§14038. Trainee real property appraiser

- 1. Scope of license. A trainee real property appraiser license entitles the holder to appraise properties pursuant to this section under the supervision of a certified residential real property appraiser or a certified general real property appraiser. The trainee may appraise properties that the supervising certified residential real property appraiser or certified general real property appraiser is permitted by this chapter to appraise and is qualified to appraise.

 [PL 2005, c. 518, §9 (NEW).]
- **2. Professional qualifications.** An applicant for a trainee real property appraiser license must meet the licensing requirements established by the appraiser qualifications board. An applicant must satisfactorily complete:
 - A. Seventy-five creditable class hours as specified in the appraiser qualifications board's required core curriculum, which must include the 15-hour national uniform standards of professional appraisal practice course, within 5 years of the date of application for licensure; and [PL 2013, c. 547, §14 (NEW); PL 2013, c. 547, §19 (AFF).]
 - B. A supervisory appraiser and trainee appraiser course as specified by the appraiser qualifications board. [PL 2013, c. 547, §14 (NEW); PL 2013, c. 547, §19 (AFF).]

[PL 2013, c. 547, §14 (AMD); PL 2013, c. 547, §19 (AFF).]

3. Filing with board.

[PL 2013, c. 547, §15 (RP); PL 2013, c. 547, §19 (AFF).]

- **4. Number of supervisors.** A trainee real property appraiser may have more than one supervising certified residential real property appraiser or certified general real property appraiser. [PL 2013, c. 547, §16 (AMD); PL 2013, c. 547, §19 (AFF).]
- **5. Limited license term.** A trainee real property appraiser license may only be renewed for 5 annual terms. After 6 years, the trainee is not eligible for license renewal but must qualify as a new applicant.

[PL 2009, c. 241, Pt. D, §4 (AMD).]

6. Effective date.

[PL 2013, c. 547, §17 (RP); PL 2013, c. 547, §19 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2005, c. 518, §9 (NEW). PL 2009, c. 241, Pt. D, §4 (AMD). PL 2013, c. 547, §§14-17 (AMD). PL 2013, c. 547, §19 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and Frist Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.