Martin Malia Westbrook LD 60

I am writing in opposition to LD 60, an act to require a 72- hour waiting period after the sale of a firearm. There is no reason to impose a 72 hour waiting period after the sale of a firearm. Most firearms are sold after the buyer passes an instant background check conducted by a federally licensed firearms dealer. A 72 hour waiting period would change nothing. The 72 hour waiting period could require multiple visits to a dealer which would burden low income individuals with unnecessary time and transportation costs. LD 60 exempts individuals who work in certain professions. Most people in these professions are law abiding just like most gun owners but not everyone. A quick internet search of the Maine arrest history of individuals in these professions reveals many examples.

The average Maine citizen trying to exercise their civil rights should be held to the same standard of access as anyone else. LD 60 is an unnecessary burden and ought not to pass.