§2804-B. Group disability income protection plan

An employer may offer its employees an employer-sponsored group disability income protection plan in accordance with the requirements of section 2804. As used in this section, "disability income protection plan" means a group short-term disability policy or a group long-term disability policy instituted by an employer that provides income benefits to an employee who is unable to work for an extended period of time because of sickness or an accident. For the purpose of Title 26, section 629, subsection 1, the premium paid by an employee for an employer-sponsored group disability income protection plan issued pursuant to this section is considered a premium that the employee has agreed to pay if the group disability income protection plan provides for appropriate disclosure regarding the plan chosen by the employer, a method of enrollment that allows employees to opt out of coverage and an appropriate time period for employees to voluntarily terminate coverage. An employee must be provided information regarding the employer-sponsored group disability income protection plan at least 30 days prior and a 2nd time at least 10 days prior to the initial payroll deduction of that employee's premiums. The information provided must include a statement of the employee's right to opt out of coverage, the process by which the employee may exercise the right to opt out of coverage and any deadline to opt out of coverage. [PL 2015, c. 490, §1 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2015, c. 490, §1 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.