Maine Revised Statutes

Title 29-A: MOTOR VEHICLES AND TRAFFIC
Chapter 5: VEHICLE REGISTRATION

8507. TEMPORARY REGISTERED GROSS WEIGHT INCREASE

When atruck is properly base registered in this State, the registrant may increase the registered gross
vehicle weight of the truck upon application and payment of the proper fee. Temporary registered gross
weight increases may be issued by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles, the Bureau of the State Police or by any
agent appointed by the Secretary of State who has been appointed for that specific purpose. [ 2015, c.
473, 89 (AMD).]

Temporary registered gross weight increases must be issued for at least one month and may not exceed
8 months. A temporary registered gross weight increase may not extend beyond the expiration of the regular
registration. [ 1999, c. 466, 81 (AMD).]

The fee for atemporary registered gross weight increase is the difference between the annual fee for the
original registration and the annual fee for the desired temporary registered gross weight multiplied by the
percentage in the following table:

One month 20%

2 months 30%

3 months 40%

4 months 50%

5 months 60%

6 months 70%

7 months 75%

8 months80% [ 1999, c. 466, 81 (AMD).]

Vehicles base registered in this State pursuant to the International Registration Plan may be issued a
temporary registered gross weight increase pursuant to this section. The feeis not apportionable, and the
temporary registered gross weight increase is valid only in this State or in ajurisdiction not a member of the
International Registration Plan. [ 1993, c¢. 683, Pt. A, 82 (NEW,; 1993, c. 683, Pt.
B, 85 (AFF).]

The Secretary of State is authorized to issue temporary registered gross weight increases by facsimile
means. The Secretary of State may make such provisions as the Secretary of State considers necessary to
ensure the integrity of facsimile documents. [ 1993, c¢. 683, Pt. A 82 (NEW,; 1993, c.
683, Pt. B, 85 (AFF).]

SECTI ON HI STORY
1993, c. 683, §A2 (NEW. 1993, c. 683, 8§B5 (AFF). 1995, c. 65, §B3
(AVMD). 1995, c. 65, §8A153,Cl5 (AFF). 1999, c. 466, §1 (AMD). 2015, c.
473, §9 (AVD).

The State of Maine clams a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this materia, we require that you include the
following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrightsand other rightsto Satutory text arereserved by the Sate of Maine. Thetext included in this publication reflects changes
made through the Second Regular Session of the 127th Maine Legidatureand iscurrent through October 1, 2016. Thetext issubject to

Generated | 1
10.13.2016



MRS Title 29-A 8507. TEMPORARY REGISTERED GROSS WEIGHT INCREASE

changewithout notice. It isa version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of Sate. Refer to the Maine Revised Satutes
Annotated and supplementsfor certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our god
is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve
the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or providelegd advice or interpretation of Mainelaw to the public.
If you need legdl assistance, please contact aqualified attorney.

| 2 Generated
10.13.2016




