## §236. Appeal from the superintendent

1. In general, judicial review of actions taken by the superintendent or the superintendent's representatives must occur in conformity with the provisions set forth in the Maine Administrative Procedure Act, Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 7.

[RR 2009, c. 2, §65 (COR).]

2. An appeal from the superintendent shall be taken only from an order on hearing, or as to a matter on which the superintendent has failed to hold a hearing after application thereof under section 229, or regarding a matter as to which the superintendent has failed to issue an order after hearing as required by section 235.

```
[PL 1977, c. 694, §397 (RPR).]
```

**3.** Any person who was a party to the hearing may appeal from an order of the superintendent within 30 days after receipt of notice. Any person not a party to the hearing whose interests are substantially and directly affected and who is aggrieved by an order of the superintendent may appeal within 40 days from the date the decision was rendered. If the appeal is taken from the superintendent's failure or refusal to act, the petition for review shall be filed within 6 months of the expiration of the time within which the action should reasonably have occurred.

```
[PL 1977, c. 694, §397 (RPR).]
4.
[PL 1989, c. 269, §9 (RP).]
5.
[PL 1989, c. 269, §9 (RP).]
6.
[PL 1989, c. 269, §9 (RP).]
7.
[PL 1989, c. 269, §9 (RP).]
8.
[PL 1989, c. 269, §9 (RP).]
9.
[PL 1989, c. 269, §9 (RP).]
10.
[PL 1989, c. 269, §9 (RP).]
SECTION HISTORY
```

PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW). PL 1969, c. 177, §4 (AMD). PL 1973, c. 585, §12 (AMD). PL 1977, c. 694, §397 (RPR). PL 1989, c. 269, §§9,10 (AMD). RR 2009, c. 2, §65 (COR).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.