§4863. License renewal

All licenses expire annually on such date as the commissioner may designate, and may be renewed with the board by payment of the renewal fee as set under section 4863-A. [PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. R, §7 (AMD).]

Licenses may be reinstated up to 90 days after the date of expiration upon payment of a late fee as set under section 4863-A in addition to the renewal fee. A person who submits an application for renewal more than 90 days after the license renewal date is subject to all requirements governing new applicants under this chapter, except that the board may, giving due consideration to the protection of the public, waive examination if that renewal application is received, together with the late fee, renewal fee and additional late fee as set under section 4863-A, within 2 years from the date of the expiration. [PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. R, §7 (AMD).]

By rule the board may waive the payment of the renewal fee of a licensed veterinarian during the period when that veterinarian is on active duty with any branch of the Armed Services of the United States, not to exceed the longer of 3 years or the duration of a national emergency. [PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. R, §7 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1975, c. 477, §4 (NEW). PL 1979, c. 291, §6 (AMD). PL 1983, c. 48, §6 (AMD). PL 1989, c. 450, §31 (AMD). PL 1991, c. 509, §25 (AMD). PL 1997, c. 246, §20 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 251, §3 (AMD). PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. R, §7 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and Frist Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.