§426. Savings deposits or accounts: written notice of withdrawal

1. Withdrawal notice may be required. A financial institution may at any time, by resolution of its governing body, require written notice by a savings depositor not to exceed 90 days prior to the repayment of deposits or accounts, or may require similar notice before repaying deposits in excess of \$50, or certain classes of savings deposits or accounts.

[PL 1997, c. 398, Pt. I, §18 (AMD).]

2. Deposit not payable during waiting period. In the event such notice is required, no such deposit or account shall be due or payable during the required period after the notice shall have been given. If not withdrawn within 15 days after the expiration of the required period following notice, such deposit or account shall not be due and payable under that notice.

[PL 1975, c. 500, §1 (NEW).]

3. Deposits prior to expiration of waiting period. The institution may receive any deposit or deposits before expiration of the required period, subject to such regulations as may be imposed by the superintendent.

[PL 1975, c. 500, §1 (NEW).]

4. Interest earned until actual withdrawal. The written notice of withdrawal required pursuant to this section does not constitute a withdrawal from the deposit or account until the amounts noticed have been actually withdrawn by the depositor giving such written notice, and interest is earned on these amounts for the period prior to actual withdrawal.

[PL 1997, c. 398, Pt. I, §18 (AMD).]

5. Exception.

[PL 1997, c. 398, Pt. I, §19 (RP).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1975, c. 500, §1 (NEW). PL 1997, c. 398, §§118,19 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.