§1357. Expiration and renewals

Licenses expire on the last day of December of each odd-numbered year and a licensee may not practice professional engineering with an expired license. The board shall notify every person licensed under this chapter of the date of the expiration of that person's license and the amount of the fee that is required for its renewal. The notice must be provided at least one month in advance of the date of the expiration of the license. A license may be renewed after completion of professional development requirements and after payment of a fee established by rule by the board, which may not exceed \$200 annually. Licenses may be renewed up to 90 days after the date of expiration upon payment of a late fee established by rule by the board in addition to the renewal fee. Any person who submits an application for renewal more than 90 days after the license renewal date is subject to all requirements governing new applicants under this chapter, except that if the renewal application is made within 3 years from the date of the expiration the board may, giving due consideration to the protection of the public, waive any additional qualifications if the licensee has held a license for at least 10 years, has completed all professional development requirements and has never been subject to discipline in this or any other jurisdiction. [PL 2015, c. 228, §1 (AMD); PL 2015, c. 228, §2 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1975, c. 535 (RPR). PL 1983, c. 413, §50 (AMD). PL 1991, c. 442, §7 (AMD). PL 1999, c. 186, §10 (AMD). PL 2005, c. 315, §24 (AMD). PL 2013, c. 296, §6 (AMD). PL 2015, c. 228, §1 (AMD). PL 2015, c. 228, §2 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and Frist Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.