
Maine Revised Statutes

Title 7: AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS

Chapter 404: ARBORIST LICENSING

§2171. LICENSE REQUIRED; FEE; VIOLATIONS
A person, firm or corporation may not engage in or continue in the business of selling or dealing in

nursery stock, as defined in section 2211, without first obtaining a license to conduct such business in this
State. The State Horticulturist shall prescribe the form of the license. Upon proper application, a license must
be issued in the name of the nursery owner or dealer and that license may not be transferred. Each agent and
each store acting under a general agent or store must have a license as provided in this section. A license may
be issued for a one-year, 2-year or 3-year period and expires on December 31st of the year the period ends.
Licenses for a period in excess of one year may only be issued with the agreement of or at the request of the
applicant. The fee for a 2-year license is 2 times the annual fee. The fee for a 3-year license is 3 times the
annual fee. [2001, c. 299, §2 (AMD).]

1. Fees. 

[ 1999, c. 790, Pt. A, §4 (AMD);  T. 7, §2171, sub-§1 (RP) .]

1-A. Fees established by rule.  The Commissioner of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry shall
adopt rules in accordance with Title 5, chapter 375 to establish fees for licenses issued under this section.
Rules adopted pursuant to this subsection are major substantive rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375,
subchapter 2-A.

[ 2013, c. 405, Pt. D, §4 (AMD) .]

2. Violations.  Any person, firm or corporation engaged in the business of selling nursery stock without
a license commits a civil violation for which a forfeiture not to exceed $500 may be adjudged. Licenses
may be revoked by the District Court, as provided in the Maine Administrative Procedure Act, for failure to
comply with the requirements of chapter 405-A.

[ 1999, c. 547, Pt. B, §78 (AMD);  1999, c. 547, Pt. B, §80 (AFF);  1999,
c. 790, Pt. A, §7 (AMD) .]
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