§11-113. Reinstatement

- 1. A consumer who fails to make a timely rental payment but has returned or surrendered the rental property to the merchant within 7 days after missing a payment or within 2 business days of the merchant's request, whichever comes later, may reinstate the agreement without losing any rights or options that exist under the agreement by payment of:
 - A. All past due rental charges; and [PL 1991, c. 787 (NEW).]
 - B. Other charges expressly provided in this Article, except any initial administrative fee. [PL 2001, c. 287, §13 (AMD).]

```
[PL 2001, c. 287, §13 (AMD).]
2.
[PL 2001, c. 287, §13 (RP).]
3
```

[PL 2001, c. 287, §13 (RP).]

4. A consumer who has returned or surrendered the rental property within the reinstatement period set forth in subsection 1 may reinstate the agreement during a period of not less than 180 days after the date of the missed payment.

[PL 2001, c. 287, §13 (AMD).]

- 5. Nothing in this section prevents a merchant from attempting to repossess property during the reinstatement period, but such a repossession does not affect the consumer's right to reinstate. [PL 1991, c. 787 (NEW).]
- **6.** Upon reinstatement, the merchant shall provide the consumer with the same property or substitute property of comparable quality and condition.

[PL 1991, c. 787 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1991, c. 787 (NEW). PL 2001, c. 287, §13 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.