§3031. Enforcement of lien

If the mortgagor does not consent as provided for in section 3030, the mortgagee of any real estate may, at any time within 60 days after a loss, and the mortgagee of any personal property may at any time within 30 days after a loss, enforce the mortgagee's lien by a civil action against the mortgagor, and the insurer as the mortgagor's trustee, in which judgment may be rendered for what is found due from the insurer upon the policy, notwithstanding the time of payment of the whole sum secured by the mortgage has not arrived, and which action must be commenced and service made on the trustee within such 60 or 30 days. [RR 2021, c. 1, Pt. B, §264 (COR).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW). RR 2021, c. 1, Pt. B, §264 (COR).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.