine School Boards Association and Maine School Superintendents
Association in support of L.D. 1188.

School Boards and superintendents support this bill because both professional groups are an essential part of
Maine' s education system. Both also have certification requirements under Maine's Certification rules,
Chapter 115. Those requirements are attached to our testimony.

They open new worlds to students, supporting their interests and providing them with the tools, training, and
source material to facilitate their learning.

We believe both groups are essential to quality education in Maine and should be paid accordingly under the
minimum teacher salary law. That law, as most of you will recall, allowed for aramp up to $40,000 in three
steps, starting in 2020-21 and completed in 2022-23.

Steven W. Bailey Eileen E. King
MSBA Executive Director MSSA Executive Director



(New Regulation Effective 5.14.14)

3.1 Endorsement: Secondary Career and Technical Education Teacher

A. Function: This endorsement on a teacher certificate allows the holder to teach career and technical
subjects, grades 9 through 12 at career and technical centers, at career and technical regions, or at a
career and technical satellite program in one or more of the available Maine career and technical

endorsement areas listed:

879 Agricultural Mechanics
870 Agricultural Production
895 Allied Health *

851 Architectural Drafting
805 Automotive Mechanics
808 Automotive Body Repair
816 Brick Block Stone Mason
838 Building Maintenance

898 Business Administrator Management

810 Carpentry

893 Child Care Guidance

860 Coop Industrial Training

885 Commercial Art

861 Commercial Fishing

824 Computer Console Operator
823 Computer Information Services
809 Diesel Engine Mechanic

852 Drafting General

825 Electrical Electronics

820 Electrician *

803 Firefighter/EMT

891 Food Production Management

871 Forestry Product/Procedures

* Requires appropriate Maine licenses.

840 Graphic Print Commercial
843 Heat Air Conditioning & Refrigeration*
897 Home Health Aide

872 Horticulture General

849 Law Enforcement

830 Machine Tool Operator/Shop
811 Marine Maintenance

880 Marketing & Distribution

833 Metal Fabrication

896 Nursing Assistant *

874 Parks & Recreation

847 Plumbing *

831 Precision Metal General

837 Precision Metal Other

873 Renewable Natural Resources
862 Sailors & Deck Hands

835 Sheet Metal

813 Small Engine Repair

806 Truck/Bus Driving *

807 Vehicle Equipment Operator
899 Ward Clerk

836 Weld/Blaze/Solder

925 Fine Arts — Music/Theater/Dance
926 Fine Arts — Visual Arts

Additional endorsements shall be added to this list without further rule-making proceedings as new trade areas are added
to the Classification of Instructional Programs promulgated by the National Center for Education Statistics in the Office
of Educational Research and Improvement in the U.S. Department of Education.



B. Eligibility: Applicants shall meet eligibility requirements specified in Part 1. In addition, eligibility for
this endorsement shall be established by one of five pathways. Individuals who are not eligible through
any of these pathways may be eligible for a conditional certificate, in accordance with Section 3.1.B.7,
below, and Part I Section 5.4 of this rule.

1. Requirements for all Pathways:

(a) Where applicable, hold a valid Maine certificate or license as required by State law or rule to
practice the craft or trade to be taught; and

(b) Hold an industry recognized credential or passed an industry-related assessment in the
endorsement area for which a license or credential is not available; and

(c) For each endorsement, completed a minimum of one year of paid applied employment or
teaching in the endorsement area during the five years preceding the initial application; and

(d) Completed an approved course for “Teaching Exceptional Students in the Regular Classroom”
during the first year of the conditional certificate; and

(e) Met the cut score on the Basic Skills Test in reading, writing, and mathematics, in accordance
with Maine Department of Education Regulation 13; and

(f) Provided demonstration of pedagogical knowledge and skills at the secondary Career and
Technical Education level through one of the following:

1. Passed a pedagogical knowledge and skills assessment within the first full year of
employment in accordance with Maine Department of Education Regulation 13*

OR
2. During the three conditional certificates, complete a sequence of four approved
pedagogical courses from an accredited institution. The courses will cover:

Curriculum and Instruction,

Assessment,

CTE Shop Safety and Classroom/Lab Management, and
Literacy in CTE.

* Applicants issued a certificate in any CTE endorsement area must meet the
course requirements outlined in section f.2 above beginning September 1, 2015.

All applicants who have continuously held a conditional certificate initially issued prior to
August 31, 2015 may meet the requirement outlined in section f above through either f.1 or
f.2.

(g) Completed within the first year of teaching an approved “CTE orientation” program

(h) Satisfied one of the following five routes by documenting that one of the following
combinations of learning, paid applied employment, or teaching in the endorsement area has
been completed.



