## §1-A. Training

The following provisions govern the training of harbor masters and deputy harbor masters appointed pursuant to section 1 or 2. [PL 2005, c. 525, §1 (NEW).]

1. Basic training course. A person appointed or reappointed a harbor master or a deputy harbor master after August 31, 2006 must complete a basic harbor master training course offered by a statewide harbor masters association that represents Maine harbor masters within one year after being appointed or reappointed unless that person has previously completed such a course. If a person has not held the position of harbor master or deputy harbor master within the last 5 years prior to being appointed or reappointed, that person upon appointment or reappointment must complete the basic harbor master training course.

[PL 2021, c. 53, §1 (AMD).]

- 1-A. Continuing education. A person appointed or reappointed a harbor master or deputy harbor master who has completed the basic training course under subsection 1 shall complete, at a minimum, 8 hours of training every 3 years to maintain certification as a harbor master or deputy harbor master. The training requirement of this subsection may be met by completing continuing education training offered or approved by a statewide harbor masters association that represents Maine harbor masters. [PL 2021, c. 53, §1 (NEW).]
- **2. Payment; reimbursement.** Nothing in this section may be construed to prohibit a municipality, at its sole discretion, from paying for or reimbursing a harbor master or deputy harbor master for the cost of training under this section.

[PL 2021, c. 53, §1 (AMD).]

- **3. Additional training.** Nothing in this section may be construed to prohibit a municipality from requiring a harbor master or deputy harbor master to obtain training beyond that required by this section. [PL 2005, c. 525, §1 (NEW).]
- **4. Training format.** During any 3-year period, the training courses offered by the statewide harbor masters association must include, at a minimum, in-person, remote and online options.

[PL 2021, c. 53, §1 (NEW).]

**SECTION HISTORY** 

PL 2005, c. 525, §1 (NEW). PL 2017, c. 54, §1 (AMD). PL 2021, c. 53, §1 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.