## §6174-B. Counselor certification; consumer education program

1. Certified counselor. A debt management service provider shall provide evidence to the administrator within 12 months after initial employment of a counselor that the counselor is a certified counselor.

[PL 2007, c. 36, §9 (NEW).]

**2. Consumer education.** A debt management service provider shall offer a consumer education program approved by the administrator. Providers of consumer education programs shall submit each such program to the administrator for approval, and each such submission must be accompanied by a \$100 fee. A debt management service provider may charge consumers a reasonable fee for the program not to exceed \$50.

[PL 2009, c. 243, §5 (AMD).]

**3. Application.** This section does not apply to a debt management service provider located in this State that does not provide debt management services to a consumer who is a resident of this State. [PL 2007, c. 36, §9 (NEW).]

**SECTION HISTORY** 

PL 2007, c. 36, §9 (NEW). PL 2009, c. 243, §5 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.