State	Law	Local # of	f Depts	Tot. Vol. Depts.	Part.%	Funding	Type	DBMonthy	DCAnnual	Notes
			·			J	,.			Statewide LOSAP legislation rejected two years ago. Only one volunteer fire department in all of Alabama has established a pension program. State passed annuity plan then declared it null
Alabama	NO	NO*	0	829	0.0%					and void. Funding has been the major issue.
Alaska	NO	NO	0	73	0.0%					
Arizona	YES	YES	9	166	5.4%	LM, ST/IPT	DB	\$200		Benefit is \$200 per month at 20 years of service and age 60 or at 25 years of service. Two percent insurance premium tax proceeds are added to volunteer retirement pension fund.
Arkansas	YES	YES	300	800	37.5%	LM	DB	\$5 x YSC		Payments begin at 55 years of age with 20 years of credited service; age 60 and with at least five years of credited service; at any age with 28 years credited service. The maximum benefit for volunteer service is approximately \$120 per month. This program is part of the local police and fire retirement system.
California		YES	60	545	11.0%		DB	\$100		No caps are placed on the amount a volunteer pension fund can pay its members. Benefits range from \$100 per month for life. Benefit is reduced proportionally for less than 20 years service. In addition, there is as much as 50% more supplemental payments actuarially determined and based upon available funds.
Colorado	YES	YES	30	300	10.0%	State	DB	\$300		Benefit is \$300 month with 20 years of service.
Connecticut	VES	YES	146	240	60.8%	LM	BOTH	\$5-\$20	\$250-\$1400	The Connecticut LOSAP laws allows local municipalities to fund LOSAPs. The local municipalities can choose between DB or DC plans.
Delaware Florida	YES	YES NO*	59	59 436		VOL & ST.		\$5 x YSC	<u> </u>	Vesting: 100% with 10 years of service. Maximum number of years of service credit is 25. Must reach 60 with 10 years credit. Each fire company pays into the pension plan an actuarial defined amount yearly for each member they place on the pension roles.
Georgia	YES	YES	10	493	2.0%	VOL & IPT	DB	\$15 + 1%		An intricate, voluntary-dues and insurance-premium tax funded program that up until July 2000 was only offered to volunteer and paid firefighters of specific fire department classes. All participating firefighters contribute \$15 monthly. The program, which has been in existence since 1955, also receives a fraction of the 1% in-state annual insurance premium taxes. A participant may begin to be paid at age 55 with 25 years of pension service credit and receive a full service pension of \$754 per month. Firefighters with 15 years of service credit a reduced pension at age 55.
Hawaii		NO	0	2	0.0%					
Idaho	NO	NO	0	243	0.0%					

State	Law	Local	# of Depts	Tot. Vol. Depts.	Part.%	Funding	Type	DBMonthy	DCAnnual	Notes
										After being rejected on more than one occasion in the past,
										representatives are hoping to move forward in 2003 with enabling
Illinois	NO	NO	0	741	0.0%					state LOSAP legislation.
Indiana	NO	YES	28	346	8.1%					No specific parameters could be found.
										As of December 2002, the number one recommendation from
										lowa's task force on recruiting and retaining volunteers was that
										the state should authorize a LOSAP. Currently firefighter
										representatives are drafting legislation patterned off the
lowa	NO	NO	0	729	0.0%					Wisconsin plan.
										Two percent insurance premium tax proceeds are allocated to the
										fire departments who fund their own programs. Guidelines of the
Kansas		YES	74			ST/IPT	BOTH		N/A	plan vary.
Kentucky	NO	YES	32		4.1%	LM	DB	\$100-\$400		Mostly defined benefit plans each with different requirements.
Louisiana	NO	NO	0	477	100.0%					
										State commission is currently studying options and designing a
										defined benefit plan to be proposed to state legislature for
Maine	NO	NO	0	363	0.0%					enactment into state law.
										The LOSAP program in Maryland is a county, municipal or
										volunteer-supported program. At present, 15 counties, two
										municipalities and two fire companies administer programs. Each
Maryland		YES	282			VARIOUS	DB	\$75-\$400		program has different criteria and different funding methods.
Massachusetts		NO	0		0.0%					
Michigan	NO	NO*	0	554	0.0%					
										Minnesota has the oldest program in the country and it is funded
										by 2% Fire Insurance Premium tax. The program is set up for
										retirement at 55 years of age with 25+ years of service with
										reduced retirement annuity at age 55 with 10 or more years of
M:	VEC	VEC	750	000	00.00/	OT/INIC	DOTL	#400 #000		service. Full retirement is \$200 per month. Reduced retirement is
Minnesota		YES NO	750		93.8%	ST/INS.	BOTH	\$100-\$200		\$100 per month.  Currently in the process of presenting legislation.
Mississippi	NO	NO	0	595	0.0%					Currently in the process of presenting legislation.
Missouri	NO	NO	0	692	0.0%					Sources say that the larger departments are considering LOSAPs.
IVIISSOUTI	INO	INO	U	092	0.076					Volunteer Firefighters Compensation Act offers pension after 20
										years credited service, entitlement age of 55 years and monthly
										lifetime payment of \$150. Five percent insurance premium tax is
										used as a source of funding. To receive a reduced pension, a
										member must have at least 10 years of service and be at least 60
Montana	YES	YES	200	229	87 3%	STATE/IPT	DB	\$100-\$150		years of age.
IVIOIIIAIIA	1 _ 0	1 2 0	200	229	01.070	OTATE/III I	טט	ψ100-ψ100		State statue authorizes local funding, but fire departments have
										yet to come up with the funding. Entitlement age is 65 with at
Nebraska	YES		0	464	0.0%		вотн			least 10 years of service credit.

