## §2202-B. Certification fee; disposition of fee; nursing assistants

**1. Fees authorized.** The Commissioner of Health and Human Services may assess fees for certification of nursing assistants, for the competency testing of nursing assistants and for validation of test results to determine eligibility for certification and charge fees for certificates issued and duplicated for out-of-state vocational reciprocity, renewal of certificates and replacement of certificates. [PL 2009, c. 628, §4 (AMD).]

2. Amounts. Amounts of fees are as follows:

A. For competency testing, \$45, which must be included in the training course fee; [PL 2009, c. 628, §4 (AMD).]

B. For initial certificate, \$5; [PL 1991, c. 528, Pt. III, §24 (NEW); PL 1991, c. 528, Pt. RRR (AFF); PL 1991, c. 591, Pt. III, §24 (NEW).]

C. For replacement certificate, \$5; [PL 1991, c. 528, Pt. III, §24 (NEW); PL 1991, c. 528, Pt. RRR (AFF); PL 1991, c. 591, Pt. III, §24 (NEW).]

D. For letter of verification of completion of a certified nursing assistant program, \$20; [PL 2009, c. 628, §4 (AMD).]

E. For converted certificate, \$5; [PL 1993, c. 435, §12 (AMD).]

F. For renewal certificate, \$5; and [PL 1993, c. 435, §12 (AMD).]

G. For validation of test results, \$5. [PL 1993, c. 435, §13 (NEW).]

[PL 2009, c. 628, §4 (AMD).]

**3.** Accounting. The Commissioner of Health and Human Services shall:

A. Collect and account for testing and certification fees; and [PL 1991, c. 528, Pt. III, §24 (NEW); PL 1991, c. 528, Pt. RRR (AFF); PL 1991, c. 591, Pt. III, §24 (NEW).]

B. Report and pay fees to the Treasurer of State to be credited to the General Fund. [PL 1991, c. 528, Pt. III, §24 (NEW); PL 1991, c. 528, Pt. RRR (AFF); PL 1991, c. 591, Pt. III, §24 (NEW).]

[PL 2009, c. 628, §4 (AMD).]

**4. Staff.** The Commissioner of Health and Human Services shall employ staff necessary to carry out the requirements of this section.

[PL 2009, c. 628, §4 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1991, c. 528, §III24 (NEW). PL 1991, c. 528, §RRR (AFF). PL 1991, c. 591, §III24 (NEW). PL 1993, c. 435, §§11-13 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 628, §4 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.