MRS Title 28-A, §453-C. RESELLING AGENTS

§453-C. Reselling agents

1. License to resell spirits purchased from the bureau. An agency liquor store may not resell
spirits purchased from the bureau to a retail licensee licensed for on-premises consumption unless the
agency liquor store is licensed as a reselling agent under this section. A reselling agent is prohibited
from reselling spirits to a retail licensee licensed for on-premises consumption unless the spirits are

purchased from the bureau.
[PL 2021, c. 658, §70 (AMD).]

2. License fee. The fee for a state license to resell spirits to a retail licensee licensed for on-
premises consumption is $50 annually.

[PL 2013, c. 269, Pt. C, §7 (AMD); PL 2013, c. 269, Pt. C, §13 (AFF).]

3. Off-site facility license. A licensed reselling agent may obtain a license to maintain an off-site
facility for the storage and distribution of spirits as provided in this subsection.

A. The off-site facility may be used for the storage of spirits intended for sale to an on-premises
licensee or to fulfill and distribute orders to an on-premises licensee. The sales of spirits to an on-
premises licensee may be transacted at the licensed retail agency store or at the licensed off-site
facility. [PL 2015, c. 434, §1 (AMD).]

B. The off-site facility must be equipped with a security system providing 24-hour response. [PL
2015, c. 434, §1 (AMD).]

C. A licensed reselling agent may have only one off-site facility, which may not be located further
than 5 miles from the licensed retail agency store. [PL 2015, c. 434, §1 (AMD).]

D. The fee for an off-site facility license is $100 annually. [PL 2015, c. 434, §1 (AMD).]
[PL 2015, c. 434, §1 (AMD).]

4. Reporting of spirits sales to on-premises licensees. Beginning October 15, 2016, a licensed
reselling agent shall report on a monthly basis all spirits sales made to establishments licensed to sell
spirits for on-premises consumption.

A. A report under this subsection must be made to a trade association contracted by the bureau to
collect spirits sales data from reselling agents as described in section 84, subsection 6. [PL 2015,
c. 430, §4 (NEW).]

B. The bureau shall ensure that reports under this subsection may be made by electronic
transmission through a secure website established by the bureau. A reselling agent that is not
reasonably able to use the website may submit a report under this subsection on paper or by using
other methods approved by the bureau. [PL 2015, c. 430, §4 (NEW).]

C. The bureau may provide a stipend or reimbursement to reselling agents licensed and actively
selling spirits to on-premises licensees as of July 1, 2016 to mitigate the costs of compliance with
this subsection. [PL 2015, c. 430, §4 (NEW).]

D. The bureau may adopt rules regarding mitigating the costs incurred by reselling agents in
complying with this subsection. Rules adopted pursuant to this paragraph are routine technical
rules as defined by Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A. [PL 2015, c. 430, §4 (NEW).]

[PL 2015, c. 430, §4 (NEW).]
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The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include
the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects
changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The
text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the
Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our
goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to
preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the
public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.
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