§7007. Penalty for being on track or bridge or entering track with team or vehicle

1. Walking or standing on track or bridge. A person may not, without right, stand or walk on a railroad track or railroad bridge or pass over a railroad bridge except by railroad conveyance. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. L, §12 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

2. Entering track. A person may not, without right, enter upon a railroad track with a team or a vehicle however propelled or drive any team or propel a vehicle upon a railroad track. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. L, §12 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

3. Penalties. The following penalties apply to violations of this section.

A. A person who violates subsection 1 commits a traffic infraction for which a fine of not less than \$50 and not more than \$100 may be adjudged. [PL 2017, c. 329, §2 (AMD).]

B. A person who violates subsection 1 after having previously violated subsection 1 commits a traffic infraction for which a fine of not less than \$250 and not more than \$500 may be adjudged. [PL 2017, c. 329, §2 (AMD).]

C. A person who violates subsection 1 after having previously violated subsection 1 2 times commits a traffic infraction for which a fine of not less than \$750 and not more than \$1,000 may be adjudged. [PL 2017, c. 329, §2 (AMD).]

C-1. A person who violates subsection 1 after having previously violated subsection 1 3 or more times commits a Class E crime. [PL 2015, c. 204, §1 (NEW).]

D. A person who violates subsection 2 commits a Class E crime. Violation of subsection 2 is a strict liability crime as defined in Title 17-A, section 34, subsection 4-A. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. L, §12 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

[PL 2017, c. 329, §2 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1987, c. 141, §A4 (NEW). PL 1991, c. 797, §8 (AMD). PL 1999, c. 318, §1 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 452, §L12 (RPR). PL 2003, c. 452, §X2 (AFF). PL 2015, c. 204, §1 (AMD). PL 2017, c. 329, §2 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.

| 1