§1004. Transit placard

- **1. Issuance of transit placard.** The Secretary of State may issue a transit placard upon application by any person involved in the business of importing new motor vehicles. The transit placard is to be used to facilitate the movement over the highway of the motor vehicles from the port of entry to a storage yard within a 10-mile radius of the port.
- [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. Q, §16 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]
- 2. Required use of transit placard. A transit placard must be displayed in or on any unregistered motor vehicle that is being operated or towed from the port to a storage yard. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. Q, §16 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]
 - **3. Prohibited use of transit placard.** A transit placard may not be used:
 - A. On a towing vehicle; or [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. Q, §16 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]
 - B. For any purpose other than that permitted under this section. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. Q, §16 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]
- [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. Q, §16 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]
- **4. Expiration.** Transit placards expire at the end of the month one year from the month of issue. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. Q, §16 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]
- **5. Fee.** The fee for a transit license is \$100 annually and the fee for each placard is \$10. Government and quasi-government agencies may not be assessed a fee.

[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. Q, §16 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1993, c. 683, §A2 (NEW). PL 1993, c. 683, §B5 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 452, §Q16 (RPR). PL 2003, c. 452, §X2 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.