## §14245. License required; penalties

- **1. Requirement of license.** Any person, partnership, association or corporation located either within or outside the State must obtain a license as specified under section 14246 before:
  - A. Operating, maintaining or instructing at a school within the State; or [PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. HH, §27 (NEW).]
  - B. Collecting any tuition, fee or other charge for education, instruction or other services provided or to be provided by a school. [PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. HH, §27 (NEW).]

[PL 2009, c. 369, Pt. B, §36 (AMD).]

**2.** Unlicensed practice. Any person, partnership, association or corporation that violates subsection 1 is subject to the provisions of Title 10, section 8003-C, except that, notwithstanding Title 10, section 8003-C, such a person, partnership, association or corporation is subject to a fine of not less than \$100 but not more than \$5,000 for each violation.

[PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. HH, §27 (AMD).]

3. Enforcement actions.

[PL 1997, c. 771, §10 (RP).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1997, c. 266, §18 (NEW). PL 1997, c. 771, §10 (AMD). PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. HH, §27 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 369, Pt. B, §36 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and Frist Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.