§6261. Election by spouse to continue tax deferral

1. Continuation by spouse. When one of the circumstances listed in section 6259, subsections 1 to 3 occurs, the spouse who did not or was not eligible to file a claim jointly with the taxpayer may continue the property in its deferred tax status by filing a claim within the time and in the manner provided under section 6251 if:

A. The spouse of the taxpayer is or will be 65 years of age or older not later than 6 months from the day the circumstance listed in section 6259, subsections 1 to 3 occurs; and [PL 1989, c. 534, Pt. C, §1 (NEW).]

B. The property is the homestead of the spouse of the taxpaver and meets the requirements of section 6252, subsection 2. [PL 1989, c. 534, Pt. C, §1 (NEW).]

[PL 1989, c. 534, Pt. C, §1 (NEW).]

2. Continuation of deferral by spouse. A spouse who does not meet the age requirements of subsection 1, paragraph A or the disability requirement of section 6251, subsection 1, paragraph A, but is otherwise qualified to continue the property in its tax-deferred status under subsection 1 may continue the deferral of property taxes deferred for previous years by filing a claim within the time and in the manner provided under section 6251. If a spouse eligible for and continuing the deferral of taxes previously deferred under this subsection becomes 65 years of age or meets the disability requirement of section 6251, subsection 1, paragraph A prior to April 1st of any year, the spouse may elect to continue the deferral of previous years' taxes deferred under this subsection and may elect to defer the current assessment year's taxes on the homestead by filing a claim within the time and in the manner provided under section 6251. Thereafter, payment of the taxes levied on the homestead and deferred under this subsection and payment of taxes levied on the homestead in the current assessment year and in future years may be deferred in the manner provided in and subject to this chapter. [PL 2021, c. 483, Pt. AA, §16 (AMD).]

3. Filing extension. Notwithstanding that section 6251 requires that a claim be filed no later than April 1st, if the bureau determines that good and sufficient cause exists for the failure of a spouse to file a claim under this section on or before April 1st, the claim may be filed within 90 days after notice of taxes due and payable under section 6260 is mailed or delivered by the department to the taxpayer or spouse.

[PL 1989, c. 534, Pt. C, §1 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1989, c. 534, §C1 (NEW). PL 2021, c. 483, Pt. AA, §16 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.