§584-C. Establishment of ambient increments -- Class II regions

In addition to the ambient air quality standards set forth in section 584-A, any Class II region or part thereof within the State is subject to a maximum allowable increase in concentration of particulate matter, sulfur dioxide and nitrogen oxides over the baseline concentration of that pollutant. An increase shall not be exceeded more than once annually for any period other than an annual period. The maximum allowable increase consists of: [PL 1989, c. 860, §3 (AMD).]

- 1. PM10. In regards to PM10:
- A. An increase in the annual arithmetic mean at any location not to exceed 17 micrograms per cubic meter; and [PL 1995, c. 493, §13 (AMD).]
- B. An increase in concentration for any 24-hour period at any location not to exceed 30 micrograms per cubic meter; [PL 1995, c. 493, §13 (AMD).]

[PL 1995, c. 493, §13 (AMD).]

- **2. Sulfur dioxide.** In regards to sulfur dioxide:
- A. An increase in the annual arithmetic mean at any location not to exceed 20 micrograms per cubic meter; [PL 1979, c. 381, §7 (NEW).]
- B. An increase in concentration for any 24-hour period at any location not to exceed 91 micrograms per cubic meter; and [PL 1979, c. 381, §7 (NEW).]
- C. An increase in concentration for any 3-hour period at any location not to exceed 512 micrograms per cubic meter; and [RR 1993, c. 1, §128 (COR).]

[RR 1993, c. 1, §128 (COR).]

- **3. Nitrogen oxides.** In regards to nitrogen oxides:
- A. An increase in the annual arithmetic mean at any location not to exceed 25.0 micrograms per cubic meter to be expressed as nitrogen dioxide. [PL 1989, c. 860, §4 (NEW).]

[PL 1989, c. 860, §4 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1979, c. 381, §7 (NEW). PL 1989, c. 860, §§3,4 (AMD). RR 1993, c. 1, §§127,128 (COR). PL 1995, c. 493, §13 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.