. Endorsement Eligibility Pathway 1

(a) Earned a bachelor's degree from an accredited institution, in accordance with Part I Section
4.4 of this rule, with a minimum of 24 semester hours specifically applicable to the
endorsement area; and

(b) Completed a minimum of 24 months (4,000 hours) of paid applied employment or teaching in
the endorsement area being sought.

. Endorsement Eligibility Pathway 2

(a) Completed an apprenticeship registered with either the Maine State Apprenticeship and
Training Council, a similar agency within this State or from another State, or the Federal
Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training; and

(b) Completed a minimum of 36 months (6,000 hours) of paid applied employment or teaching
in the endorsement area being sought.

. Endorsement Eligibility Pathway 3

(a) Completed a two-year degree or certificate in the endorsement area from a technical
institution accredited in accordance with Part I Section 4.4 of this rule or an institution
accredited by the National Association of Career and Technical Schools; and

(b) Completed a minimum of 36 months (6,000 hours) of paid applied employment or teaching in
the endorsement area being sought.

. Endorsement Eligibility Pathway 4
(a) Earned a high school diploma or GED;

(b) Completed a minimum of 24 semester hours directly related to the endorsement area from an
accredited college or university, in accordance with Part I Section 4.4 of this rule. Courses
offered by industry or the armed forces may be evaluated by the Commissioner for
appropriate crediting under this subparagraph; and

(c) Completed a minimum of 48 months (8,000 hours) of paid applied employment or teaching in
the endorsement area being sought.

. Endorsement Eligibility Pathway 5
(a) Earned a high school diploma or GED;

(b) Completed a minimum of 36 months (6,000 hours) of paid experience learning the trade or
craft for which the endorsement is sought; and

(c) Completed a minimum of an additional 36 months (6,000 hours) of paid applied employment
or teaching in the endorsement area being sought.

. Conditional Certificate for this Endorsement

An applicant who satisfies the requirements set forth in Sections 3.1.B.2, 3.1.B.3, 3.1.B 4,
3.1.B.5, or 3.1.B.6, above, may obtain a conditional certificate while working toward the
requirements of Section 3.1.B.1, above.



1.11 Certificate 071: Library Media Specialist

A. Function: This certificate allows the holder to serve as a library media specialist
kindergarten through grade 12.

B. Eligibility: Applicants shall meet eligibility requirements specified in Part I. In addition,
eligibility for this certificate shall be established by one of three pathways. Individuals who
are not eligible through any of these pathways may be eligible for a conditional certificate,
in accordance with Section 1.11.B.4, below, and Part I Section 5.4 of this rule.

1. Certificate Eligibility Pathway 1

(a) Graduated from a Maine program approved for school library science, together with
a formal recommendation from the preparing institution;

(b) Earned a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university, in accordance
with Part I Section 4.4 of this rule;

(c) Completed an approved course for “Teaching Exceptional Students in the Regular
Classroom”; and

(d) Passed content area assessment, in accordance with Me. Dept. of Ed. Reg. 13.
2. Certificate Eligibility Pathway 2

(a) Earned a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university, in accordance
with Part I Section 4.4 of this rule;

(b) Completed a minimum of 36 semester hours of graduate study in library science
coursework;

(c) Completed an approved course for “Teaching Exceptional Students in the Regular
Classroom”;

(d) Passed content area assessment, in accordance with Me. Dept. of Ed. Reg. 13; and

(e) Passed pedagogical knowledge and skills assessment at the appropriate grade level,
in accordance with Me. Dept. of Ed. Reg. 13, or successful of an alternative
professional studies program.

3. Certificate Eligibility Pathway 3

(a) Earned a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university, in accordance
with Part I Section 4.4 of this rule;

(b) Holds a valid Maine provisional or professional teaching certificate;

(c) Completed a minimum of 36 semester hours of graduate study in library science
coursework;

(d) Completed an approved course for “Teaching Exceptional Students in the Regular
Classroom”; and

(e) Passed content area assessment, in accordance with Me. Dept. of Ed. Reg. 13.

4. Eligibility for a conditional certificate shall be established by one of two pathways:



(a) Conditional Pathway 1

i. Earned a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university, in
accordance with Part I Section 4.4 of this rule; and

1. Completed a minimum of 36 semester hours of graduate study in library science
coursework.

(b) Conditional Pathway 2

i. Earned a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university, in
accordance with Part I Section 4.4 of this rule;

ii. Holds a valid Maine provisional or professional teaching certificate; and

iii. Completed a minimum of six semester hours of graduate study in library science
coursework.



