## §1053. Appraisal if value \$10 or more

A finder of lost goods of the value of \$10 or more shall, within 2 months after finding and before using the lost goods to the disadvantage of the owner, procure a warrant from the town clerk or a notary public, directed to 2 persons appointed by the clerk or notary, not interested except as inhabitants of the town, returnable at the clerk's office within 7 days from the date of the warrant, to appraise the goods under oath. [PL 2019, c. 437, §8 (AMD).]

## **SECTION HISTORY**

PL 1995, c. 227, §2 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 437, §8 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.