§14235. Licenses; renewal

Licensees must renew their licenses by filing an application and paying the renewal fee as set under section 14238. The expiration dates for licenses issued under this chapter may be established by the commissioner. [PL 2019, c. 373, §42 (AMD).]

A license may be renewed up to 90 days after the date of its expiration upon payment of a late fee as set under section 14238 in addition to the renewal fee. Any person who submits an application for renewal more than 90 days after the license expiration date is subject to all requirements governing new applicants under this chapter, including a late fee, renewal fee and additional late fee as set under section 14238, except that the director, after giving due consideration to the protection of the public, may waive requirements. [PL 2009, c. 369, Pt. B, §33 (AMD).]

Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, the director must waive examination if a renewal application is made by a person within 90 days after separation from the United States Armed Forces, under conditions other than dishonorable, if that person failed to renew a license because of active duty in the armed forces. The waiver of examination may not be granted if the person served more than 4 years in the armed forces, unless evidence is presented to demonstrate that the applicant was required by law to serve that period. [PL 2009, c. 369, Pt. B, §33 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1991, c. 397, §6 (NEW). PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. HH, §22 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 369, Pt. B, §33 (AMD). PL 2011, c. 286, Pt. M, §28 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 373, §42 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and Frist Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.