## §13200. Real estate sales agent

1. **Definition.** "Real estate sales agent" or "sales agent" means any person employed by or on behalf of an agency to perform real estate brokerage services in a training capacity and licensed by the commission as a sales agent.

[PL 1987, c. 395, Pt. A, §212 (NEW).]

- **2. Professional qualification.** Each applicant for a sales agent license must meet the following qualifications:
  - A. The applicant must satisfactorily complete a course of study meeting commission established guidelines; and [PL 2005, c. 378, §11 (AMD); PL 2005, c. 378, §29 (AFF).]
  - B. The applicant must appear at such time and place as the director may designate for the purpose of a written sales agent examination. [PL 2005, c. 378, §11 (AMD); PL 2005, c. 378, §29 (AFF).]

[PL 2005, c. 378, §11 (AMD); PL 2005, c. 378, §29 (AFF).]

- **3. Acts authorized.** Each sales agent license granted shall entitle the holder to perform all brokerage services contemplated by this chapter which are specifically authorized by the designated broker and which are within the guidelines established by the commission for sales agents. [PL 1987, c. 395, Pt. A, §212 (NEW).]
- **4.** License term. Sales agent licenses shall be issued for 2 years and may not be renewed. A new sales agent license may not be reissued within 5 years following the date the previous sales agent license was issued.

[PL 1987, c. 395, Pt. A, §212 (NEW).]

**5. Waiver.** The commission may grant waivers to allow individuals to remain licensed as sales agents beyond the 2-year term specified in subsection 4. Waivers shall be granted on the basis of extenuating circumstances as defined by rules promulgated by the commission.

[PL 1987, c. 395, Pt. A, §212 (NEW).]

**SECTION HISTORY** 

PL 1987, c. 395, §A212 (NEW). PL 2005, c. 378, §11 (AMD). PL 2005, c. 378, §29 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and Frist Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.