§4872. Disposal of abandoned animals

Any veterinarian may dispose of any animal the veterinarian has reason to believe has been abandoned in the veterinarian's establishment if the veterinarian gives notice of the veterinarian's intention to do so to the owner at the owner's last known address by registered or certified mail, return receipt requested and allows a period of 5 days to elapse after the receipt is returned before disposing of such animal; but if the owner can not be located at that address, the veterinarian shall give the notice by publication in a newspaper having a circulation in the town in which the owner was last known to reside, and shall allow a period of 10 days to elapse after the publication before disposing of the animal. The animal is considered abandoned if the owner was not located by registered mail or notice by publications and did not reply in person or by mail within the time periods outlined stating the owner's intent to claim the animal. [PL 1997, c. 246, §28 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1975, c. 477, §4 (NEW). PL 1979, c. 291, §12 (AMD). PL 1997, c. 246, §28 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and Frist Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.