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February 16, 2021

Senator Susan Deschambault

Representative Charlotte Warren

Committee on Criminal Justice & Public Safety
100 State House Station Room 436

Augusta, ME 04330

RE: LD 369 — An Act to Criminalize Recording an Incident in Progress but
Failing to Report the Incident Immediately to the Appropriate Authority

Dear Senator Deschambault, Representative Warren and Members of the Criminal
Justice and Public Safety Committee:

MACDL opposes LD 369.

It is difficult to understand where this bill is coming from. As it stands now, every
person in the United States is freely allowed to record an “incident in progress” that
might involve criminal activity, and they are under no obligation to do anything with
that recording.

Other than in very limited circumstances, there has never been a requirement in Maine
law that affirmatively requires that a person report criminal activity which is just what
this bill is trying to do. There is no general “Good Samaritan” requirement in Maine
law, and for good reason: forcing individuals to take certain actions that they are
otherwise not required to do is a violation of the Maine Constitution as well as the
United States Constitution.

This is a very classic “Big Brother” bill. Countries of old who were ruled by dictators
who encouraged reporting on one’s neighbors had laws just like this and it created a
system of fear that tore through the core of those societies. Indeed, failing to provide
information to the State as required in this bill would result in a conviction of a Class
E crime which carries with it a sentence of up to 180 days in jail.

The few laws on the books that require people to affirmatively report a crime involve
narrow situations where the person is actually involved in the event such as those who
are involved in accidents who have to report them by quickest means, or to remain at
the scene of an accident and provide information to another person involved. Other
affirmative reporting requirements involve those who are mandatory reporters and
their obligation to report child abuse.

But this bill is a far cry from the few situations where someone has to report a car
accident, or must report child abuse. This bill requires that unless a person
immediately reports that they recorded what could be a crime they can be sent to jail



for up to 6 months.

The upshot of this bill is that people will be encouraged to never record an incident
that might involve a crime, because they could go to jail unless they report the

recording. This bill will result in less recording, which would be an unfortunate result
when recording of criminal incidents has so often furthered the pursuit of the truth
about what did or did not happen.

Additionally, as this law is written, a person who has a recording of a crime in which
they were involved would be forced to provide that recording to law enforcement,
even though they had the absolute constitutional right not to do so. This bill requires
self-incrimination and would be flatly unconstitutional for that reason alone.

Thank you for the opportunity to address this issue.

Sincerghy,

Walter F. McKee
Chair, Legislative Committee



