## §12512. Qualifications for acupuncturists

The eligibility of an applicant for a license to practice acupuncture must be determined in accordance with the following. [PL 1995, c. 671, §13 (NEW).]

1. Eligibility. To be eligible to apply for a license to practice acupuncture, an applicant must:

A. Be at least 21 years of age; and [RR 1995, c. 2, §80 (COR).]

B. Have met requirements regarding education and experience as established by the board. These requirements must include the following:

(1) A baccalaureate degree from an accredited institution of higher learning, a license from the State to practice as a registered professional nurse or successful completion of the training program and any competency examination required by the Board of Licensure in Medicine to be qualified as a physician's assistant;

(2) A minimum of 1,000 hours of classroom instruction in acupuncture and related subjects at an institution approved by the board;

(3) A minimum of 300 hours of clinical experience in the field of acupuncture; and

(4) Certification by the National Commission for the Certification of Acupuncturists and Oriental Medicine, or its successor or other organization approved by the board, or passage of a written examination approved by the board. [PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. AA, §7 (AMD).]

[PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. AA, §7 (AMD).]

**2. Endorsement.** An applicant who holds a current valid license to practice acupuncture from another state with requirements for licensure at least equal to the requirements under this section must be issued a license by the board.

[PL 1995, c. 671, §13 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

RR 1995, c. 2, §80 (COR). PL 1995, c. 671, §13 (NEW). PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. AA, §7 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and Frist Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.