§1506. Educational requirements

1. Applicability. This section applies to all persons licensed for the practice of funeral service in accordance with section 1501.

[PL 1991, c. 117, §1 (NEW).]

2. Requirements. A licensee shall complete 12 hours of continuing education within 2 years prior to the date of renewal. The board may, for good cause shown, grant an extension of time to any person to allow that person to comply with this subchapter. No more than 6 of the 12 hours may be completed through online or distance learning programs.

[PL 2019, c. 101, §3 (AMD).]

3. Program approval. The board may establish by rule criteria for the review and approval of courses and for the determination of the number of continuing education hours to be credited for completion of each course or program.

[PL 2019, c. 101, §3 (AMD).]

- **4. Penalties.** The license for the practice of funeral service of any person who fails to comply with this section may not be renewed and terminates upon the next expiration date. [PL 1991, c. 117, §1 (NEW).]
- **5. Rulemaking authority.** The board may establish by rule reasonable procedures and standards to fulfill the purposes of this section.

[PL 1991, c. 117, §1 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1991, c. 117, §1 (NEW). PL 2019, c. 101, §3 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and Frist Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.