## §570. Discrimination

A person may not discharge or in any manner discriminate against an employee because that employee has filed any complaint concerning an alleged occupational safety or health hazard or has testified or is about to testify in any proceeding relating to employee safety and health or because of the exercise by the employee on behalf of the employee or others of any right under this chapter. [PL 2013, c. 473, §7 (AMD).]

Any employee who believes that the employee has been discharged or otherwise discriminated against by any person in violation of this section may, within 30 days after the alleged violation occurs, file a complaint with the director, alleging discrimination. Upon receipt of the complaint, the director shall conduct an investigation as the director determines is appropriate. If upon investigation the director determines that the provisions of this chapter have been violated, the director shall bring an action in the Superior Court in the county in which the alleged violation occurred. In any action, the Superior Court has jurisdiction, for cause shown, to restrain violations of this section and order all appropriate relief, including rehiring or reinstatement of the employee to the employee's former position with back pay. [PL 2013, c. 473, §7 (AMD).]

Within 90 days of the receipt of a complaint filed under this section, the director shall notify the complainant of the director's determination. [PL 2013, c. 473, §7 (AMD).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 1979, c. 95, §3 (NEW). PL 2013, c. 473, §7 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.