State	Law	Local # of Dep	ts T	ot. Vol. Depts.	Part.%	Funding	Type	DBMonthy	DCAnnual	Notes
Nevada	YES	YES	3	122	2.5%	LM	DB	\$750		Part of the Public Retirement System where volunteers receive lifetime payments of \$375 per month after 20 years with proportionally greater payments for those with 20+ years service credit.
New Hampshire	YES	NO	0	180	0.0%	LM & VOL.	DC		\$300 + \$60	Although state law was enacted and became effective in 1998, the program has not yet been made available to local municipalities by the Length of Service Awards Committee. State legislation states that the sponsor must contribute a minimum of \$300 per member annually and the member must contribute \$60 per year. Entitlement age is 60 years old and completion of 20+ years service credit. No additional benefits accrued after 20 years credited service. Vesting: 20% after five years to 100% after 10 years.
New Hamponic	TLO			100	0.070	LIVI Q VOL.	БО		Ψοσο : ψοσ	A total of 35,000 certified firefighters in New Jersey with 700 out of 750 fire departments are staffed by volunteers. Amount is set between \$100 and \$1150 annually and adjusted according to
New Jersey	YES	YES 2	05	700	29.3%	LM	DC		\$100-\$1150	change in the CPI.
									7.55 7.55	Payment is \$200/month with 25 years vesting service credit; \$100/month for those with 10 years service credit. Entitlement age is 55 years. Program is funded by the state's annual
New Mexico	YES	YES 3	73	373	100.0%	ST/IPT	DB	\$100-\$200		\$750,000 contribution to the Fire Protection Fund.
New York	YES	VES 6	62	1740	38.0%	I M	B∩TH	\$5-\$20	\$120-\$480	LOSAP state legislation adopted in 1988. Payments may commence as early as 55 or as late as 65. Most emergency service organizations with a service award program have a defined benefit plan.
North Carolina		NO NO	0	1164	0.0%	LIVI	БОПП	φυ-φΖυ	φ120-φ400	defined benefit plan.
North Dakota	NO		0	384	0.0%					
Ohio	YES		1	1044	0.1%	LM	Other			Ohio has legislation in place but only one plan is set up in the entire state. Complicated plan where benefit is based on pay-per-call compensation and the number of years of service in the department.
Oblahama			40				DD	#C 00 VO		All volunteer fire departments and combination paid/volunteer fire departments must be members of the LOSAP system with the exception of those volunteer departments who service unincorporated areas of the state. Vesting: 100% after 10 years.
Oklahoma	YES		46	680		VARIOUS	DB	\$6.69 x YS		Maximum service credit is 30 years.
Oregon	NO NO		40 10	300 2121	13.3%	VARIOUS	DC BOTH	\$5-\$20	\$600-\$5000	Entitlement age: 50-62 yrs. Vesting: four different options.
Pennsylvania Rhode Island		NO*	0	53	0.0%		БОТП	φυ-φ∠υ	\$100-\$500	Pennsylvania is close to establishing LOSAP legislation.
	NO		50	700		ST/IPT	DC		\$100-\$1000	The state uses 100% of 2% monies (2% of fire premium tax).
		NO S	50	327	0.0%		00		φ100-φ1000	The state ascertions of 270 montes (270 of the premium tax).

State	Law	Local # of	Depts	Tot. Vol. Depts.	Part.%	Funding	Type	DBMonthy	DCAnnual	Notes
Tennessee	NO	YES	10	650	1.5%	LM	DB	\$10 x YSC		President of the state fire chief's association believes in a unique point-system structure designed so that volunteers must contribute to all aspects of the fire department.
Texas	YES	YES	154	1542	10.0%	LM	DB	\$25-\$72		At age 55 with 15 years qualified service, a member is eligible for a monthly lifetime payment ranging from \$25-\$72. For each qualifying year a member stays in a pension system after the 15 years required for full payment, the member's payment increases 7 percent compounded annually. A member will be vested and be paid a reduced amount at age 55 with as little as five qualifying years in the system.
										Representatives are preparing to propose LOSAP legislation to
Utah	NO	NO*	0	243	0.0%					the state.
Vermont	NO	NO	0	218	0.0%					
Virginia	YES	NO	0	594	0.0%	LM				
Washington	YES	YES	380	440	86.4%	ST/ITP	DB	30		Minimum requirement for vesting is 10 years service and one payment into fund. A maximum \$280 per month is paid with 25 years of service and 25 beginning at age 65. The base pension is \$30 plus \$10 for each year credited service.
West Virginia	NO	NO	0	420	0.0%					
Wisconsin	YES	YES	114	772	14.8%	LM & ST	DC			Eligible participants are fully vested after 20 years of service and reach age 60 and partially vested after 10 years of service but less than 20 years. The state does match up to \$250 contributed on behalf of a volunteer, and the \$250 amount is adjusted annually to reflect changes in the U.S. Consumer Price Ind
Wyoming	YES	YES	94	94	100.0%	VARIOUS	DB	\$100-\$583		Wyoming offers a defined benefit plan with payments beginning as early as age 60. The payment beginning date and the payment amount depend upon age, years of service, etc. Funding sources include the state and a percentage of insurance premium taxes, as well as a monthly volunteer contribution that in most cases comes from the department.

NATIONAL 5222 26912 19.4%