Maine Revised Statutes

Title 36: TAXATION
Chapter 831: PROCEDURE AND ADMINISTRATION

8§5278. LIMITATIONS ON CREDIT OR REFUND

1. General. A claimfor credit or refund of an overpayment of any tax imposed by this Part must be filed
by the taxpayer within 3 years from the date the return was filed, whether or not the return wastimely filed, or
3 years from the date the tax was paid, whichever period expires|later. A credit or refund may not be allowed
after the expiration of the period prescribed in this subsection unless a claim for credit or refund isfiled by the
taxpayer within that period. For purposes of this subsection, areturn filed before the last day prescribed for
thefiling of areturn is deemed to be filed on that last day.

[ 2011, c. 1, Pt. DD, §3 (AMD); 2011, c. 1, Pt. DD, §4 (AFF) .]

2. Limit on amount of claim or refund. If the claim isfiled by the taxpayer during the period
prescribed in subsection 1, the amount of the credit or refund may not exceed the portion of the tax that was
paid within the 3 yearsimmediately preceding the filing of the claim plus the period of any extension of time
for filing the return. If aclaim is not filed, any credit or refund allowed upon an audit of the taxpayer may not
exceed the amount that would be allowable under this subsection if a claim had been filed by the taxpayer on
the date the credit or refund is allowed.

[ 2011, c. 1, Pt. DD, §3 (AMD); 2011, c. 1, Pt. DD, §4 (AFF) .]

3. Extension of time by agreement. If an agreement for an extension of the period for assessment of
income taxes is made within the period prescribed in subsection 1, the period for filing aclaim for credit or
refund or for allowing a credit or refund if aclaim is not filed may not expire earlier than 6 months after the
expiration of the period during which an assessment may be made pursuant to the agreement or any extension
of the agreement. The amount of the credit or refund may not exceed the sum of the portion of the tax paid
after the execution of the agreement and before the filing of the claim or the making of the credit or refund
and the portion of the tax paid within the period that would be applicable under subsection 1 if aclaim had
been filed on the date the agreement was executed.

[ 2011, c. 1, Pt. DD, §3 (AVMD); 2011, c. 1, Pt. DD, §4 (AFF) .]

4. Notice of change or correction. If ataxpayer isrequired by section 5227-A to file an amended
Maine return, aclaim for credit or refund of any resulting overpayment of the tax must be filed by the
taxpayer within 3 years from the date the filing of the amended return was required. The claim for credit or
refund islimited to issuesincluded in the federal amendment or adjustment and the amount of the credit or
refund may not exceed the amount of the reduction in tax attributable to the federal amendment or adjustment.
This subsection does not affect the time within which or the amount for which a claim for credit or refund
may be filed apart from this subsection.

[ 2011, c. 1, Pt. DD, §3 (AMD); 2011, c. 1, Pt. DD, §4 (AFF) .]

5. Special rules. The following rules apply to claims for credit or refund pursuant to this section:

A. If the claim for credit or refund relates to an overpayment of tax on account of the deductibility by
the taxpayer of a debt as a debt that became worthless or aloss from worthlessness of a security or the
effect that the deductibility of adebt or of aloss has on the application to the taxpayer of a carry-over,
the claim may be made within 7 years from the date prescribed by law for filing the return for the year
with respect to whichtheclaimismade; and [ 2011, c¢. 1, Pt. DD, 83 (AMD); 2011,
c. 1, Pt. DD, 84 (AFF).]
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B. If the claim for credit or refund relates to an overpayment attributable to a net operating loss carry-
back arising from atax year beginning before January 1, 2002 or a credit carry-back, the claim may

be made, under rules adopted by the assessor, within the period that ends with the 15th day of the 40th
month following the end of the taxable year of the net operating loss or the unused credit that resulted
in the carry-back or the period prescribed in subsection 3 in respect of that taxable year, whichever
expires later. With respect to any portion of a credit carry-back from ataxable year that is attributable
to a net operating loss carry-back or a capital loss carry-back from a subsegquent taxable year, the period
within which the claim may be made ends with the 15th day of the 40th month following the end of

the subsequent taxable year or the period prescribed in subsection 3 in respect of that taxable year,
whichever expireslater. [ 2005, c. 218, 857 (AWMD); 2005, c. 218, 863 (AFF).]

[ 2011, c. 1, Pt. DD, §3 (AMD); 2011, c. 1, Pt. DD, §4 (AFF) .]
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