§7944. Intermediate sanctions

- 1. Authorization. The department is authorized to impose one or more of the following sanctions when a violation of this chapter occurs and the department determines that a sanction is necessary and appropriate to ensure compliance with state licensing rules or to protect the residents of long-term care facilities as defined in section 7852 or the general public.
 - A. The long-term care facility may be directed to stop all new admissions regardless of payment source or to admit only those residents the department approves until such time as it is determined that corrective action has been taken. [PL 1987, c. 774, §4 (NEW).]
 - B. The department may direct a long-term care facility to correct any deficiencies in a manner and within a time frame that the department determines are appropriate to ensure compliance with state licensing rules or to protect the residents of the long-term care facility. [PL 2007, c. 324, §11 (AMD).]
 - C. The department may impose a penalty upon a long-term care facility for a violation of this chapter. Each day of violation constitutes a separate offense. The minimum penalty for operating without a license is \$500 per day. A penalty or a combination of penalties imposed on a facility may not be greater than a sum equal to \$10 times the total number of residents residing in the facility per violation, up to a maximum of \$10,000 for each instance in which the department issues a statement of deficiency to a long-term care facility. [PL 2007, c. 324, §11 (AMD).]
 - D. The department may direct a long-term care facility to transfer residents in that facility to other locations in an emergency that threatens the health, safety or welfare of the residents of the facility and shall assist the facility in making arrangements for transfers. [PL 1989, c. 747, §1 (NEW).]

The department may adopt rules as necessary for the implementation of this subsection. Rules adopted pursuant to this subsection are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A. [PL 2007, c. 324, §11 (AMD).]

2. Schedule of penalties. The department shall establish a schedule of penalties according to the nature of the violation. In establishing the schedule, the department shall consider, among other factors, the immediacy and probability of physical or mental harm to residents caused by a particular type of violation and whether the facility in question has repeated deficiencies or a substantial number of deficiencies.

[PL 1987, c. 774, §4 (NEW).]

3. Reimbursement. Nothing in this chapter may limit the authority of the department to adjust the reimbursement due facilities for residents as stated in the departmental regulations governing reimbursement.

[PL 1987, c. 774, §4 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1987, c. 774, §4 (NEW). PL 1989, c. 747, §1 (AMD). PL 1993, c. 661, §23 (AMD). PL 1999, c. 99, §3 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 634, §9 (AMD). PL 2007, c. 324, §11 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.