## §1031. Age limit on slot machine and table game use; access by minors; credit prohibited

1. Minimum age. A slot machine operator or casino operator may not permit a person under 21 years of age to play a slot machine or table game. [IB 2009, c. 2, §39 (AMD).]

**2.** Placement of slot machines and table games. A slot machine operator, casino operator, slot machine distributor, table game distributor or gambling services vendor shall prohibit persons under 21 years of age from any area in which a slot machine or table game is located, except that a person 18 to 20 years of age may be present if that person is a licensed employee under section 1015. [IB 2009, c. 2, §39 (AMD).]

**3.** Credit prohibited. A slot machine operator or casino operator may not allow the use of a credit card or debit card by a person to play a slot machine or table game. [IB 2009, c. 2, §39 (AMD).]

4. Table game wagering. Each table game must be equipped with a sign indicating the permissible minimum and maximum wagers pertaining to that table game. A casino operator may not require any wager to be greater than the stated minimum or less than the stated maximum, and any wager actually made by a patron and not rejected by a casino operator prior to the commencement of play must be treated as a valid wager.

[IB 2009, c. 2, §39 (NEW).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 687, §A5 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 687, §B11 (AFF). IB 2009, c. 2, §39 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.