§1919. Studded tires

1. Prohibited May 1st to October 1st. Except as provided in subsections 2 and 3, from the first day of May to the first day of October, a person may not operate a vehicle with tires having metal studs, wires, spikes or other metal protruding from the tire tread. Pneumatic tires that feature embedded blocks, studs, flanges, cleats, spikes or other protuberances that are retractable may be used any time of the year, except that the protuberances may not be engaged or extended from the first day of May to the first day of October.

[PL 2007, c. 525, §1 (AMD).]

- **2. Extension of use period and issuance of permit.** Extended use of studded tires may be permitted according to this subsection.
 - A. A person may use studded tires for periods other than those specified in subsection 1, if the Commissioner of Transportation extends the use period or, in a special case, issues a permit covering stated periods of time for the use of studded tires. The fee for a permit may not be less than \$3 and not more than \$15, as determined by the commissioner. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. Q, §24 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]
 - B. A person issued a permit under paragraph A must carry the permit in an easily accessible place in or about the vehicle. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. Q, §24 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. Q, §24 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

3. Application. Subsection 1 does not apply to fire department vehicles or school buses. [PL 2019, c. 31, §1 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1993, c. 683, §A2 (NEW). PL 1993, c. 683, §B5 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 452, §Q24 (RPR). PL 2003, c. 452, §X2 (AFF). PL 2007, c. 525, §1 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 31, §1 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.