§14359. Renewal

A license renewal fee as set under section 14358 must be paid by the licensee. Licenses issued under this chapter expire annually on their anniversary date or as otherwise provided by the commissioner. Any license not renewed by its date of expiration automatically expires. Licenses may be renewed up to 90 days after the date of expiration upon payment of a late fee in addition to the renewal fee as set under section 14358. A person who submits an application for renewal more than 90 days after the license expiration date is subject to all requirements governing new applicants under this chapter, except that the department may in its discretion, giving consideration to the protection of the public, waive examination if the renewal application is received, together with the late fee and renewal fee, within 2 years from the date of that expiration. Rules adopted pursuant to this section are routine technical rules pursuant to Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A. [PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. JJ, §7 (AMD).]

For the purposes of satisfying the continuing education requirements, each application for license renewal must include current certification by the National Athletic Trainers' Association or its successor or other organization approved by the department. [PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. JJ, §7 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1995, c. 275, §1 (NEW). PL 1999, c. 685, §24 (AMD). PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. JJ, §7 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and Frist Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.