§2083. Protective headgear

- **1. Requirement.** The following persons must wear protective headgear:
- A. If under 18 years of age, a passenger on a motorcycle or moped or in an attached side car; [PL 2017, c. 51, §1 (AMD).]
- B. If under 18 years of age, an operator of a motorcycle or moped; [PL 2017, c. 51, §2 (AMD).]
- C. An operator of a motorcycle or moped, operating under a learner's permit or within one year of successfully completing a driving test; and [PL 2017, c. 51, §3 (AMD).]
- D. A passenger of an operator required to wear headgear. [PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

This subsection does not apply to the operation of an autocycle. [PL 2019, c. 345, §8 (AMD).]

- **2. Compliance.** An operator of a motorcycle or moped or a parent or guardian may not allow a passenger under the age of 18 years to ride in violation of this section. [PL 2017, c. 51, §4 (AMD).]
- **3. Standard.** Protective headgear must conform with minimum standards of construction and performance as prescribed by the American National Standards Institute specifications Z 90.1 or by the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard No. 218.

[PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

- **4. Public program.** In furtherance of reasonable protective public policy, the Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Highway Safety must develop and implement a public information and education program designed to encourage helmet utilization by all motorcycle and moped riders. [PL 2005, c. 577, §33 (AMD).]
- **5. Violation.** Violation of this section is a traffic infraction. [PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1993, c. 683, §A2 (NEW). PL 1993, c. 683, §B5 (AFF). PL 2005, c. 577, §33 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 50, §§1-3 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 55, §4 (AMD). PL 2009, c. 652, Pt. C, §5 (AMD). PL 2017, c. 51, §§1-4 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 345, §8 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.