§754. Examination and impoundment of vehicle

1. Examination of identification numbers. A State Police officer or a motor vehicle detective may examine the vehicle identification numbers of a vehicle or vehicle part. Failure to allow the examination is a Class E crime.

[PL 2017, c. 229, §16 (AMD).]

2. Impoundment. When a State Police officer or an investigator has reasonable grounds to believe that a vehicle identification number is fictitious, removed or altered, or that a violation of law involving a vehicle or vehicle part has taken place, the police officer or investigator may impound the vehicle or vehicle part and hold the vehicle or part until the violation is cleared.

[PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

3. Vehicle identification numbers. A manufacturer or assembler of a vehicle shall provide that vehicle with a vehicle identification number and on request shall supply the Secretary of State and the Chief of the State Police with all available information concerning the location of vehicle identification numbers and other identifying numbers on that vehicle.

The Secretary of State may refuse to register or issue a certificate of title for a vehicle made by a manufacturer or assembler who fails to comply with this section.

The vehicle identification number for a motor vehicle must conform with the requirements of the Federal Government.

[PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

4. Vehicle disposal. Impounded vehicles that are unclaimed, recovered after theft or unidentifiable become the property of the State. The Secretary of State shall dispose of those vehicles in the following manner.

A. Within 10 days after impoundment, the Secretary of State shall notify by registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, the last known owner and all lienholders of record. The notice must describe the year, make, model and vehicle identification number, if known. The notice must state that failure of the owner or lienholder to exercise the owner's or the lienholder's right to reclaim the vehicle within 30 days from receipt of notice means the vehicle is abandoned. [PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

B. After expiration of the 30-day notice period, the Secretary of State may dispose of the vehicle at public auction or report the vehicle as abandoned under Title 33, chapter 45. [PL 2019, c. 498, §18 (AMD).]

[PL 2019, c. 498, §18 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1993, c. 683, §A2 (NEW). PL 1993, c. 683, §B5 (AFF). PL 1997, c. 508, §A3 (AFF). PL 1997, c. 508, §B7 (AMD). PL 2017, c. 229, §16 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 498, §18 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.